We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impeccably fresh: makes you want to like the plate”
Review of El Colibri - CLOSED

El Colibri
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Panama
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Impeccably fresh: makes you want to like the plate”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

I ordered the fish special which had a perfectly balanced Galicia butter sauce drizzled over top. Loved it but my husband's curry chicken was the showstopper. Plan to take time to eat as nothing happens fast but the wait service is excellent and they were accurate about how long until we were served. The restaurant to super close to Hotel Isabella

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank moniqueflick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    59
    20
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fabulous food”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We have had dinner here twice and both the filet mignon and mixed kebabs were excellent.Food was plentiful and well prepared.The restaurant was full on both occasions and is clearly very popular and successful,deservedly so.Our only minor grumble was that on one occasion they had no coffee .We would say this restaurant is a "must" if you are staying in the town for a few days.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Prest0nians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“best restaurant in san juan”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

the lazangna is the best iv ever had!! it does take 45 mintues to cook cause they do them in individual ceramic dishes but grab some wine its worth the wait! kebobs, curry and steak were also amazing! the staff is also super one night we had a party of 16 and everyones order was right and they accomidated us with a smile

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kimber B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Montana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bring an appetite”
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

Fabulous! Excellent and outstanding service. I have been waiting to write a review on service with a smile in SJDS and this place didn't let me down. The food was fantastic, large portions decent prices. Atmosphere, incredible. We saved this place (recommended by a local ex pat) for our last night and were not disappointed. Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Montanajrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Finest In San Juan Del Sur”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Never had a bad meal at El Colibri, great steaks, fresh salads. Last trip there I tried the curry chicken and was pleasantly surprised. Good date place. Prices are fair, tough to spend over $25US a person. Don't forget to try the Sangria! House made specialty.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Colibri also viewed

San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing