We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great SJDS spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Chateau Hotel
Ranked #19 of 27 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
US
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A great SJDS spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

Ive been to SJDS several times and though a bit pricey, this place delivers on most counts. There are more expensive and cheaper places but this seem like a good mid ground but maybe a bit high. The location is great ...back from the non stop roaming surfers, taxis, and street scene but right there if you want it. If you're staying for a few days maybe you can strike a small discount?

The front desk was helpful and the rooms were clean.. nice bathroom and good size queen+ bed... nothing much in furnishing but all was very OK.

Try for an upper level room instead of ground floor, and and end unit will give you some added view and ventilation. The AC worked but really isnt needed with a the nice floor fan. The grounds are lovely and the bright clean facades are cheery.

Front desk worked well, and while not exactly warm and friendly, efficient and more or less helpfull, when not watching the blaring TV novelas. A small waiting reception area is a good stop to drop and inquire as well, at their corner location. They'll show you rooms of course, and the cleaning staff was always busy looking.

(The breakfast was quite ordinary here- bland eggs, toast etc....I suggest a great hole in the wall near by- Comedor de Angelita! set back from the street-ask around...the real deal and its got it all! outdoor dining under a patio roof, atmosphere, and nice people)

Room Tip: Get a second or maybe third level (if you like stairs) for a much better view and light. End units...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jidoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    44
    23
    5
    5
See reviews for
7
35
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2011

Stayed 2nts on a Kamka tour Dec 2011. Happy with the location 100m from the main street and beach.Rooms were clean. Staff were friendly and the breakfast included which consisted of scrambled eggs on toast with unlimited coffee was just what i need to get the day started. Thumbs up on this property.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rabbit094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crested Butte, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2011

For me the problem with lodging in San Juan Del Sur is that there is nothing really good in the middle ($40-50) range. You can get a room in a hostel for $6, or a room at Pelican Eyes for some ungodly sum, but there is not much value in the middle. I've stayed here twice, both for fairly long periods, the rooms are simple and clean and have AC (no hot water, but then who needs it in the heat!). The owners are bilingual but not always there, but the staff is attentive, friendly and run a tight ship. They have a back up generator for the all too common power outages, and a security guard at night. Wifi is good. Breakfast is good, but fairly basic. The courtyard is beautiful. Basically it's just simple and comfortable in all the important ways, and worth the price.

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor (noisy).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cbphotog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2011

We stayed for 1 night here and it is nothing to write home about. We can't complain though, it was clean with bare rooms and private bathrooms. If you wan't to stay close to the beach this place isn't for you. Breakfast is included and is your typical Nica meal. Coffee and bread with fruit. We knew staying there wasn't the highlight of our trip and we were neither surprised or disappointed.

Try to get a room on the top floor, they have the best view of San Juan. We didn't interact with staff much but we had no problems during our stay. There is probably better value out there but we didn't book in advance so we stayed at the first place that had availability.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank palliandrutty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2011

I didn't book far in advance, but I did book from Canada. When we arrived, the rate suddenly went up from what was promised - but they agreed to the original rate.
The room was tiny as was the bed, and we were not given an option - considering we were planning to stay 5 nights. Our room was where the laundry tubs are, so it was noisy in the morning. Although clean, the room was dark and depressing and the shower had a live, exposed electrical wire on the shower head that shocked my husband. Definitely not to code. The front desk staff - especially in the evening was not helpful or friendly. However, I did see guests in other rooms who seemed happy, so perhaps it was just the room we were given.
We checked out after one night a found something much better for seven dollars more.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ingym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Juan del Sur hotels

Tilaran
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2010

I love this hotel. I have stayed here at least 20 times in the last five years. The rooms are large and most have air conditioning if it's one of those really hot Nicaraguan days. The staff are warm and friendly. The hotel is about 4 blocks from the beach which is fine with me and the parking area is secure and safe for your car or motorcycles. A great place to stay in San Juan del Sur !

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MountainMonkeyKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

Even though we had seen this place on TA and looked at all the photos and reviews before booking, I felt (for the first time) completely let down by TA. The hotel was nothing like I had been lead to believe. When we arrived I had to ask the taxi driver twice if it was the right place and I even went in with the print-out of my emails from them and asked them if i was in the right place.
The photos I had seen gave the impression that the hotel was a little out of town and that the front of it was large, open and with the sweeping staircase that you can see in the photos. Wrong! The hotel is right in the centre of town- a 5 min walk to the seafront (ok, thats a plus) but the front of the hotel is small and on a street corner- you walk into the back and then you see the sweeping staircase that is in fact only small. It was a much smaller hotel than I had imagined.
The first room we saw smelled horrible and musty and so we looked at one on the 1st floor. This didnt smell so bad, but it was gloomy, dated and I wasnt happy about sleeping in the sheets (luckily we had brought sleeping bag liners and so had to sleep in those).

It just wasnt the kind of place that you feel happy to relax and chill-out in...at all! For US $53 per night including taxes and breakfast, it isnt hugely expensive, but given the prices we paid for other much more superior accommodation in Nicaragua and Costa Rica, this was such a rip off.
In fact, San juan Del Sur was a huge disappointment to us (really dirty, polluted sea and generally a bit of a run down place) that we checked out the next day and got the bus over to Costa Rica.

Of course, take my review in context- we are both in our early 30s and like a bit of luxury in our accommodation. If you are like us, you will not like this hotel or even the resort at all. However, if you are in your teens or early twenties and dont mind roughing it, then this place will be perfect. It comes down to what you want from a holiday.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doublechoc-chip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.0 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#22 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.0 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#9 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Barrio Cafe Hotel
Barrio Cafe Hotel
#3 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
#10 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Victoriano
Hotel Victoriano
#12 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Chateau Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Chateau Hotel

Property: Royal Chateau Hotel
Address: "El Calvario" Street From the Market 1 Block East Central Zone | San Juan Del Sur - Rivas. Nicaragua, San Juan del Sur Rivas, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Chateau Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Chateau Hotel is located in San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua, a tourist beach town on the pacific ocean in southern Nicaragua, a few miles from the Costa Rican border and two hours from Managua, the Nicaraguan capital. A colonial style hotel with 20 spacious rooms with splendid views and modern comforts including air conditioner, cable TV, wireless internet, secure parking, private bathrooms, full sized beds and continental, Criollo & American breakfast, all included in one affordable rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Royal Chateau Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Chateau Hotel Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing