We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best restaurant in San Juan Del Sur” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Colibri - CLOSED

El Colibri
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
dorset
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in San Juan Del Sur”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

We went back to this place again this year, (Colibri) Again the food was awesome!!! The service and atmosphere were perfect, We were only in town this year for 2 nights, all 5 of us voted to go back the 2nd night , The Indian Curry, was the favorite!! The chicken and beef dishes were also delicious, Will definately go back again

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank garthanddeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    59
    20
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Qualicum Beach, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“consistently the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

We spend a few weeks in SJDS every year and visit El Colibri at least twice a week.
The servers...Pedro,Ramon and Cesar have been there as long as we can remember and are always attentive and friendly.
I am sure this is not an easy environment in which to maintain quality and consistency.....however Mary Jane does it in all areas.
Thanks for what you all do!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cholocanadiense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua Department, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bad experience, so expensive for what it is... ”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Good food but whenever they have more that half of the restaurant full it is so slow... do not go during peak season. Worst of it when you ask for smt and three time the answer is... we don't have... you really feel like not going back there...

Helpful?
Thank BenComte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Agree -- best dinner in SJDS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Our family had a great dining experience at El Colibri on 12/24/2013. Best of a two-week long trip. Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jcng3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan del Sur
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant Experience Overall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

I've been to this restaurant several times now and each time has been fantastic. I'm a vegetarian but my family's not. This is the perfect place for us. My Husband loves the kabobs and everyone else I bring is always impressed with their meal. Some favorites have been the Spanish meatballs, the filet mignon with gorgonzola walnut cream sauce For a vegetarian, there are a wide variety of options which is a great change from most restaurant's token veggie dish or 2. My favorites have been the eggplant bake, the vegetable curry, falafel, and gnocci with gorgonzola walnut cream sauce. The sangria is really smooth and there are a nice selection of wines as well. The restaurant and garden are beautifully decorated, combined with the perfect music selection create a relaxed atmosphere feeling like you're in a whole other world. The staff was professional, kind and helpful. Will be back as many times as possible.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank katesjds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Colibri also viewed

San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing