We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extension of my family”
Review of Finca Las Nubes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Juan del Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Finca Las Nubes
Reviewed March 7, 2009

I feel out of all of my travels in this world Finca Las Nubles offers the opportunity to fulfill any travelers wants or needs. The people are like family.The food was fresh,truly organic (not geneticly altered)and very tasty. The acommadations were perfectly cleaned without the feeling of being invaded.They have created world class lodging in a environment were monkeys still roam the trees outside your window.The views from your private swimming pool will stay with u forever.They have 24 hour security around this very large farm but I have always felt perfectly safe traveling thoughout all of Nicaragua.San Jaun offers anything u seek, just north is Madera beach ,excellent surfing.Just south, turtles and great swimming.My stay was a 10.I would definately come again. Thank you Chris,Natalie,Adaluz and everbody else

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BruceSebastopol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 92 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2009

Combining luxury with ecology, Finca las Nubes offers the rare balance of beauty, relaxation, and cultural immersion. With transportation provided, comfortable lodging, fine organic meals, and poolside ambiance, we were free to enjoy the breathtaking views and beautiful sunsets from the hilltop overlooking San Juan del Sur Bay. Excursions to the quaint fishing village, local surf spots, and golf course were surpassed only by walks around the farm with it’s gardens, forests, and animal life. The staff was friendly and warm, allowing us to try out our limited Spanish, while serving us graciously. We recommend this vacation spot highly….it is both enjoyable and educational.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2009

We just returned from this place, and what a fantastic experience!! There were 8 of us celebrating our family Christmas- and our family grew as we got to know the people at Finca Las Nubes. Everyone was so kind-hearted, loving, and helpful. It seemed we only had to think about something and it was done! Food was outstanding- with many typical Nicaraguan foods to try and enjoy. Javier- I can't say enough about that man- heart of gold and strength of a lion. Adaluz- so warm, loving, and always smiling and willing to share herself and her country with us. Julio and Xiemara worked all the time to make our stay pleasant. Can't wait to return- thanks to all.

Stayed: December 2008
Thank lizziemIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2008

To Chris and the gang at Finca las Nubes, a huge "Thank you" for a wonderful family vacation. Your property is a little slice of heaven. Watching the sunset with dinner being prepared for you after a long day out exploring the coast and swimming in the surf. What could be better than that! I've been to Costa Rica and I think Nicaragua has more charm and less outside influence. My wife and two daughters (16 yrs, 18 yrs) nephew (21) sister and boyfriend had a ball exploring the country in our four wheel drive toyota. Kids loved hanging in the bed as we rolled along the roads. San Juan Del Sur is a sleepy little fishing village that is starting to wake up with the onflow of tourism. We were there for the New Years eve celebration and the excitement and the fireworks were fantastic. The locals are very friendly. Never once did we feel threatened or uncomfortable on any of our excursions off the "Farm". In fact one night my nephew and I chose to walk home to Finca las Nubes from San Juan Del Sur under the light of the moon. Be sure and try out the local canopy zip line experience. Kids really loved it. Don't miss spending one or two days in the town of Granada. It's the oldest colonial town in the western hemisphere and it has fantastic restaurants. Be sure to take a boat tour of the Isllettas (sp). Well worth it. This was my second visit to Finca las Nubes. If you are planning on going to Central America this spot is definetly the place to stay. No hassles, a wonderful staff that feeds you and provides you with every thing you may need. You can have a one of a kind vacation in a part of the world that is under the radar, but on the verge of breaking out big time! Get there before it does...We have memories for a lifetime!
Thanks Chris and the staff at Finca las Nubes!!! Job well done!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank petamatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2008

We visited Finca de las Nubes in the summer of 2007, thanks to Chris, Andaluz, Juan and all the others we had an amazing and wonderful time in Nicaragua. Nicaragua stole our harts, the history, the people, the country is indescribable, and from the moment we set foot on the Finca the las Nubes, we felt welcome and in safe hands! For Finca the las Nubes I don’t know where to begin, the house, the cooking, the view, or the people we loved it all. We stayed in the beautiful Villa Hermosa, the rooms are spacious and neat, with the best view of San Juan. The house in itself is beautiful, but we especially liked waking up and looking out over the ocean from your bed and hanging out on the porch and in swimming pool. And Andaluz’s cocking was amazing!

From Finca de las Nubes you can do anything, from turtle watching, volunteering to surfing. Finca de las Nubes is an ecological farm, and during our stay we learned so much about the nature and the land of Nicaragua from Chris and his crew. We learned about the farm and Chris and John Thompson made it possible for us to help out at the school across the road from the Finca. Besides helping with the school project we explored Nicaragua and the Finca is a great location for surf trips, it is nearby so many good spots, from day trips to Playa Madera, or day or overnight trips to Popoyo and Santana. The locals are friendly and some sports you share just with your friends!

We love Nicaragua, and Finca the las Nubes is one of the most beautiful and friendliest places in the world, I can recommend to everybody to stay there! I can’t wait to get back there!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FiekeJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2008

This is not the Four Seasons!

If what you want is a genuine adventure, good, healthy eating and lots of stuff to do, Finca Las Nubes is the place for you. Get yourself a four-wheel drive vehicle, mud is part of the fun!

Why Nicaragua?

Cheaper than Costa Rica, a bit edgier, and so close to Miami...
We are a family of 2 adults and 2 extremely sporty, active children of 7 & 5. We are also picky with our slow food meals and the all the home cooking made by local hands was an enticing factor for us to book 10 days at Las Nubes. The price was good, considering it was all inclusive. Wireless internet connection was plus!

People and Place

We stayed at Villa Hermosa, one of few villas at the farm. Views of San Juan del Sur Bay were spectacular from the infinity pool and balcony.

The many wild animals at the farm were a wonder: frogs, butterflies, insects, birds & monkeys. The pets were another source of joy. My kids loved to feed fruit in the morning to the monkey, Juanito, and the parrot, Rosita.

Farm animals, were also very much part of the experience. We explore the farm on horseback twice. Johnny, who manages the cattle, was exceptional with the children. He taught them to guide the horses and showed us all the amazing work of re-florestation going on at Finca Las Nubes. Trees are marked with their native names and the nursery houses hundreds of seedlings for planting. Milking the cows is optional.

This is not only eco-tourism--Las Nubes has a strong social message. The farm employs many people, some of them, you will never see, others are always around.

Javier, the driver/tour guide is a "nica" history lesson in human form. Ask questions and practice your Spanish! Ada Luz, his lovely wife, managed all the people working in the house. She cooked and her fruit smoothies in the morning were divine! Our house was cleaned constantly by Fernando, another incredible person, a veterinarian by profession who also makes the best potato fries in the world. All and all what made our experience at Las Nubes was its human element.

Was it safe?

The farm has 2 gates and 24/7 guard, authorizing people in and out. We definitely felt safe, even though all doors were unlocked, even at night. To get to the houses, one must drive for 3 miles onto a hilly, non-asphalt road, making access difficult.

Javier was always with us so we felt very at easy any place, from Managua to the lonely hills of the trails. It was wonderful to be pickup at the airport and not have to worry about getting lost.

Did you get eaten by mosquitoes?

No. We visited Finca La Nubes in July. Vegetation was super green and it was breezy at night. The mosquitoes were completely manageable, and we CHOSE not to have a mosquito net. Few bites here and there. Mosquito repellent is useful, of course, after all this is a FARM in the woods. The bugs we faced were actually very amusing and the owner taught us that they are attracted to the light. Turn it off and they will find another bright spot.

Did you get sick?

No. Although the kids preferred sparkling water (which we bought), we all drank from the taps at the farm. The water is from a spring and we had no problems. The food is so clean, the salads were fresh, we ate raw beets from the farm garden and unlike in many restaurants, we did not have to eat around dirty food. Outside the farm, we drank only bottled water.

What to do there besides hanging out in the farm?

Life outside of the Finca is sure hard to experience. Poverty at its deepest levels. However, the natural beauty of the place is overwhelming. Javier organized a fishing trip for us and he was proud to take us to the local beaches. Playa Madera was a highlight with its colorful surfers. Coco Beach with its great restaurant & friendly waves for body surfing was the kids’ favorite. We booked surf lessons at the local surf shop.

The canopy tour, two miles way from the farm, was an excellent adventure too, even for my 5 year old! We zipped through its many wires and hang out on top of super high trees!
We could have easily have skipped the sights of Granada. The poverty, traffic & hopelessness of the city, its touristy carriages, pulled by breeding horses was too intense, and with exception of San Francisco church with its murals and colonial beauty, we were better off staying a Las Nubes region.

The best trip outside Las Nubes was the visit to Volcano Mobamcho. At 1100 meters of elevation, the trail around its sleeping crater is something to see with its many orchids, birds and beautiful plants. On the way out to Granada, Javier also took us also to see Volcano Masaya. Its main crater, Santiago, is active and it was a thrill to see its fumes.

Any restaurants? Should I bring anything special?

Hard to beat the food at the farm! But Maurizzio Pizzeria and Restaurant in San Juan del Sur was a good stop after the beach. Maurizzio’s also is the only place to get a loaf of bread (if he can spare one). In general, bring morning cereals & teas. Next time, we will bring baking supplies. The farm has a great oven, but the supermarkets don't sell good flours.

On personal items: you must bring sunscreens and insect repellents. The sun was wicked, and we did not want to miss a moment of it! Good quality products are hard to find in the local shops. You can rent all your surfing/beach stuff there.

Too good to be true?

But it is! One thing the Finca should invest on is on good sheets for the beds. If the sheets were as good as their hammocks we would have be in heaven!

###

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank geanebrito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2008

We visited Finca Las Nubes over spring break 2008 and had an absolutely amazing experience. Traveling with four children, ages eight through sixteen, is usually challenging. It's hard to take a vacation where everyone will be happy and satisfied. Well, we found the perfect place. From the time we stepped off the plane, we felt comfortable, safe, and excited to be there. Though I had gone to the website and seen the stunning pictures, I was unprepared for the beauty of the sunset that first day. The pictures give a glimpse of what is in store, but you don't hear the howling of the monkeys, the chirping of the geckos, the singing of the birds, or the happy bantering of those who serve you in the kitchen as they prepare your delicious, healthy meals. It's also hard to put into words the peaceful stillness experienced when you first wake up and greet another beautiful day, the smell of fresh coffee beckoning you to lazily awaken. My only regret is that we didn't arrange for the horseback tour of the property sooner, to appreciate the beauty of the property and how accessible the grounds are for daily walks and hikes. Pablo and his assistant were more than helpful for us novice horseback riders, pointing out the wildlife and plants on the property and making sure we enjoyed and saw the many aspects of the farm. Ruth educated us on the organic plants grown on the property which we were fortunate to eat at every meal, and it was interesting visiting the wood shop and seeing the skilled carpenters at work creating the beautiful and exquisite furnishings for the villas.

We were relaxed and content lying by our private pool, but we were glad we were encouraged to take daily outings. The nearby beaches to both the south and the north were awesome. Next time we'll definitely learn how to surf in the warm waters, but this time the kids enjoyed boogie boarding and snorkeling. The Flying Frog Canopy tour was both terrifying and exhilarating. With four kids, it's hard to afford the recreational activities offered at most vacation destinations, here we were able to do it all!

I can't say enough about the hospitality and the kindness of the staff. We took the time to explore other lodging options with a view to a return trip, but remain convinced that the villas at Finca Las Nubes are the way to go.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank typingmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
2.2 mi away
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
#7 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
753 reviews
5.3 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
8.6 mi away
Parque Maritimo el Coco
Parque Maritimo el Coco
#1 of 1 in Playa El Coco
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel & Resort Palermo
Hotel & Resort Palermo
#10 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
326 reviews
3.8 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
152 reviews
1.9 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#23 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Las Nubes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Las Nubes

Address: Km 136 | La Cuesta, San Juan del Sur 95472, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 71 Specialty Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Price Range: $59 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury all inclusive villas located in forest preserve. Fabulous views of the entire Pacific coast and volcanoes in Lake Nicaragua. Gourmet organic meals, 5-star service, including chauffeur. Infinity pools, swim up bars, horseback-riding, surfing, fishing, canopy tours, etc. Fully functioning organic farm with wood shop, nursery, cows, goats, chickens, etc. Overall the most incredible experience of culture, nature, activity, farm life and pleasure in the most beautiful setting with the most accommodating staff anywhere on the planet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Finca Las Nubes Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Finca Las Nubes Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing