We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary place”
Review of Finca Las Nubes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Juan del Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Finca Las Nubes
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Extraordinary place”
Reviewed April 7, 2011

We are a family with two seven year olds who love this place. Our children want to live in Finca Las Nubes. This was our second trip to Finca Las Nubes and unlike second releases of movies this place was as memorable as the first. Why do we love it? The place is beautiful, the food is amazing, and our kids learned a lot. Juan Pablo made the kids smoothies and fruit drinks at every meal and both he and Lidia catered to very picky palates. Juan Pablos soups are amazing and each soup during our two week stay was different. Lidia made amazing shrimp curry. The kids went horseback riding, swimming, milked the cows, and learned to surf and learned spanish. Marcelino our guide took us to Laguna Apoyo a truly spectular place. He was ever so patient with the kids teaching them to surf, showing us how beautiful Nicaragua and its people are as well as driving us to Masaya to shop for hammocks. If you are looking for a relaxing place that will provide memorable family moments Finca Las Nubes is it.
Angie, Brooklyn, NY

Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank AIM2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    5
    1
    0
    4
See reviews for
55
8
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sammamish, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2011

Spent a spectacular week with a three generation family of 13 at "The Retreat" hacienda. The package included all meals, housekeeping, and guides and didn't disappoint. We have been adventure travelers for years and Finca Las Nubes was a perfect place to be pampered and to explore the emerging Nicaraguan Pacific coast (the Survivor reality show filmed three series in the area). The staff was great in every respect and met all of our needs including pulling together a birthday party with a band, pinata, and wonderful locals from the farm. Meals were perfect including our requests for seafood and local cuisine. They even accommodated the picky diets of our grandkids. The farm is a whole experience in itself with developing orchards, livestock, aquaponics, a furniture shop, and daily visits by howler monkeys. There is 24/7 security. Thanks to owner Chris and Natalie; our guides Charity and Heather; and Fernando and the rest of the house staff. One last comment. If you want a sterile, posh hotel like environment go to your local Mariott. If you want an adventure this is the place.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderman49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2011

My family had the pleasure of vacationing at Finca Las Nubes in Jan. '11. The word "amazing" does not even come close to our week here. Casa Buena Vista was all that was advertised and more. Within our first hour there, Chris stopped by to welcome us to the farm. He informed us that we could request any of our favorite foods of which Juan would gladly prepare. After our first meal (Juan's choice), we decided to forget about any requests. Juan's choices and cooking skills are top notch. We always left he table with rave reviews to our chef.
My daughter in law named our guide, Marcellino, our "Ambassador of Fun". He is yet another great assest to the farm He picked us up at the airport and made sure that we did not miss any of the beauty of Nicaragua. Each day he picked us up with a beautiful smile on his face for yet another great adventure.
Do not miss the horseback tour of the farm. Thank you Johnny for your kindness and your knowledge of the farm. Set by the pool to enjoy the majestic sunsets. Enjoy the cool breezes while reading a good book and enjoy the best sleep that you will ever have.
This was my first time vacationing out of the country and I couldn't be happier that we chose Nicaragua and Finca Las Nubes.
To Chris, Natalie and the entire staff at Finca, I raise a glass to you all. From the bottom of my heart I thank you for the best vacation in my 55 years. Keep up the good work

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pollyp55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holden, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 27, 2011

What an adventure for two grandmothers! The long haul getting to Managua, and from there to Finca las Nubes, was so worth it. The beauty of our villa with incredible views from our veranda and infinity pool overlooking the ocean and the town of San Juan, and the friendliness and knowledge of the staff are not overrated! Adaluz and Angele saw to our every need at the villa, preparing our meals (the best!) and waiting on us royally when they were in-house, Peter cleaned our pool every morning, and Heather and Marcelino drove us all over the place, filling us in on all we ever wanted to know about the country and its people. As a final word, our host, Chris Robertson, is to be commended for creating an environment which not only embraces, but also gives back to nature, and by so doing, our planet. JUST DO IT!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adl1444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2011

From the moment we arrived at sunset (breath taking view) our two week stay was nothing but wonderful.
It was our second time to San Juan del Sur area, our first time at the farm, and by far the best accommodations in the area.
I can't begin to reiterate how amazing the staff was. Helene, Lidia, and Mel could not do enough for us in the kitchen. At 6:00am Helene would quietly come into the kitchen, cut fresh fruit and put on fresh ground, organic coffee for when we got up. At our specified time, Lidia and Helene would appear and make fresh juice and a hot breakfast. Lunch and dinner were handled the same way, always a fresh salad and juice. Our meals were outstanding. Dinners consisted of curried beef, lobster, shrimp dishes, wonderful basil pesto chicken and pasta, home made tortillas, red snapper, local Nicaraguan dishes. Lidia makes a wonderful salsa verde, make sure you request it! I wish I bottled and brought some home. We were spoiled during our entire stay.
The house with it's own pool, was beautiful, spacious, cleaned everyday, and had a view of San Juan del Sur that you would never tire of. Stunning sunsets, night after night. Since you are at a higher elevation there was a constant breeze that made sleeping very comfortable. It was so quiet and peaceful.
Everyday we would take a walk around the farm, always finding howler monkeys, and occasionally the alusive sloth.
Our driver for the two weeks was Marcelino. Daily he would check in on us and give us suggestions for site seeing. We enjoyed his company and looked forward to spending time with him. His English was excellent, our Spanish needed working on. One of our favourite days was leaving early for the Masaya Market, Pottery Village and then to Granada. There is no question he is a very compitant driver and we all felt safe with Marcelino at any time of the day ( roads at night can be challenging with horses, cattle, dogs etc. You never know what you will come across) Marcelino made sure we saw all the beautiful beaches to the north as well as to the south. Having grown up in the San Juan del Sur area, he was very helpful.
Chris, the owner came by to see how we were doing and how we were enjoying his place. We found his visit refreshing and loved hearing stories about Nicaragua and his farm. We actually hated to see him leave. A testimony to his vision for Finca las Nubes, his staff has been with him for a long time, working to sustain a truly eco friendly farm.
We had been a week in the Corn Islands before we came to FLN for two, this was definatley the highlight of our trip, one we will always cherish, thanks to all the wonderful staff, Chris and his daughter Natalie.
If you are looking for a very special holiday, don't look any further, you will not be disappointed. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetotravel154995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 6, 2011

The beautiful accomodations are exactly as advertised and the service from the staff is spectacular. Our week long visit at Casa Buena Vista was highlighted by superb meals prepared by Juan Pablo and the rest of the staff there - everything fresh and prepared Nicaraguan style with wonderful coffee, juices, and smoothies with every meal. Personal visits from Chris and his daughter Natalie during the week to be sure everything was perfect are just one of the ways we were made to feel so welcome and comfortable during our entire visit.
I recommend renting a 4WD vehicle from the farm for your transportation during your visit. Our guide Marcellino was fanatstic and knew where everything was - Granada, Masaya, Ometepe, restaurants and night life in San Juan Del Sur, and area beaches too name a few. Take the horseback ride around the farm for more spectacular views, and we also saw Howler monkeys, and a sloth before visiting the woodshop and hydroponic garden project. Our guide at the garden, Skyler, was very knowledgeable and dedicated to the self-sustaining farming principles that Finca Las Nubes represents.
My family enjoyed every bit of our stay - the only way to experiene Nicaragua.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walterg3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallbrook, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2011

My family, including both daughters, their husbands and children (boys age l6, l0, and 2) spent 2 weeks at the Finca. We enjoyed the hospitality extended to us by the staff, the gorgeous view and the accomodations. Of greatest inspiration was the dream of the proprietor, Chris Robertson which is to create a sustainable community based on organic gardening and harmonious living with the environment. To this end he has endeavored to walk his talk by not only replanting trees previously clear cut but by also creating employment for his 50 person Nicaraguan staff. Even his animals looked happy! I am encouraged by his vision and would most heartedly recommend Finca Las Nubes to any vacationers. I applaud Chris, his daughter Natalie, and the others there who share his vision.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foxylady92028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel & Resort Palermo
Hotel & Resort Palermo
#10 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
320 reviews
5.3 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
3.8 mi away
Casa Maderas
Casa Maderas
#1 of 6 in Playa Maderas
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
#7 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
737 reviews
8.6 mi away
Parque Maritimo el Coco
Parque Maritimo el Coco
#1 of 1 in Playa El Coco
122 reviews
3.8 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#3 of 4 in Playa Marsella
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Las Nubes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Las Nubes

Property: Finca Las Nubes
Address: Km 136 | La Cuesta, San Juan del Sur 95472, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 67 Specialty Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury all inclusive villas located in forest preserve. Fabulous views of the entire Pacific coast and volcanoes in Lake Nicaragua. Gourmet organic meals, 5-star service, including chauffeur. Infinity pools, swim up bars, horseback-riding, surfing, fishing, canopy tours, etc. Fully functioning organic farm with wood shop, nursery, cows, goats, chickens, etc. Overall the most incredible experience of culture, nature, activity, farm life and pleasure in the most beautiful setting with the most accommodating staff anywhere on the planet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Finca Las Nubes Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Finca Las Nubes Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing