We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Across from the water, short walk into town, great bar/cafe”
Review of Hotel Victoriano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Victoriano
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Across from the water, short walk into town, great bar/cafe”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stayed here with my boyfriends family and would recommend the place! We would wake up in the morning and walk over to the lobby for breakfast. The waiters were extremely nice and catering to everyone's food request. Not the mention the gorgeous view of the water while we ate our breakfast. It was a nice introduction to San Juan del Sur. I got sick the last day I was there and the hotel was super accommodating and even found a local doctor. I would recommend this place for families or couples.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N_Wayferer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    53
    19
    6
    12
See reviews for
41
69
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Billings, Montana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Yes, the premises are very nice.....if you like sitting down to breakfast and looking at the crumbs and dishes from somebody else's night before. But the real issue is the staff. They were unaccountably arrogant and rude. They made us feel like criminals for asking for coffee in the morning, then set us up with a catamaran trip in the afternoon that never left the dock. When we asked for help in trying to salvage the day, they asked us why we booked such a bad trip in the first place. We were locked out of our room when the door broke, then stood by while a maintenance man popped it open with a credit card. Ultimately, we were so angry that we checked out a day early -- and were never even asked why. Oh, and the location? Yeah, it's on the beach -- but not the beach you swim or surf in. They sort of forget to tell you that. It's just a bay filled with docked boats. A few people brave the beach, but the locals call it "the dirty beach." It's not the beach you go to SJDS to visit. Unless you like being abused by the staff in an overpriced hotel, go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Isadora4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Yes, this place was a little more expensive than the rest of the hotels we stay in during our two week trip to Nicaragua but well worth it. This was our last three nights in Nicaragua and we wanted to spend a little extra for our last three nights. Our first night we had a room with no view, but the room was very nice and the beds are super confortable. The last two nights we were moved to one of the only two rooms with a balcony and superb ocean/bay view. Very romantic! It's three blocks from the center of town but far enough away from some of the bar noise. The included breakfast is served outside in front of the hotel with ocean views. Hotel staff were friendly.There is a safe in room for valuables, so no need to leave your watch on the bed like one reviewer did. Not too many gringos staying here when we visited, but that was okay with us. We did not eat at the hotel restaurant as it was new and had not been reviewed and did not seem very popular and was a little on the high price end. Over all we would highly recomend this hotel for the extra splurge and ask for the view room if available.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank exbritjenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

I am really surprised my the negative reviews! i have stayed here 3 times and LOVE IT! Planning to go back and bring family with me. The price is very high for Nicaragua but the location and the hotel are worth it. Beautiful and clean. The bar is great! CHEAP! The pool is great to stay in during the hot time of the day. My favorite place here in San Juan del Sur!

Room Tip: DON"T get a extra bed! They are a joke just get another room! They are REALLY uncomfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enewberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stayed in Hotel Victoriano in Dec. 2011 and I've been holding off writing a review because our experience was so mixed. Our room was nice with some luxuries we hadn't had in other places in Nicaragua because we had chosen to visit places focused more on nature than on comfort. It is a charming building, quiet, in a good location however we had a great deal of trouble with certain services that one would expect from anyone in the hospitality business.
Let me say that some staff went out of their way to be helpful but our overall impression is one of a hotel run by folks who needed a refresher in hotel management. Our main problem was that my husband misplaced the key to the safe in our room (where our passports, cash, phones etc. were stashed). The hotel did not have anyway to get into the safe short of taking it off the wall and drilling into it and then charging us $100 US to replace it. Unbelievably they had no master or spare key and claimed they could not get a locksmith until it would have been too late for us to make our flight back to the US the next day. I've never had a situation like this arise in all our travels and maybe I am naive, but I would expect that any well run hotel would have a contingency plan for situations like this. I was extremely grateful that the evening manager finally did arrange for a maintenance person to get our passports etc. out, and we gave him a very good tip for his efforts but I still don't feel the situation was handled appropriately. We were left for nearly an entire day not knowing if our passports would be retrieved in time to cross the border for our flight out of Liberia Costa Rica. We have subsequently asked our travel agent to intercede to get even a partial refund but nothing has happened thus I'm writing this review.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CRHummingbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Nicaragua
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

The Hotel Victoriano is a classic. Beautiful views, quiet, big southern style colonial porches, good bar. It has a nice yard and pool and the website pictures are accurate. The rooms are large and clean and the staff are friendly and helpful. Downsides - expensive for Nicaragua. The rooms and structure need some upgrades (a little long in the tooth) and internet reception is really poor.

Having said that, we have stayed there many time. They allow pets with a deposit and have a great room that walks out onto the lawn and then the street without going through the hotel. I don't know why we have never eaten there, but the menu looks good and I can say the desserts are very good.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsAdventure58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto On Canada
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

I was surprised at some of the negative reviews here. We stayed here for one night and loved the location and the hotel grounds. The receptionist was helpful and easy. I will say it is probably a little overpriced especially for Nicaragua. However our room was very nice with a tiny balcony overlooking the beach.
The bar is pleasant and our breakfast was satisfying.
The pool did look a little murky however and I did not venture in. It appeared that some of the people using the pool (their kids were using the Jacuzzi as a diving pool) were not guests of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geektrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#11 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
170 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
#10 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
318 reviews
5.0 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
419 reviews
3.0 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#3 of 4 in Playa Marsella
148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barrio Cafe Hotel
Barrio Cafe Hotel
#5 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victoriano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoriano

Property: Hotel Victoriano
Address: Paseo de la Mar, Costado Norte Edificio Claro, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Victoriano 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Victoriano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Victoriano Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing