We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RUDEST Staff!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa Oro Eco Hostel
Level Contributor
166 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“RUDEST Staff!!”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

I didn't stay here as you can't book in advance, but I walked up to check if they have a bed left. After being told its full, I said OK and thanks and asked for directions to another big hostel. The lady said she didn't know and went back to her computer. This is a tiny town, everyone knows where these hostels are. I met others with similar experiences.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Den367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    82
    38
    24
    33
See reviews for
6
55
65
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed at Casa Oro for one night between Christmas and New Years and it was great. The reason our stay was so short was it was completely booked up for two weeks. It was a touch expensive due to it being the highest of high season, but our private room was spotless, comfortable and the price included a delicious breakfast and coffee in the morning!

The hostel is in a great location if you're planning to travel around SJDS, and they offer cheap daily shuttles to the top surf spots in the area. The best part about Casa Oro was their rooftop bar (which we returned to every night that we stayed in town even though we weren't staying there anymore). Their awesome bar tender Vincent served up excellent happy hour rum and cokes, and the music was always great!

I would stay here again, and I would recommend this place to my friends and family.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jipsy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingwood, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Casa Oro was a great hostel overall. Price was right and the breakfast every morning was fabulous.
The bar was great and I loved lounging in the hammocks in the afternoon breeze.
The local staff were nice, but could work on their customer service. The only downfall was that they had no where to store bags after checkout. They ended up charging me almost the cost of a nights stay to store my bag in a locked closet for the day. I don't think any other bags would have been able to fit.
I would go back in a second though, and hope to very soon.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled across these guys. We wanted to surf at Maderas. They have a great priced option. Round trip transportation to and from Maderas and a surfboard rental for $10USD TOTAL per person.

The surfboards are a bit rough but are fine and the transportation is in the back of a truck / van. That was a bit rough as well but what do you expect for $10USD.

I would recommend these guys.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank surfland_boulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

This place is perfectly located close to everything, 8$ dorms including a good breakfast that changes everyday, beds are good too, free wifi, nice open space rooftop area with hammocks to relax in the daytime and a bar at night, they also have the main shuttle service to playa Maderas which goes all day, good informations also on everything like transport etc. Loved it!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belange99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

I think I spent 4 nights here. I met the best people and felt right at home. Breakfast is included and it is different each day, a solid, legit homemade breakfast. The location is great, chill roof top bar, fun but not crazy and the staff can arrange anything for you trip wise. I would stay here again without question.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riddletm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilly D, Manager at Casa Oro Eco Hostel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
We're so pleased we met all your needs! To provide a place that is both lively and comfortable is our aim, so it's great to read we accomplished this for your stay. Thanks for your positive feedback regarding our quality staff and our breakfast size and variety. We hope to welcome you again someday! Best wishes for your travels ~ Casa Oro Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

The place is too expensive for average accommodation. The bathroom in the dorms is always dirty, the stuff was not nice and not helpful, the breakfast not really good either. The transportation to the beach is not comfortable. But, the surf lessons are really good and not expensive and the rooftop is very nice.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaD333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilly D, Manager at Casa Oro Eco Hostel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thanks for your feedback. We’re glad you enjoyed the surf lesson and our relaxing rooftop. We’re sorry to hear of your more disappointing experiences. At $8 for a dorm bed, our rates are among the best in the region, especially with a cooked breakfast. We endeavour to keep the bathrooms presentable by cleaning the public bathrooms twice daily, however with so many guests coming and going from the beach it is sometimes difficult to maintain. We encourage guests to wash sand off outside and we’ll make sure this better promoted. The shuttle to Playa Maderas is rustic, with the dirt road particularly bumpy due to current pipeline work. Tourism is relatively new here and these are conditions that may be different from home. We appreciate your comments and will look into any possible issues. Kind regards and safe travels ~ Casa Oro Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.1 mi away
Rositas Hotel
Rositas Hotel
#8 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
156 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#11 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barrio Cafe Hotel
Barrio Cafe Hotel
#5 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hostel Pachamama
Hostel Pachamama
#26 of 65 in San Juan del Sur
155 reviews
3.4 mi away
Casa Maderas
Casa Maderas
#1 of 6 in Playa Maderas
290 reviews
47.0 mi away
Hostel Esperanza
Hostel Esperanza
#17 of 65 in San Juan del Sur
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Oro Eco Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Oro Eco Hostel

Property: Casa Oro Eco Hostel
Address: Saliendo del Colonial 20 | Varas al Sur, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 65 Specialty Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Oro Eco Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Oro was the first hostel and surf school in San Juan del Sur. Before that it was an obligatory spot on the historic gold route through Central America. Today, Casa Oro is the first eco-hostel in San Juan del Sur, part of the Circulo Initiative, a family of for purpose businesses in pursuit of regeneration. Tourism growth and development often leave destructive side effects for cultures, communities and the environment. It doesn’t have to be like this though. We find inspiration in how nature works and use this as our compass for holistic creation. In everything we do, our aim is to leave places better than we found them. So far, it’s working. -- Just a hop, skip and a jump from the beach, Casa Oro offers a variety of budget-friendly accommodations designed with conscious backpackers in mind. We have both dorms and private rooms available. All of our dorm beds come equipped with privacy curtains for your convenience. The second and third floor boast a balcony that wraps around the entire building. A scrumptious breakfast is included with any stay along with free Wi-Fi, lockers (bring your own lock), free filtered water and access to a communal kitchen. Friendly vibes and hugs are also included at no extra charge. Our beach shuttles are conveniently located just outside the front door, surf school is downstairs and there’s even a RestoCafe/Bar, so all you’ve gotta do is roll out of bed and everything’s at your fingertips. We’ve also got donation-based yoga classes regularly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Casa Oro Eco Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Oro Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Casa Oro Eco Hostel Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing