We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not just a vacation but an incredible experience!”
Review of Finca Las Nubes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Juan del Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Finca Las Nubes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

This is the kind of place you visit and it makes you want to go home and rearrange your life so you can figure out a way to live there. The people in charge are amazing and a wealth of all kind of information. It is a true vacation. You don't have to cook, drive, or do anything unless you feel so inclined. I highly recommend Finca Las Nubes. We plan to go back with our kids as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trailmom258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
There are newer reviews for Finca Las Nubes
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 92 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2014

Unique vacation experience at an organic working farm, with a personal view of the Nicaraguan coastline. Turnkey family adventure - Finca Las Nubes is a sustainable community setup to host families offering a of stuff to do and learn about.

The houses are all setup as an all-inclusive gig; everything is done for you, all families have to think about is what they want to eat, see and do - it's turnkey, cooks arrive, your chauffer pulls up in a truck and the day is up to you. Laundry is done and houses are kept while you were out and the food is a homegrown organic free range non gmo dream come true.

I spent two weeks on the Farm and went on excursions with family guests who were having an adventurous time here. It's a custom vacation. There's family activities on the farm, wildlife to see and sometimes play with, zip-lines on the property and in the valley, day surf camp, volcano tours, trips to Granada - more things than you can do in a week. You create your itinerary however you like and let your tour guide know.

Photographers will be pleased with the landscape and wildlife subjects.

Walking down the driveway I photographed sloths, monkeys, iguanas and birds as well as the house monkey at buena onda that spends half it's time riding a deer.

The setting is stunning, house layouts are designed in the hillside to get the right amount of sun, breeze as well as it's own view of San Juan below. The spread is straight out of a movie set.

Guests can learn as much as they want about sustainability, permaculture and basically a little bit of how the earth works, organically and participate in farming. It's a welcoming place with good energy that you can relax, feel the nature and spent time in a really nice spot.

Hang out with Chris and Natalie for a while and you'll get a free lesson on community building and creating a safe place for people to come and check out Nica, in style.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank b_rad-lifestyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Do yourself a favor. Book a flight to Nicaragua. Pack a backpack. Go to Finca las Nubes. YOU'RE WELCOME. Best damn vacation I've ever had. Chris, our host, is the coolest, most interesting, most chilled man I've met. His daughter rocks too. Everyone at the farm was kind, welcoming. The house we stayed in was GORGEOUS. The best part for me were the two doggies (a pit and a retriever) who chilled with us and THE MONKEY. Oh, dear monkeyface I miss you terribly. You're little humanlike hands, your expressive brown eyes...how you used to steal my bra. But I digress. My other favorite part is that being that you're on an organic farm you can simply walk to the chicken coop in the AM and pick the freshest, most delicious organic eggs for your omelette. The fridge was well stocked with fresh produce (we kept kosher so i brought a skillet and cooked my own food). We also went horse riding at sunset on some cute, nica ponies (I'm a horse riding instructor and was impressed with the ponies level of training and how tough they were..not like the prissy Thoroughbreds I'm used to). I could GO ON AND ON. But there's no need. Go see for yourself, you will not be disappointed. TRANQUILO!

Room Tip: The room we stayed in (Villa Hermosa. bottom level, all the way to the left when you walk into the h...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bayla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Stayed in Villa Hermosa with five friends and had a wonderful experience. Beautiful clean rooms, incredible ocean view, and well-serviced pool. Chris and his daughter Natalie are friendly and always a phone call away if you need help. This farm has horses, cows, goats, chickens (we got fresh eggs for breakfast!), vegetable gardens, and miles of trails to explore. I walked along paths that took me to breathtaking views. Our driver Gio was available to take us wherever we wanted during the day. This place is perfect if you want some peace and quiet and if you love nature, but also don't mind getting pampered at the same time;)

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YehudisB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Where to even begin?!
Finca Las Nubes is a haven of paradise. We stayed in Villa Hermosa for a week with 6 guests in total. Everything was spectacular- from the insanely gorgeous views, beautifully designed house (all the woodwork is made on the farm- exquisite!), amazing staff, and of course Chris and Natalie. We were met at the airport with our super awesome driver Giovanni- so friendly and good command of English. The villa itself was spacious and clean. Every morning we were greeted by fresh hot coffee and produce from the farm. The sunsets are out of this world. We went horse riding and hiking on the farm itself. Town is a good ten minute drive from the Villa, but we opted mainly to stay at the Villa in the evenings and watch sunset and look at the stars. All in all a very relaxing vacation, super friendly staff, and a great owner- Chris!
Will definitely come back. Highly recommended if you are looking for a beautiful vacation to relax and enjoy nature.
Thank you Chris and Natalie for the best vacation of a lifetime!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tirza V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Spent 1 week at Finca Las Nubes with 3 other couples and 2 kids over New Years 2014. Had a great time. Ricardo, our guide was polite, gracious, and considerate. The meals were wonderful! I suggest that if/when you take day trips, ask the staff to pack a lunch for your group. It is included in the cost and you can spend more time exploring and less waiting for food in a restaurant. The pool was wonderful, the electricity and Wi-Fi worked almost all of the time. We walked around the property and viewed the farm and animals and visited the wood shop.
Best surfing was at Playa Hermosa as it is gated and much more exclusive/mellow than Playa Maderas. Surfboard rentals much cheaper at SJDelS than Iguanas or Rancho Santana. We were encouraged to tip the staff $5.00 per day per person and we ended up tipping Ricardo $300.00 so just factor this into your budget. When we first arrived, the pool was not ready and one of our group attempted to turn on pump to clean it so that we could use it after our long travel day, and the owner was a bit unhappy about that and let us know. We likely should have checked first before trying to clean pool but....pool should have been clean when we got there.
So overall a very good experience. Relaxing and comfortable with good staff, great meals, and a terrific guide.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DQDUDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Where do I even begin? Finca Las Nubes is a breathtaking location. My family of twelve just stayed at Casa Carol Anna and Casa Bella. The houses are absolutely beautiful. Each room is spacious, with a great amount of storage, a large bathroom space, and glass doors and windows, allowing each wall of the house to have a spectacular view. The views from the homes were beautiful. We would even rush home to make sure we could watch the sunset over the infinity pool and ocean. The homes both had large living spaces for our family to all hangout and play games together or just lounge by one of the two pools. My favorite part was the large wooden tables that we were all able to fit around and have breakfast and dinner together. The food was AMAZING! We were told when we arrive that basically everything we ate would be organic and straight from the farm grounds. We had fresh fruit, eggs, chicken, and more every day. Enough to were, when we returned to the states I started buying more organic items. The staff was UNBELIEVABLE, Fernando, Pepe, Patricia and Mauricio. They cooked us fantastic meals, and were willing to cook two separate meals because I don’t eat seafood. They would have coffee ready before we were even up in the morning. Pepe became so close to us that I think we all wanted to bring him home. Patricia was such a sweetheart as well. Geovanni was a great driver and took us all over. He was great to talk to and would answer all of our questions (even the personal ones). He made it so it was not uncomfortable to be driven around by a stranger. Overall, the staff was great. Anything we needed they were willing to help. The property on the farm was well guarded and completely safe. It was great to see the wood shop where they make their furniture. As well we got to see howler monkeys on the property!

The only thing I would recommend is possibly having screens on the doors, so that guests can sleep with their doors open. It would get rather hot and their are fans in the room, however, if you want a breeze you risk having bugs around you.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel & Resort Palermo
Hotel & Resort Palermo
#10 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
320 reviews
7.7 mi away
Costa Dulce
Costa Dulce
#4 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
162 reviews
5.3 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Casa Maderas
Casa Maderas
#1 of 6 in Playa Maderas
302 reviews
2.2 mi away
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
#7 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
746 reviews
8.6 mi away
Parque Maritimo el Coco
Parque Maritimo el Coco
#1 of 1 in Playa El Coco
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Las Nubes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Las Nubes

Address: Km 136 | La Cuesta, San Juan del Sur 95472, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 69 Specialty Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Price Range: $59 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury all inclusive villas located in forest preserve. Fabulous views of the entire Pacific coast and volcanoes in Lake Nicaragua. Gourmet organic meals, 5-star service, including chauffeur. Infinity pools, swim up bars, horseback-riding, surfing, fishing, canopy tours, etc. Fully functioning organic farm with wood shop, nursery, cows, goats, chickens, etc. Overall the most incredible experience of culture, nature, activity, farm life and pleasure in the most beautiful setting with the most accommodating staff anywhere on the planet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Finca Las Nubes Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Finca Las Nubes Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing