We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good”

Mauricio's San Juan Pizzeria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Everyone has said that we had to try Mauricio's pizza while in San Juan. We had the quatro formaggi pizza. It was good, but did not live up to the hype. The dough was too thick. Fettuccini Carbonara is one of my favorite pasta dishes, but this lacked flavor. The fettuccini, on the other hand, was phenomenol. Our friend had Spaghetti no quiero mas something or other and was disappointed that the spaghetti was not homemade, too.

There is no air circulation in the restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    32
    8
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best in town”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

I am currently living in San Juan del Sur as a VEGAN. This pizza shop by far caters to my needs and makes an amazing pizza. It is the only place I continue to go to and I have tried them all :)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank gitana1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydal, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“We went back the next night it was sooooo good!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The first night we enjoyed a truly italian meal experience at Mauricio's that started with a procuitto appetizer which was a special. We then ordered the spaghetti bolognaise and the carbonara. Both were excellent. Having traveled to Italy and having some amazing meals (and some not so amazing italian in Nicaragua) this place was authentic.

We decided after finishing our bottle of wine and having the tiramisu for dessert that we would be joining the staff at Maurico's the next evening for pizza. Our second dining experience was just as nice although more of a budget meal!

There are 2 sides to the restaurant and we chose the dining room that faced the park both nights. We felt it was a bit more "refined"!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cheryl p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great thin crust pizza”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Our kids loved the thin crust pizza and pasta - it was perfect spot to relax from the heat and enjoy some Tona's

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank fishtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing italian food”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We go here at least twice every time we come to San Juan - pizza and pasta are always excellent. Service is good and its great for a crowd because prices are sooooo reasonable. They recently expanded to include a lovely courtyard across from the town park, so plenty of places for kids to play while you are waiting.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarrieV3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mauricio's San Juan Pizzeria also viewed

San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 

Been to Mauricio's San Juan Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing