We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I can't believe how much I felt at home, totally relaxing with a easy going atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lazy Jakes Guesthouse
Rocky Mountain House, Canada
1 review
“I can't believe how much I felt at home, totally relaxing with a easy going atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2010

Super laid back owners could not have been easier to deal with. The buildings are new, clean and comfortable. I had never been to Latin America before and I was a little worried about finding somewhere that I could feel at ease. Lazy Jakes definitely came through for me. Perfect for people looking to relax, who want to be close to the action, but not bothered by it when they want to chill-out. Ideal for surfers as the beach is very close. I could have spent an entire month relaxing on the rooftop patio listening to the amazing sounds of the jungle.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maitrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
25
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2010

Situated 15 minutes outside San Juan Del Sur, Lazy Jakes was the perfect place to chill out. The location is ideal - sitting between the two best beaches in the area - on a quiet dirt road. The private guest house is beautiful - a spotless large room with high ceilings and a pleasent breeze blowing through and the loft common area is stunning (compliments to the designer). We only met Jake, Lisa and 'lil Jake breifly, unfortunately, but were left with the legendary Rudi - our Amsterdam-born host was easily one of the highlights of our entire trip to Central America. With a colorful cast of expats living in and around the area, the stay was a blast and we are already talking about going back (if not getting a place there ourselves). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skidaddle2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2010

First and foremost, I think that if you fit this description, then this is the perfect place for you.

1.) You have out-grown typical cheap backpackers;
2.) You are not ready to join the retired crowd at the expensive lodge;
3.) You still like to explore and get a sense of the local scene;
4.) You like to explore the local scene but are willing to spend that little bit more for new, clean, quality and oh-so-well decorated accommodation;
5.) You have rented a car! (Lazy Jakes is outside of town on the way to the Maderas surf beach and while taxis and shuttles can be arranged, you'll appreciate the freedom to do and go where you want, when you want. And get good directions there are no signs for LJ);
6.) You are travelling with your partner, family or a couple of friends (Lazy Jakes is more like a B&B, but with a simple breakfast rather than like a backpackers, i.e. it is small so you are unlikely to meet many other travellers there);
7.) You appreciate getting the down low on what to see and do but do not need someone to hold your hand in order to make it happen;
8.) You love the water, the beach and the surf!

We loved our stay with Lazy Jakes. In fact, we stayed for over a week. While small, Lazy Jakes is so close to the beach and that perfect blend of rural Nicaragua and modern comfort. We appreciated the quiet and private atmosphere. There are some unique places to eat nearby, ( the thin crust pizza, as well as, the family dinner down the road are to die for) but we would never have know they existed without the help of our gracious hosts. Speaking of which, the owners are fabulous. Besides the surfing and the eating, we enjoyed hanging in the hammock chairs or lounging on the rooftop patio swapping stories with the owners over cold tumblers of rum while listening to parakeets and scanning the trees for howlers.

The only way to really know, is to go and find out!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shawnaNaturally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary Ab
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2010

Lazy Jakes is a fantastic option for a traveler with a little bit more cash on their hands. The sleeping space is amazing, the rooftop patio is perfect, and the location is difficult to beat. It is extremely close (10-15 minute walk) to one of the best surf beaches in Nicaragua, and there are ample restaurants nearby.

You don't have to be flush, but if you are looking for an $8 room then this is not the place. In a perfect world you'd rent a car- though it is possible to get here by cab (for US $10-15) once you are you might feel a bit trapped (there is no kitchen, snacks are for sale). If you have a car you're not trapped, you're right where you want to be! Head to the beach, surf all day, return to your room and chill in a hammock, and then go out for dinner or head into San Juan del Sur for a little bit of entertainment. I would highly recommend Lazy Jakes for someone who wants a super chill week (or more!) of beach life with all the comforts of home!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicastyle11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2010

Lazy jakes was perfect! the host was great and super accomodating. it was within walking distance to 2 beautiful beaches and another resort which let lazy jakes customers use the swimming pool. San Juan Del Sur is lots of fun for everyone. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spfjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2010

Definitely a great place to take your family too. Our kids still can't stop talking about it! Whether you are looking for some much needed R & R or an adventure, this place has it all. The owners were very helpful in suggesting great activities for us to take part in. The optional meals were delicious. We made a ton of friends & will make sure to go back soon.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank papercrafter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2010

You will not be disappointed @ Lazy Jakes! The accomodations are outstanding and the hosts even better. With close proximity to 2 amazing beaches, local restaurants, and alot of relaxing you will have a great time. The hosts local knowledge on the area is a great asset and they are willing to help you get going in the right direction. We cant wait to return!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craigcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.0 mi away
Hostal Javier's House sjs
Hostal Javier's House sjs
#20 of 73 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.0 mi away
Saltwater Hostel
Saltwater Hostel
#48 of 73 in San Juan del Sur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chale's House
Chale's House
#27 of 73 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hostel Tadeo San Juan del Sur
Hostel Tadeo San Juan del Sur
#43 of 73 in San Juan del Sur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostel Esperanza
Hostel Esperanza
#18 of 73 in San Juan del Sur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa De Olas
Casa De Olas
#6 of 73 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy Jakes Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Jakes Guesthouse

Property: Lazy Jakes Guesthouse
Address: Fork at Playa Marsella and Playa Madera's, San Juan del Sur 128, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 73 Specialty Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lazy Jakes Guesthouse is located within walking distance to Playa Marsella and Playa Madera's surf beach, only 6.5km from San Juan Del Sur. Enjoy the 360 degree view of surrounding jungle sights and sounds from the second floor canopy lounge. We provide a more personalized experience based on your needs and wants during your vacation in Nicaragua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Lazy Jakes Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lazy Jakes Guesthouse Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing