We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“should be called trattoria instead of pizzeria”

Mauricio's San Juan Pizzeria
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
San Clemente, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“should be called trattoria instead of pizzeria”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The Pizza is great but the pasta is underrated and under advertised. They had some great off the menu pastas.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rudedogsurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    35
    10
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merritt Island, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best in town”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Mauricios has been in town forever,and the shrimp and pasta the best!If you want pizza?Also the best!2 restaurants are his,one on the beach and one by the park.If I have friends visiting,Mauricio's is a must!,All is authentic,freshly made even though this is Nicaragua!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfeboro, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“real pasta and more”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Mauricio's has produced excellent Italian food for a number of years. They have expanded their facility but for the most part I have had them deliver. I was staying a ways out of town along the Chocolata but evening delivery of dinner for four within 20 minutes. The linguini and the penne pasta were done perfectly aldante. The pesto sauce is superior.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Me and my boyfriend craved pizza so we headed to Mauricio's.. The pizza was nothing above average. Lacked flavor, the sauce was bland and the cheese was halfway melted on top of a pepperoni pizza, which I have to add had about 6 pepperoni slices on it. I would've ordered pasta, but I had a bad experience one time I did chose to order it: Carbonara was so spicy in pepper, it was inedible.
Service is ok, although servers would stand near your table and you feel stared at. The owner, Mauricio does not even make the pizzas and never will he come to your table and greet you. He seems very unfriendly, at least from afar.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Shrimp Pasta”
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

I have eaten here numerous times and the pasta is outstanding. My friends had the fish and they thought it was great. Very good and highly recommended.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mauricio's San Juan Pizzeria also viewed

San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 

Been to Mauricio's San Juan Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing