We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a backpacker!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa Oro Eco Hostel
Reviewed June 12, 2009

I stayed at Casa Oro at the end of May and very much enjoyed my stay. The place is almost always full so it's a great place to make new friends and travel mates.

Good things:
- Kitchen
- Comfy beds ( 7.50 US a night)
- Beach shuttles every day
- Surf Lessons ( Alfredo was awesome!)
- Taxis and shuttles
- Chicken Lady across the street ( really cheap bbq food)
- Free movies on big screen
- Free Internet

Bad Things
- Showers didn't always have water
- Chairs and benches in communal area aren't as comfortable ( bamboo chair anyone)
- Some staff were not that friendly telling some they were getting kicked out tomorrow because of a big reservation ( why wasn't that info provided in a friendlier manner?)
- Security guard would come by and tell almost the entire people staying at the hostel to be quiet when we were all talking in a group and it wasn't 11 pm which is quiet time. He would come around 9 or 10 pm and tell us to be quiet and started to turn the fans off and the lights off on us.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mutton08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (305)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 305 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2009

We stayed in one of their private rooms for $25/night, for two people, inlcuding your own bathroom. We were very happy here and found it wasn't as noisy as we expected it to be (we were right at street level).

I could definitely use some work - the communal area isn't great and could be improved greatly, however they do have several good computers for internet.

The only real downside was that you're not allowed to bring any hard alcohol into the hostel, which just forces people to go elsewhere. They have beer, but it's not as cold as you hope. Also no smoking.

The great thing is that Casa Oro is THE place to book pretty much anything you want to do in San Juan Del Sur. You can book shuttles back to Managua (or anywhere), book zip line, turtle excursions, beach trips, surfing/surfboards, horsebackriding. They got it all and the staff is pretty helpful.

Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank yvrgirl69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2009

I returned to Casa Oro In march of this year, and was so happy to see familiar faces. Bismara and Aura at the frontdesk, Alfreado,a most awesome surf instructor, and of course owners Crisanto and Lilly and their daughter Ariana. They make me feel as if I had returned home!
I stayed at Casa Oro last year as well, for several weeks. As a single,older female traveler, I felt very safe and welcomed by all. It is agreat place to meet fellow travelers, and I often ended up connecting with folks to travel with. They provide extensive information on day trips,excursions, and activities to do while visiting SJDS.
For me, it served as a perfect base fromwhich to go to the beaches to surf (awesome surf!), to volunteer at the local library, and to teach english to the locals.
I plan to return to San Juan delSur next winter, and will without a doubt be staying at Casa Oro again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zepherNicargua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2009

I stayed at Casa Oro when I first came to San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua ,in 2007 to study Spanish. It is a well-run facility with knowledgeable staff, good accommodation and lots of extras including free Internet on five new computers. The walls of the hostel's reception are lined with posters providing information on surfing, turtle tours, horseback riding, canopy tours, shuttle times to the surfing beachers, local volunteer opportunities and bus times for other destinations such as San Jose or Managua. There's also a directory of menus from local restaurants, a little book exchange and a good assortment of travel guides for guests to borrow. Staff at the hostel are always pleasant and helpful and many attend my English classes.

I now live in San Juan del Sur, six months a year and run a volunteer English program for local hospitality workers. I continue to recommend Casa Oro to friends as well as tourists. San Juan del Sur is a wonderful town, quiet, safe and beautiful.

Come soon. carolina franks
(Peterborough, Canada )

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ESLVolunteer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2009

Traveling through Nicaragua for a month, I felt great when I arrived to Casa Oro. The whole place provides all the services you need to feel comfy.. just like at home! First, you can cook in the well equipped kitchen and share your dinner in the the open sky garden with people you met at the beach…The great thing is actually that Casa Oro just makes your life SO relaxed! They can provide you everything at good price: beach shuttle, surf rentals and lessons (Big High Five to Alfredo, the best teacher you can get!!!!!!), and a bunch of activities. We went to see the turtles…it was AWSOME! Do it if you have the chance! We also appreciated the New Year’s Eve free Mojitos , Ceviche and Bruchetta!!

And even if the hostel was pretty full most of the time, we slept well.... probably thanks to the great mattresses!!! The night guard tries to make everybody happy but it is up to everyone to respect the others, right?! Well, in a word, we planned to stay 2 or 3 days, we ended up staying 10 nights! And when you think about it, it doesn’t happen that often…

I recommend to everybody to stay at Casa Oro, it’s a good way to enjoy San Juan del Sur, also because the staff knows almost everything about what is going on in town!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Holalolalena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2009

I was at Casa Oro hostel in San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua, with my brother for a period of 39 days over Christmas and New Year’s and it was just great.. Casa Oro hostel is a very cool place where you just feel at home, that is why we stayed so long. The kitchen is well equipped and we had a fantastic time cooking with friends and watching free movies on the 42 inch plasma screen TV. The mattresses are good and the place is kept clean. Of course it got really busy during the Holidays but the staff always managed to get us what we needed.
We were at the right place because Casa Oro offers a great deal of services, it’s the only place in town that is well organized and with a great staff , some of them speak 3 languages and believe me it helps when you need information. From the hostel we got the beach shuttle, the canopy shuttle, the turtle expedition, and the best of all the surf rentals and lessons with Alfredo. Everybody who had a surf lesson with Alfredo will agree with me I am sure, this guy is gooooood. We also took the turtle tour because there were lots of turtles and hatchlings to see and we were just amazed by what we saw at the Reserve. The tour was well organized, eco-oriented and given in English. They gave us a very informative 30 minutes presentation on the wide screen TV with pictures and short video of these incredible creatures. They are really concerned about the protection of the turtles and involved with the reserve’s activities. Hi to Lilly, Bismara, Samuel, Anthony and Cyrielle.

Delta_bravo1

P.S : to Stefan many thanks for the info about turtles babies !!!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Delta_bravo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2009

What the hell is the Lonely Planet boasting about with this hostel? Yes, the place is an information center, and is a great way to get to the beaches or go on excursions-- but you don't need to stay here to take advantage of those services.

For $18/night (private room, shared nasty bathrooms, and shared cold showers that say you must keep your shower under 2 minutes) we stayed in a craphole closet-of-a-space with an open window onto the loudest courtyard space. Drunk people yelled all night (we're talking until 6am) even though there is supposedly a 11pm quiet time enforced. In all fairness, the noise level depends on the guests.

Go stay at Casa Feliz instead...Oh, and definitely hit up the Pelican for happy hour on Wednesdays and Fridays...and to play with monkeys in the back of the hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JulietandNikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
5 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
0.1 mi away
Rositas Hotel
Rositas Hotel
#8 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
165 reviews
3 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Barrio Cafe Hotel
Barrio Cafe Hotel
#5 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
236 reviews
47 mi away
Hostel Esperanza
Hostel Esperanza
#16 of 71 in San Juan del Sur
152 reviews
1.6 mi away
Casa De Olas
Casa De Olas
#9 of 71 in San Juan del Sur
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Oro Eco Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Oro Eco Hostel

Address: Saliendo del Colonial 20 | Varas al Sur, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 71 Specialty Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Price Range: $6 - $8 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Oro Eco Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Oro was the first hostel and surf school in San Juan del Sur. Before that it was an obligatory spot on the historic gold route through Central America. Today, Casa Oro is the first eco-hostel in San Juan del Sur, part of the Circulo Initiative, a family of for purpose businesses in pursuit of regeneration. Tourism growth and development often leave destructive side effects for cultures, communities and the environment. It doesn’t have to be like this though. We find inspiration in how nature works and use this as our compass for holistic creation. In everything we do, our aim is to leave places better than we found them. So far, it’s working. -- Just a hop, skip and a jump from the beach, Casa Oro offers a variety of budget-friendly accommodations designed with conscious backpackers in mind. We have both dorms and private rooms available. All of our dorm beds come equipped with privacy curtains for your convenience. The second and third floor boast a balcony that wraps around the entire building. A scrumptious breakfast is included with any stay along with free Wi-Fi, lockers (bring your own lock), free filtered water and access to a communal kitchen. Friendly vibes and hugs are also included at no extra charge. Our beach shuttles are conveniently located just outside the front door, surf school is downstairs and there’s even a RestoCafe/Bar, so all you’ve gotta do is roll out of bed and everything’s at your fingertips. We’ve also got donation-based yoga classes regularly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Casa Oro Eco Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Oro Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Casa Oro Eco Hostel Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing