We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in San Juan del Sur!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bahia del Sol Villas & Condominiums
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in San Juan del Sur!”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

My family stayed here, and we found it very comfortable. The villas are spacious, and have a great layout -- the kitchen leads to the living area which looks out onto an outdoor sitting area and a beautiful view. All three bedrooms are upstairs, and the master suite is, obviously, the best bedroom in the house. It's large with a private bathroom, though the other two rooms are great too. The location is good as well -- its set outside of town, so you are removed from the noise and hustle and bustle, but you can still walk to town (It's about a 10-15 minute walk). However, with three kids, our favorite thing was the pool area! There are actually two pools, and one is a shallow kids pool. We really enjoyed our stay, and recommend Bahia del Sol for families.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelleCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    31
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
55
17
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Humacao, Puerto Rico
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Nicaragua is a very safe and tourist friendly environment! Love it!! Can wait to go back!
Bahia del Sol Villas were neat, clean, and very comfortable. Staff was great. San Juan del Sur is a great surfing town, lots of restaurants and bars. Feels like Hawaii, Puerto Rico and/or any other surfing destination.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberto V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Definitely not luxurious as they claim. It is very spacious. One huge room with a king size bed and a flat screen TV. This room also has a very large balcony with awesome views. So killer views but most of the time it was too hot and we had to leave the blinds drawn.

The two smaller rooms had beds only. No TV. Which wasn't a problem for us. We don't really watch TV on vacation anyway. We also had our laptops for movies if we wanted. There was wi-fi. It was spotty at best. Not a very strong connection.

Only the bedrooms have a/c. The downstairs living room was warm but not unbearable. There was a nice ceiling fan and a breeze. The place was full of ants. We were given a can of bug spray which we had to use frequently.

The property definitely felt safe. There was a security guard or manager on the property at all times. It was easy to get a cab to town. The cost was about 5 or 6 dollars each way I believe.

It was not very clean. The maid came every day but she did not do a very good job of cleaning. She would wet her mop outside and then go through the entire place with that one mop. Never going back to rinse it or add more water or cleaner. The floors were dirty. We had to keep our shoes on at all times.

We hired a cook to make dinners for us. It was difficult because she spoke no English. For one dinner we requested a beef stew. We wanted her to use leftover beef from the previous dinner and make a stew. The manager told her what to do in Spanish. But somehow we ended up with the exact same dinner from the night before. Steak, beans, rice and plantains. No stew to be found.

Apparently the manager decided we didn't have enough meat for a stew. So bought more. Which we explicitly asked her not to do. We aren't big red meat eaters. When we talked to the manager about this she promised to deduct the extra purchase from our bill. Which didn't happen. The kitchen is not equipped for cooking if you don't eat everything. Our leftovers were put in the fridge with no covers. We had to buy paper towels and napkins. It actually would have been less expensive to eat out every meal.

The pool was dirty enough that we didn't want to get into it. We did walk to town twice. It's not really that close. You have to walk over a pedestrian suspended bridge. It sways in the wind and when you walk. It's was kind of scary to walk across actually but we are a little bit on the chicken side. So it may not bother others.

Other than the 2 managers no one spoke English. So you will have a tough time if you don't speak Spanish. One manager did hook us up with an excellent tour guide. He spoke great English, had a very nice vehicle and was experienced. He made the trip for us.

This was our first trip to Nicaragua. We would definitely go back. But would probably not stay at this property again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teaharbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We bought a groupon for a 5 night stay at Bahia Del Sol, and was not expecting such a great place! We visited with another couple (both mid-30's), and the villas were a perfect alternative to a hotel. The grounds and villas are well-kept, the staff is wonderful, and the location is ideal if you are visiting San Juan Del Sur. The staff is extremely accomodating, and were helpful both during planning our stay and while we were there. Mariela and Gladis were especially helpful and really do a great job at making guests feel at home.
We flew into Mangua, stayed an overnight there, and drove to SJDS. (about two hours-- NO street signs, so get a good map if you can GPS is sketchy). Renting an SUV is recommended, the roads arent all great for a car.
Once in SJDS, we visited Playa Hermosa (US$3 pp), did an ATV tour (US$60 for three hours), and chartered a fishing boat for 5 hours (about US$150) (ask the staff -- they are helpful with finding excursions). All were WELL worth the money and we got to see alot of the surrounding area with ease. Be sure to visit the fish market near the peir, and grill at your villa!
Great 4 day visit. We would highly recommend it.
Thanks, Bahia Del Sol, for a great experience. :)

Room Tip: Villa 7 has a great view and is right above the pool. There are a good bot of steps to get to the vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fh915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Not my first trip to Nicaragua and my fifth visit to San Juan del Sur. Just wanted to try something different from Pelican Eyes and Palermo (other options in town). First the good news. The view is magnificent indeed. The villas are nice, or would have been in the 80s when they were built. Nice and spacious (3 bedrooms). Bathrooms in need of attention (ours were just dirty; soap scum in the shower and the glass plate around the shower knob, nice to have two wash basins but they weren't clean and smelled bad). Living room is just basic. The kitchen could do with some work. Would be nice if the living areas were airconditioned as well, not just the bedrooms. Maybe the other villas are nice in which case stay away from No. 8. Now the pool which is important to me if you're not impressed by the beach (dark brown very fine sand and high silica): Its small. And in keeping with the cleanliness standard in the villa bathrooms, its filthy. Three days I was there, the water got progressively murky. They never ran the filtration system if there was one. They would just come and fish out the leaves n insects once a day. I couldn't smell any chlorine as you would in every pool. That was a huge disappointment. And I think I picked up a skin infection while I was there, though can't be certain.

Overall, I am amazed at the rave reviews here. To be fair, the only thing going for it are the comfortable bedrooms, fantastic view and spaciousness. Oh, and it's cheap...certainly cheaper than Palermo or Pelican Eyes.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eponymousym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We ended our trip through Nicaragua here and are so glad we did. The condo was huge and full of light with amazing views of the ocean. The location is excellent since it is not "in" town, but an easy walk to town (although not a good walk to attempt in the dark since the road is narrow and not well lit). The staff was also excellent -very responsive to our needs and always very friendly. The bedrooms (three) were huge and cool with TONS of storage and the bathrooms (two and a half) were also nice. We would stay here again in a second!!!

Keep in mind:
1. The pool is very nice, with a bathroom and outdoor shower and shallow area for children. However, you'll have to keep a close eye on active little ones since one side of the pool drops off suddenly into the swim up bar area (we never saw it in use) and one end drops suddenly down a steep hill (they have put terra cotta planters here to try to block this area, but we still had to closely watch our kids).
2. As explained above, the location is fabulous if you want quiet relaxation within a decent proximity to town without being in town. However you'll likely accrue taxi costs as a result and many taxis wouldn't take us back to our hotel or who would charge us extra because they had to leave the paved road and enter the few blocks of unpaved access to the hotel which does a number on their cars (understandable).
3. Having a kitchen and access to a washer/dryer (for an additional cost) is great, but keep in mind you will have to stock up on all amenities yourself - including things like salt/pepper, paper towels, etc. The Pali grocery store is not far and an easy cab ride.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank famofthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

we have stayed at several places around San Juan Del Sur. This place has a great location, nice views and large units. the A/C worked great and the pool was fine. The condo we stayed in was in dire need of a fresh coat of paint and there was garbage all over the grounds. With a little TLC and a good cleaning this would be a fantastic property.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicaRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BahiadelSol2011, Manager at Bahia del Sol Villas & Condominiums, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
We do apologize for this incovenience for the garbage, we hope that you will consider staying with us again on your visit to San Juan del Sur.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
4.0 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
2.3 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
423 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel & Resort Palermo
Hotel & Resort Palermo
#10 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#11 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
171 reviews
0.7 mi away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#9 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
233 reviews
0.9 mi away
Barrio Cafe Hotel
Barrio Cafe Hotel
#5 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia del Sol Villas & Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia del Sol Villas & Condominiums

Property: Bahia del Sol Villas & Condominiums
Address: From the Mayor's office 2.5 kilometers north | Behind La Talanguera neighborhood, San Juan del Sur 505, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 67 Specialty Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia del Sol Villas & Condominiums 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property has 9 villas, and 2 pools.1 pool for adults, and 1 children's pool. Each villa is made up of 2 floors, and each one features 3 bedrooms, 2.5 bathrooms, a living room, a dining room, and a kitchen. In the master bedroom there is 1 King size bed, the second bedroom has 2 twin size beds, and the third bedroom has 1 queen size bed. The 3 bedrooms are located on the top floor (second floor). The main room with 1 king size bed has its own private bathroom, and the other 2 rooms share a bathroom. The rooms have central air conditioning and the master control is located in the main room. On the ground floor we have the living room, dining room and kitchen. On this floor we have a ceiling fan and a half bath (a toilet). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Bahia del Sol Villas & Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Del Sol Villas & Condominiums Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Bahia Del Sol Villas And Condominiums
Bahia Del Sol Villas & Condominiums Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing