We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant B & B close to the beach”
Review of Hotel Colonial

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Colonial
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 356 helpful votes
“Pleasant B & B close to the beach”
Reviewed January 19, 2011

San Juan is not a big town - if you're a tourist, it's little more than a large beach curving around a bay, and a few blocks of shops and restaurants. The hotel is just far enough from the main bars and restaurants to be quiet late in the evening.

The hotel is a couple of blocks away from the centre of the beach as well as the beach restaurants. Staff seem pleasant enough - we didn't need to ask for anything special, so can't make a particular judgment on them. Rooms are OK - everything works but it's not shiny marble luxury. There's a reasonably nice yard area, with a bunch of chairs (including the Nicaraguan speciality of rocking chairs) and a few tables. Breakfast is served in a (covered) outdoor area - there's a number of cartoons on the walls in fairly simple Spanish.

Nice not-too-expensive place in which to stay while you spend a few days on the beach

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmbma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    32
    16
    2
    6
See reviews for
12
27
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights and thought the hotel was decent - quiet, comfortable beds, cable tv with a few american stations, cold a/c, hot water, and a secure parking lot. The only thing missing was a room safe. Breakfast was included but only consisted of coffee, juice, and toast with jam. The hotel offers free wi-fi if you have a laptop, there is also a cheap internet cafe just across the street.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2009

The lush garden invites for a quiet sitdown at night with some rum....after the noisy nightlife one block down at the seaside. The colonial style building is tastefully furnished and has all modern amenities. It is not mainstream....and very affordable. Good internet connections, reliable water supply.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arnoSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2009

What more can people do to help you? This place far from the best in the world, or even in Nicaragua, or even in San Juan, but these guys here were so nice. Booked two nights, then added another, at some ridiculously low rate, and then they said, 'but if you book three nights, you get the fourth free'. So we did. But I wish they hadn't said that, the Colonial is peanuts, and it felt like taking advantage of their hospitality by staying another night...for free. Breakfast too was served every morning, coffee and toast, by the friendly staff, except for one morning, it was just bread. The reason? The frequent power cuts that affect Nicaragua regularly, no electricity to even make toast! At least twice the power failed during the night, so much so that with the AC out, the nights were hot. But this is not their fault; both times, the whole town, save the ice cream parlour and the bank, was in darkness, and it would be churlish and naive to hold that against them. Just take a torch, enjoy the rain, and get in the spirit with it, as it's a fascinating place.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roberciku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador, El Salvador
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2008

I made my reservation by phone but when I arrived they didn´t have a room for us.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mayadoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Juan del Sur hotels

Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2008

Hotel is basic, but for the price was reasonable. I would compare this to the various basic motel type accommodations in the United States chains. Room was kept clean, A/C worked well, cable was offered to include some New York City stations, and had some furniture. Rate included continental breakfast and you could purchase some eggs, etc for $1-2 if interested. My room was not huge, but there may have been other larger rooms if you said you had more than one person.

A few ants made their way in, but nothing overly terrible. I also did not see any soap included, so you may need to purchase or bring some. You may want to be mindful of power trips, though. I experienced a few in the four nights I was there. At first, I thought it was because of Nicaragua's normal power troubles, but realized one night it was only the hotel with no power - next door and across the street had power. This is probably the number one reason I gave only a neutral rating. Otherwise, for the price to what you get you have a good deal.

  • Liked — for price paid reasonably comfortable and clean
  • Disliked — power troubles
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank wouldbeworldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.0 mi away
Barrio Cafe Hotel
Barrio Cafe Hotel
#5 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
224 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rositas Hotel
Rositas Hotel
#9 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
158 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#11 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nuestra Casa B&B
Nuestra Casa B&B
#15 of 67 in San Juan del Sur
24 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chale's House
Chale's House
#30 of 67 in San Juan del Sur
42 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Please Hotel
Beach Please Hotel
#27 of 52 in San Juan del Sur
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonial

Property: Hotel Colonial
Address: San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hotel Colonial 1.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Colonial is an Oasis in the heart of San Juan, one block from the seashore with its lively restaurants and bars, and close to ideal beaches for surfing.Hotel Colonial combines the nostalgia of past centuries with the new millenium, a traditional latino interior garden converts the hotel into an oasis of tranquility in a lively fishing village.Nostalgia combines with modern commodities - air ccnditionning, television, wireless internet, private baths, complete breakfasts, secure parking.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Colonial Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing