We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chicabrava was all I imagined and then some”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Juan del Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chica Brava Surf Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2010

I went to Chicabrava with my really good friend and we had a such a great time. We both love traveling and we went around to the surrounding cities before and after the surf week. That really added to the trip. Granada is beautiful. It is a great surf trip but it is also just a great experience.

We were put with 4 other women from all over the country and everyone got along really well. Everyone was interesting and adventurous (I guess you have to be to do this). All the women were at different surfing levels and the instructors were able to accommodate and challenge everyone.

The cloud farm, where you sleep and eat, is out of this world, the house that you stay at is beautiful. The staff at the house is really nice and helpful. I know that the vegetarians did have a sort of monotonous meals, Nicaraguans don't know many recipes without meat. But I think that if you tell Chicabrava ahead of time they will probably be able to figure something out.

Missy and Maite are the instructors that taught us and in addition to being amazing surfers they are spirited and encouraging teachers. Surfing is not easy!

Oh my I could just go on and on about what a great time I had. The nightlife was so fun. Ashley, the owner, is down to earth and really found a niche in the market. I wasn't able to find another camp that was only available to girls. That was great for me.

I would recommend this to anyone who is looking for an experience, interested in seeing the Nicaraguan culture, and is willing to let it go and ride the waves.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank attilie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (335)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 335 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2010

My friend and I planned this trip at the last minute and couldn't have been happier with the experience. All of the staff working at Chica Brava were very accommodating and worked very well with each other and the clients participating on our trip. Our group was all relatively new to surfing and the instructors worked very well with our different skills and learning styles to make it a positive experience for us all. Our group stayed up on the Cloud Farm, which was absolutely beautiful and peaceful. Following our adventures in the waves at the start of the day, we returned to the farm to great food, relaxation, and the possibility of yoga, massage, hiking around, or just relaxing by the pool. This was definitely a great and unique trip that I would (and have) recommended to others!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank map1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2010

My visit to Chica Brava Surf Camp in May 2009 was GREAT! Our group of 7 were mixed of girls and guys and all long time friends. We stayed on the farm which served us fresh organic meals daily, had our own pool, security, nice rooms with a fabulous view, and plenty of land to roam around on. Ever day we headed out to different surf spots which were well organized and arranged the night ahead. All of us were experienced surfers and travellers, so we got to really explore around. Ashley was awesome and has great local knowledge! Some nights we would go out on the town to shop or go to bars. The staff made sure we had everything we needed. This trip was easy and hassle free. Very relaxing with lots of surf time. I would easily recommend this for anyone going solo or as a group and would love to return one day.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suroda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2010

My friend and I traveled to spend a week with the girls at ChicaBrava surf camp in May. It was an incredible experience. Although I had surfed a little before, I felt my confidence increase with each day at the camp. The instructors - Melissa, Maite, Jessica and Ashley are amazing, inspiring women who quickly became friends - there is such a spirit of respect and support at this place. They seemed really happy to share their knowledge and love of surf with us!
The house we stayed at was gorgeous, with an infinity pool that overlooked the ocean. It was a few miles from town up a hill, so it was pleasantly cool at the camp. Make no mistake, you are in the jungle, so you could hear monkeys, frogs and there were visits by the occasional creature, but for us, that only added to the experience.
Juan was our chef and the food was organic and completely amazing!!! We looked forward to each of his meals with delight - I can still remember us guessing what he was cooking based on the scents coming from the kitchen.
It was such a great expereince - the surfing, the bonding, the food, yoga and massage - not to mention daily visits to Eskimo ice cream store - I highly recommend this camp to anyone who believes they are or might be a ChicaBrava!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ibobbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2009

With out many reviews I had my questions about this camp. The "farm" was nice and the food was good. The surf house was good spot for nightlife but needs a lot attention that the owner is oblivious to. Our surf instructor (Missy) was very good. I had fun, but I have been on other adventure tours and to sports camp that have been run much smoother than this. I was also bothered by the poor way the the owner treated the staff and the others around her. All the little things overwhelmed what could be a great thing.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lynn_from_Louisiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChicaBrava, Owner at Chica Brava Surf Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2010

We're glad that you found the Cloud Farm nice and the food good. We're sorry you felt that there were things we were oblivious too at the Surf House but would like to point out that you did not join us at our Surf House camp. We're sorry you feel that other tours you have attended were run more smoothly than ours, as we do try to make the whole experience run as smoothly and seamlessly as possible. Perhaps this might have been because you joined at the end of our season and only attended by one other guest - our usual minimum requirement for the Cloud Farm is 4 guests. We do apologize that you feel all the little things overwhelmed what could be a great thing. We would also like to point out that our staff at the Cloud Farm has been with us since the beginning and all who work with us do report that they are very happy and everyone gets along quite well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2008

ChicaBrava is an amazing experience. The surf instruction is patient, fun, and top class. The accommodations are breathtaking, the food is delicious, and the activities available beyond surfing are great fun.
The adventure of learning to surf at ChicaBrava will give you memories - and pride - that last long after your surfer-girl bruises have faded.
Great time, great people, phenomenal surf.

Thank karnArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
5.3 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
7.4 mi away
Costa Dulce
Costa Dulce
#4 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
179 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
HulaKai Hotel
HulaKai Hotel
#1 of 3 in Playa Maderas
131 reviews
3.1 mi away
Dreamsea Surf Resort Nicaragua
Dreamsea Surf Resort Nicaragua
#5 of 55 in San Juan del Sur
14 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa De Olas
Casa De Olas
#9 of 72 in San Juan del Sur
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chica Brava Surf Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chica Brava Surf Retreat

Address: | 1 1/2 block north of El Timon Street facing the sea, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 72 Specialty Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chica Brava empowers women through the process of surfing and the genuine camaraderie that comes through sharing a lifestyle, a sisterhood, and a passion for the most rewarding sport on the planet. It’s about a pack of women together in the line up, united by what they love. This is your chance to let go, invest in yourself, and feel confident, invincible, and powerful regardless of your size, strength, or stature. At Chica Brava, the past doesn’t matter. It’s about the right here, right now, boundless opportunities that embrace you in the water. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chicabrava Surf Camp Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Chica Brava Surf Retreat Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing