We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
San Juan del Sur
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (132)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveler rating
127
5
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
127
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews costa dulce yoga studio honor bar neighboring beaches paddle boarding rooms are beautifully designed food restrictions beautiful sand surf yoga turtle sanctuary beach shack every morning local community the entire staff beautiful open air day bed fresh meals
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 132 reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2018

I cannot begin to express how enjoyable my experience was. I give the absolute highest praise and thanks to everyone at Verdad.. from Mark, Dylan, Alex, Neti, Charlie, Willy, Freddy...The list goes on...

If you enjoy an off-the-beaten-path escape, with endless activities, Verdad at Costa Dulce is your spot. Situated just a short walk up a hill on Playa Escameca, Verdad at Costa Dulce offers surfing, beach horseback riding, yoga, and basically any workout you can think of.

The beach itself is breathtaking. A long stretch leads to a fresh water river just short of a beachside Ranch which offers fresh fish, local beer, and warm energy.

I cannot thank of a better vacation experience in my mind. i plan on returning as soon as I can.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Luca J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dylan S, Manager at VERDAD NICARAGUA BEACH HOTEL & RETREAT, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2018

Thanks Luca we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2018

I did a retreat here with 15 people and it was really lovely. The dining room and open air deck have incredible views of the ocean. The architecture and design are beautiful, with lots of wood.

The walk to the beach is about 10 minutes straight down hill. Getting back up is a hike but they had a staff member come every sunset in a truck to take up back up the hill. The staff as a whole are very kind.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dylan S, Manager at VERDAD NICARAGUA BEACH HOTEL & RETREAT, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2018

Hey Luara thanks so Much for the review please come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2018 via mobile

Verdad at Costa Dulce was EVERYTHING I EXPECTED AND WAY MORE. If you want to travel to an untouched paradise come to Verdad. We stayed in Casita 2 and it was so beautiful and perfect. The staff was outstanding and the meals by the chefs Alex and Neri were amazing. My girlfriend and I are already booking our next trip! Thank you to the staff at Verdad for making our stay perfect! Thank you and come visit this beautiful place!

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kevin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dylan S, Manager at VERDAD NICARAGUA BEACH HOTEL & RETREAT, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2018

Hey Kevin glad you enjoyed your stay and thanks for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2018 via mobile

Overall, I absolutely loved the place any highly recommend it.

I led a week long holistic retreat for musicians here. The place is only 4 months old and we were the first retreat of our size to be there (18 people). It was hard to get to and hard for our drivers to find, but if you let Verdad coordinate, they’re drivers can find it no problem. They could use some clearly marked signs and bigger vans thought.

The cabins are beautiful, the woodwork and views are stunning, and the grounds are clean and beautifully kept. It looks just like the photos. Not a bad room there. The staff (Dylan and Marc) took such good care of us, always going above and beyond with great communication. The kitchen staff (Nedi, Alex, Charlie and Junior) were spectacular and the food was to die for. Every single meal was delicious, locally influenced and made with love. Service with a smile.

If you’re a light sleeper, I would not recommend the first two cabins or pool rooms. The sound from the pavilion shoot right into the top cabins if anyone is walking around on the yoga floor, you hear it loud and clear. That being said the yoga Floor is stunning and perfect for any class including dance or Fitness. The cabins are great for couples but if you’re two individuals, someone will have to take the narrow day bed while the other enjoys a queen to themselves. This could be solved with some twin beds in some of the rooms. All of them have only fulls or Queens.

The pool is very small but great after a hot day in the sun. Loved the open bar policy there and they offered our group complimentary rum on many occasions. However if you’re not a drinker, this could be a little bit annoying as it encourages drinking. However I’m sure it’s very nice if you are. Definitely not a party vibe here though. Tranquil and gorgeous and quiet.

The only real downside is that it’s a good 10-15min hike down the hill to the beach and you walk through Costa Dulce retreat Center which seems to be a run down party spot. However Dylan personally offered us a ride up the hill at the End of each day (which you’ll want to take him up on because it’s a hike!) He also offered people a ride down each day.

The beach was nice and there is even a fish shack run by the local chef Nedi as well as a fresh water lagoon for swimming. Lots of tiny stinging jelly fish in the ocean which weren’t bad, just annoying. Could use a wet suit. Also there were zero waves for surfing on this beach. Would have been nice to know this in advance since we included surfing in our retreat. Costa Dulce also took all the boards so we had to rent boards from a third party which Dylan handled for us. However most of them were in poor shape and since it was an off site company, we couldn’t exchange them. Dylan did return the ones we didn’t want though. That was kind. If you want to surf, you’ll just need to hike 20min to Playa Yankee every day for anything surfable. Also good breaks there. Dylan personally picked us up each day and that made it even better. Just be sure to bring close toed shoes for these nature walks through brush.

The only other disappointing thing was the AirBnB Apartment that they arranged for our instructors (only because we were such a large group and didn’t all fit in the cabins). It was halfway down The hill and the error was also apparently arranged by Costa Dulce (Down the Hill). Marc and the staff at Verdad did everything to rectify the situation including moving their family out of a cabin, so that we could use it. The only confusing thing was that we were supposed to have that cabin in the first place.

All this being said, I’d definitely use this Verdad again. Once they iron out the kinks, it will be a 5 Star retreat Center for sure.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank BenCurtisNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc S, Owner at VERDAD NICARAGUA BEACH HOTEL & RETREAT, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2018

Hey Ben, Thanks for choosing Verdad, we hope to see you back again. January and February are 2 light swell months in Nicaragua, come back in March through December and our beach, Playa Escameca and Yankee will treat you to some challenging waves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2018 via mobile

Verdad deserves no less than a poetic thesis as an authentic review, but I’ll keep it brief. From the exquisite beauty, splendid blending of nature, impeccable mastered zen design... to the fresh and local classic Nica cuisine, warm and friendly hospitality, spectacular ocean views and sunsets, and soothing sounds of gentle curling waves to lull one into slumber in sumptuous accommodations. In one word... Nirvana! I’ll be coming back!

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank samayamartell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dylan S, Manager at VERDAD NICARAGUA BEACH HOTEL & RETREAT, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2018

Thanks for the review we are so happy you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews