We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had money stolen from our private room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa Oro Eco Hostel
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Myself and my friend stayed in a private room at this hostel recently and both had money stolen presumably by staff. Our room was locked and secure so it had to be stolen by someone with a key. We both has approximately US $150 each in the room but only $60 was stolen from each of our bags, probably so it wasn't do obvious straight away. We confronted the staff about this at the front desk and they didn't seem to care and tried to tell us that our key was the only one to our room when there is obviously a master key. This happened when we caught the hostel shuttle to the beach ( so they marked off our name at the desk and knew we were out). We talked to another traveller in a private who said his luggage had been rummaged through when he was also at the beach but he had fortunately taken all his money with him. We were very angry about this and the staffs lack of care when we made the complaint.
The shower also had big clumps of hair in the shower and the toilet didn't work properly, we had to flush it manually.
Overall I would not stay here again or recommend it. I have travelled for 6 weeks and this is the only hostel I would never go back too

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenax91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (312)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 312 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed at Casa Oro for about 3 weeks with a friend of mine. It is an awesome place! The staff are all amazing; Get to know them, they ended up being some of the best friends I've made on my entire 3 month trip. Casa Oro is located in the perfect location. It is one street up from the beach and all the bars which makes a very short walk without having to deal with the noise late at night. It is also only a 30 second walk to laundry facilities and the markets where you can buy all of your necessities. There are beach shuttles every single day that leave directly from the doorstep and also it's own surf shop right inside where you can rent surf boards for the day and even sign up for lessons. The hostel is equipped with a kitchen, a rooftop bar, lounge areas, dorm rooms and private bedrooms for very reasonable prices (with AC!!). The dorm rooms are all nice; Most have private bathrooms equipped with a shower, toilet and sink. The rooms also have well-working fans to keep you cool at night. The beds are comfortable and are very clean. If you are heading to San Juan, you MUST stay at Casa Oro.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

The location is great, not to far from the beach, and close to the market and the shops.
They have a lot of oppertunities to do fun stuff and shuttles to go to diffrent beaches.

The staff is friendly and really open we had a fun time with them.

Breakfast is awesome!
Atmosphere is great!
I loved staying at this hostel!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leo_anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Casa oro is by far the best hostel in san juan del sur. Lived in san juan for two months and from my experience there is no better hostel. The staff is amazing. Breakfast is included. The rooms and the whole hostel gets cleaned several times a day. The location is very central and yet still not in the area of the loud party streets. I will always recomend people to stay at Casa Oro!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank niclashaggren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Casa Oro is the perfect hostel for staying in San Juan del Sur. Stayed in a dorm bed for $8 per night which included breakfast every morning with coffee! The kitchen is also available for use during the day and night to cook your own food. The hostel has wifi and a roof top bar which is a nice place to start off your night before hitting the local nightlife. Usually there is a good, fun atmosphere by 9pm at the bar. The bar closes at 11pm though so if you want a night in you don't have to worry about loud bar patrons.

One of the best things about the hostel is that this is where shuttles to several of the beaches leave from. Casa Oro runs a shuttle to Playa Maderas (a great surfers beach) every day several times a day. Also you can usually get shuttles to Playa Hermosa and Playa Remanso if you have a minimum of 6 people which is easy to get when you just ask around the hostel.

The hostel also runs surf lessons for 25 dollars which is a great value for what you get. The transportation, board, rash guard, 3 hours of lessons, and even a video were included. Alfredo the surf instructor is such an awesome guy and one of the best surf instructors I have ever come across.

Basically, this hostel is the one you should stay at if you are going to San Juan and are on a budget and want a fun atmosphere. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: The upstairs dorms are a bit nicer and for a dollar more you don't get any of the noise from a m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walkertexasranger973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed one night at Casa Oro, overpriced at $30 (they said it was for a three person room, but there was only two beds, a double and a single), and the free breakfast is sad. Room had a window to the hallway, and was very hot to sleep in, especially for the money. Location is okay, one block up from the water. Primarily attracts the dorm-room surfers type of crowd. Is really a youth hostel with a few private rooms added on. An okay place, but I'd stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RyanEddy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed here in a double room for $ 28 / night. The room was fine and we also got a TV. There are a free breakfast included(but you got to the dishes by yourself) but we didn't like it that much. First of all we didn't like the kitchen at all because it was dirty and not that well equipped = we didn't cook there. We actually stayed for four days but only because my girlfriend became sick so we where forced to stay a bit longer. When we finally changed hostel we got a small apartment with our own kitchen for $ 25, less then we paid for a double room at Casa Oro. So our advice would be to not stay here if there are other places available.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hillihappo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Encanto del Sur
Hotel Encanto del Sur
#22 of 28 in San Juan del Sur
6 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barrio Cafe Hotel
Barrio Cafe Hotel
#7 of 28 in San Juan del Sur
246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Esperanza
Hostel Esperanza
#18 of 77 in San Juan del Sur
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Casa De Olas
Casa De Olas
#9 of 77 in San Juan del Sur
426 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotelito El Coco Azul
Hotelito El Coco Azul
#9 of 55 in San Juan del Sur
69 reviews
3.4 mi away
Casa Maderas
Casa Maderas
#1 of 6 in Playa Maderas
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Oro Eco Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Oro Eco Hostel

Address: Saliendo del Colonial 20 | Varas al Sur, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 77 Specialty Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Price Range: $6 - $8 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Oro Eco Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Oro was the first hostel and surf school in San Juan del Sur. Before that it was an obligatory spot on the historic gold route through Central America. Today, Casa Oro is the first eco-hostel in San Juan del Sur, part of the Circulo Initiative, a family of for purpose businesses in pursuit of regeneration. Tourism growth and development often leave destructive side effects for cultures, communities and the environment. It doesn’t have to be like this though. We find inspiration in how nature works and use this as our compass for holistic creation. In everything we do, our aim is to leave places better than we found them. So far, it’s working. -- Just a hop, skip and a jump from the beach, Casa Oro offers a variety of budget-friendly accommodations designed with conscious backpackers in mind. We have both dorms and private rooms available. All of our dorm beds come equipped with privacy curtains for your convenience. The second and third floor boast a balcony that wraps around the entire building. A scrumptious breakfast is included with any stay along with free Wi-Fi, lockers (bring your own lock), free filtered water and access to a communal kitchen. Friendly vibes and hugs are also included at no extra charge. Our beach shuttles are conveniently located just outside the front door, surf school is downstairs and there’s even a RestoCafe/Bar, so all you’ve gotta do is roll out of bed and everything’s at your fingertips. We’ve also got donation-based yoga classes regularly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Casa Oro Eco Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Oro Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Casa Oro Eco Hostel Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing