We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good pasta”

Mauricio's San Juan Pizzeria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good pasta”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

ate here several times and tried different pastas, all were good. It has the same menu as the other location on the beach but is cheaper at the one by the church. Tried the shrimp and arugala pizza which was also very good. They dont put alot of toppings on the pizza but the dough if really good and the sauce has nice flavor and there is plenty of it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank brammer976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    32
    8
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fettucine and pizza are perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

It is strange to find to find an italian restaurant in San Juan that is so real and the flavours are so good (close your eyes and you are in Italy). Owner is of cource a real italian .......We ate here 2 times and both dishes were astonishing : Fettucine con mariscos and Pizza xxxx. Also the Pasta with anchovis was very tasty. Price/Quality is amazing (dinner with good white wine for 2 = 20 dollars)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank LucScheepmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, BC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Delicious Thin Crust Pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Wonderful selection, piping hot and inexpensive - delicious thin crust pizza!
Friendly, attentive service, albeit a bit a the slow side, but the restaurant was full during our visit. Suggest taking a table inside as the street vendors were a bit annoying after a while.
One pizza could easily satisfy 2 people.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 15290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Consistently amazing food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

I have lived in San Juan for years and have been going to the pizzeria since they opened in their first location, and I can tell you it's spot on every time! I love the clam pasta, homemade ravioli (both spinach and cheese, and seafood), the caprese pizza, even tuna pizza! Everything is delicious, service is great! I go with family, friends, etc on average every 10 days.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MiaElisesMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Everyone has said that we had to try Mauricio's pizza while in San Juan. We had the quatro formaggi pizza. It was good, but did not live up to the hype. The dough was too thick. Fettuccini Carbonara is one of my favorite pasta dishes, but this lacked flavor. The fettuccini, on the other hand, was phenomenol. Our friend had Spaghetti no quiero mas something or other and was disappointed that the spaghetti was not homemade, too.

There is no air circulation in the restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mauricio's San Juan Pizzeria also viewed

San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 

Been to Mauricio's San Juan Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing