We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect balance of relaxation and activities”
Review of Finca Las Nubes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Juan del Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Finca Las Nubes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

I just spent a week at Casa Carol Anna in Finca Las Nubes with my family for vacation. We all had a fantastic time. The house was great, the pool was perfect for cooling off in the hot afternoons and the staff was fantastic. Mel, Reina and Lydia were our main staff and they were very accommodating. Mel was very reliable for answering questions and making sure we had everything we needed. Lydia made excellent, well-balanced, healthy meals for us to enjoy. Reina kept our villa clean and orderly and helped make the amazing meals.

We did a good job of taking advantage of everything SJDS and Finca Las Nubes had to offer. We took a horseback tour around the property, went for hikes on the property, surfed at Playa Hermosa south of town, zip-lined at Da Flyin Frog, enjoyed happy hour in SJDS and soaked up the sun. My sister-in-law had her birthday while we were there and Mel put together a fantastic surprise party complete with a cake, pinata and balloons. Ricardo was our driver for the week and made sure we were able to get where we wanted to go safely. He also arranged for a yoga instructor (Amber, she was excellent) to come to our villa for a morning yoga session.

As far as bugs are concerned, yes, there are bugs and geckos around, particularly at night. If you've ever been to camp, gone camping or otherwise been outside of your house, you'll be perfectly comfortable. We did come across a scorpion but it was minding it's own business and once it was exposed, it scurried off. The bugs were at worst an afterthought.

Take a horseback tour if you can (Jonny was our guide, he was great. If you want a horse with speed, go for Pollo. He likes to run.), check out the woodshop (one of our group had a beautiful custom cutting board made) and buy some coffee from the store near the entrance (so good, enjoyed a cup or two every morning).

We couldn't have had a better time. Chris the owner has created a special place and it's definitely a destination I will be back to again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 93 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2011

We came Finca Las Nubes for my cousin's wedding. The Houses are beautiful, The views are amazing. We stayed in the Retreat, 16 of us. The service was amazing. Ada Luz is such a caring lady, she gave us superb service. I called her at six in the morning acquiring for the kids to milk the cows, she answered her phone and made it happen. Gracias Ada Luz! Usted es muy amable. Izaura and Yelmer gave us great service. They were up at six in the morning preparing our coffee and getting ready for the day. The food was AMAZING. The chicken they served us the first night was delicious. The guizo de pipian...to die for. My husband loved the fish (he's not a fish eater). We loved the fresh drinks they made for every meal. They cooked whatever we asked for.

Chris, the owner, came welcomed us the first night we arrived. He brought us beer and Natalie, his daughter brought us Flor De Cana (Nica Rum). About the bugs, Yes, there were bugs. My daughter got stung by a scorpion. It was in the towel, make sure you check the towels before using. What do you expect? You are in the jungle. My daughter will talk about it for the rest of her life. You visit Finca Las Nubes to relax. You could drive down to the city. For us, it was out of the ordinary.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gisselle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

The rustic house was beautiful and the people who served us as well as the driver were just fantastic. However, the house is in the middle of the jungle. Therefore, all kinds of insects crawled inside the house. Specially at night time. Since there is no air condition in the bedrooms or bathrooms all windows and doors are to be kept opened inviting spiders,scorpions, wall lizards and toads inside. Three people in the group got bitten, one by a small scorpion, the other two, we do not know what bit them. Seven of us got sick with diarrhea and chills. The crucial time for us to leave the house was when we found a tarantula in one of the bathrooms. We could not sleep thinking that any kind of animal will get in our rooms while we slept. Other problem was the rough slippery roads toward the house specially when it rained. We never filled safe to go to San Juan del Sur at night thinking about the darkness and dangerous roads. For sure it was not a pleasant experience for none of us. If we would know ahead of time we had to deal with all these animals and insects, for sure we will not rent this house. If you are a nature freak and do not care about sharing your environment with them; then it is the kind of place for your vacation. Otherwise I do not recommend this place.
Ginette Peralta

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Ginette Peralta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

food en personal was excellent
the drive on the hill was bad ,so driving any where was a problem ,far away from the city and beach
the villa ,building very nice but ...no airco and a lot of bug's , no closing doors
1 off the kids had a bite from a scorpion.....
5 from the 14 got sick .3 off them with a fiver .....2 day's in bed
most off or 14 persons did not like it ,we left 2 day's earlier to a other hotel ,Chris give us the money back for the 2 day's food

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank turnhout36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

I firstly would like to apologize for not posting comments sooner, we have been preoccupied with a family emergency. The Villa is beautiful, clean, and private. Upon arriving at FLN we were greeted by Natalie, the owner's daughter. She answered any and every question we could think of and even provided us with an easy to read book of "things to do" and general information about Nica in general. The next morning Chris, the owner, greeted us and even "fixed" one of our hammocks, in which we never realized was hung up differently from standard. I think Chris is very smart and cognitive to how a business needs to be run. We adored Luz and Juan who cooked us breakfast, lunch, and dinner, always with a smile on their face. I can't even tell you HOW HARD these two people hustled to try and make guests feel comfortable and pampered, you almost feel guilty. TIP THEM WELL!!!! I enjoyed daily hugs from Luz and enjoyed watching Juan giggle as our 6 year old amazed him with some pretty good magic tricks. One evening, Chris and Natalie, sent down some warm, homemade bread from their Villa for us to enjoy with our dinner. To the people who claimed, "OMG, he got bit by a scorpion!" DAH! It is Nicaragua!! Stay somewhere within the comfort zones of the US!! We saw scorpions too but were intrigued. By the way, Natalie talks about scorpions the first night she greets you, which we learned a bee sting is worse than a scorpion bite. There weren't any mosquitos. I am a germ freak and was not concerned, ever, about cleanliness at the Villa. Our sheets were crisp and white and washed throughout our week's stay. We frequented cute little San Juan Del Sur and loved the little shops and great eating spots. It is like a little surfer town. We were never scared in Nicaragua, even if we ventured out at night. My 6 year old tried surfing and is addicted. We went ziplining which was great!! I think we went to the same zipline place as the contestants from survivor Nicaragua. We were able to chase down the pretty creepy moan of the howler monkey, which revealed a sweet little, adorable animal. We were able to hold and play with a couple of monkeys. My son got to milk one of the farm's cows. The farm does have 24 hour security. Even though I never felt unsafe in Nicaragua, the 24 hour security did add extra comfort allowing me to sleep with my bedroom door wide open to the freshness of Nicaragua. For those reviewer who complained that their friends could not get through the gate, isn't this what we look for when visiting another country? Safety, protection, reassurance. Thank you to the security at FLN. Thank you to Luz and Juan. Thank you to Chris and Natalie.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank catchthetrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2011

This a special place I had the absolute good fortune and pleasure of visiting while on a yoga retreat.
The land itself is amazing -- an opportunity to stay on a beautiful, sustainable farm that has resort style accommodations, amidst nature with great hiking right on the property, convenience to remote beaches and town, and a staff that is full of generosity and a view that is nothing short of breathtaking. The food is lovingly and well prepared, healthful and the staff is cognizant of special requests and dietary needs. I felt safe and secure there as well. It is no frills but still had a feel of luxury.
The owner is trying to create awareness about sustainability and efforts throughout the farm are evident to do so but it is still a luxurious place--a great balance.

My one suggestion is better hangers and/or drawer storage for clothing.

Room Tip: Email directly with the owners
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank noteztoplz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2011

We are a family with two seven year olds who love this place. Our children want to live in Finca Las Nubes. This was our second trip to Finca Las Nubes and unlike second releases of movies this place was as memorable as the first. Why do we love it? The place is beautiful, the food is amazing, and our kids learned a lot. Juan Pablo made the kids smoothies and fruit drinks at every meal and both he and Lidia catered to very picky palates. Juan Pablos soups are amazing and each soup during our two week stay was different. Lidia made amazing shrimp curry. The kids went horseback riding, swimming, milked the cows, and learned to surf and learned spanish. Marcelino our guide took us to Laguna Apoyo a truly spectular place. He was ever so patient with the kids teaching them to surf, showing us how beautiful Nicaragua and its people are as well as driving us to Masaya to shop for hammocks. If you are looking for a relaxing place that will provide memorable family moments Finca Las Nubes is it.
Angie, Brooklyn, NY

Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
1  Thank AIM2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
3.8 mi away
Casa Maderas
Casa Maderas
#1 of 6 in Playa Maderas
305 reviews
8.6 mi away
Parque Maritimo el Coco
Parque Maritimo el Coco
#1 of 1 in Playa El Coco
128 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel & Resort Palermo
Hotel & Resort Palermo
#13 of 28 in San Juan del Sur
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#24 of 28 in San Juan del Sur
330 reviews
2.1 mi away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#7 of 28 in San Juan del Sur
247 reviews
2.2 mi away
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
#10 of 28 in San Juan del Sur
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Las Nubes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Las Nubes

Address: Km 136 | La Cuesta, San Juan del Sur 95472, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 77 Specialty Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Price Range: $59 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury all inclusive villas located in forest preserve. Fabulous views of the entire Pacific coast and volcanoes in Lake Nicaragua. Gourmet organic meals, 5-star service, including chauffeur. Infinity pools, swim up bars, horseback-riding, surfing, fishing, canopy tours, etc. Fully functioning organic farm with wood shop, nursery, cows, goats, chickens, etc. Overall the most incredible experience of culture, nature, activity, farm life and pleasure in the most beautiful setting with the most accommodating staff anywhere on the planet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Finca Las Nubes Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Finca Las Nubes Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing