We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Quirky and ultimately comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Frederica's B&B

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Juan del Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Frederica's B&B
Save
You added Frederica's B&B to your Saves list
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quirky and ultimately comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

We were looking to splurge a little after staying at hostels for our whole trip, and Frederica's B & B, with its sparkling white tile and superb location, was the winner. Our room was tacky but bright and cool and comfy. The bathroom was decent but somehow cockroaches kept making their way in. I guess it wasn't really a big deal as I expected cockroaches in Nicaragua, but it's always a little gross. The rescue birds are charming (especially the toucan!) and Frederica was pretty friendly. The breakfast was sorely lacking -- I don't have a huge appetite in the morning and I can appreciate continental, but the watermelon and pastries got boring fast.

All in all, it was a good place to rest our heads for a couple of nights but I have a hunch there's better around for that price.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whyhellosunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Granada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2010

Generally, we found this an acceptable place to stay - clean, well-maintained, and secure. The location is impeccable, yards from the beach, yet was still quiet - if you don't mind the occasional early morning macaw shriek. Breakfast is rather scanty if you have any appetite at all, checkout is too early at 10 am, and our US friend found the stereotypical "negro" figurines objectionable - we had to agree they were of dubious taste, and strangely abundant. Quirky and rather tacky, but not bad value for SJDS, especially with the location.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nosara, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2010

Originally, we booked Frederica's B&B for 3 nights. After our arrival to SJDS, we talked to Frederica for quite a while and she already warned us, that it is not going to be too quiet.
We have a vacation for 3 days every 3 months, so we really want to sleep and stay in a very quiet hotel. Unfortunately, we had to move to another hotel the next night, because we could not sleep too good.. We explained everything to Frederica and would still recommend the place, it was just not quiet enough for us.
The two rooms that she has are both really spacious and super nice!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MakaiTamarindo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2009

Recently spent 3 nights at Frederickas and really enjoyed our stay. the house is an old colonial style, and has a huge courtyard with sitting area and lovely swing. Our room and bathroom were large and nicely furnished, very clean, had AC and a nice touch with in room fridge. We enjoyed our hostess and also her wonderful rescued parrots and toucan. Location is across the street from the beach, very convenient.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zonasaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Conchal, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2009

A wonderful experience to be welcomed into the home of this charming, attentive hostess. Rooms are eclectic and show the owners charismatic personality, with furnishings and souvenirs from her world travels. A/C, fan and refrigerator in the room. Lovely fresh fruit and juice breakfast, and overall very good value. This is really a home-stay, and unique. Frederica also has a small collection of rescued birds-macaws, a toucan and other parrots. Very beautiful creatures (also well-behaved and quiet) and a treat to see close-up.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2009

My wife and I spent 5 nights in this beautiful colonial home. We had a large, clean, and comfortable room with A/C and a hot shower. Breakfast consisted of fresh fruit, juice, and pastries. The property is just across the street from the beach, right in the center of town. There are numerous restaurants within a 5 minute walk of the home.

Frederica was a wonderful hostess and was very helpful with suggestions of places to eat and things to do during our time there.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sdoherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
1.7 mi away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#10 of 24 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 stars 198 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Estacion
La Estacion
#24 of 24 in San Juan del Sur
3.5 of 5 stars 46 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Victoriano
Hotel Victoriano
#13 of 24 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 stars 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Casa Bahia Hotel
Casa Bahia Hotel
#3 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.5 of 5 stars 61 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rositas Hotel
Rositas Hotel
#7 of 24 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 stars 109 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Posada Azul
La Posada Azul
#3 of 51 in San Juan del Sur
5.0 of 5 stars 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frederica's B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frederica's B&B

Property: Frederica's B&B
Address: Intersection of Avenida del Mar and Calle Central, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Frederica's B&B Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing