We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The price was right”
Review of Hotel Colonial

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Colonial
Encinitas, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The price was right”
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We needed a hotel room for one night in San Juan Del Sur on our way up north. Hotel Colonial worked out great. Rooms are small and simple but great for the price. The hotel is a block off the beach but very quiet. It has a nice little garden area where we sat and had drinks (we bought our own, they don't serve you) the night we got in. Breakfast was included in the price of the hotel which was convenient for us as we needed to get on the road, however it wasn't particularly tasty. We didn't really spend time in San Juan Del Sur but if you are planning to Hotel Colonial is right in the heart of it all.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber92056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    32
    16
    2
    6
See reviews for
12
27
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Hope, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

This was a nice stay for 2 days. Breakfast was free, the room was clean but relatively small. Nothing to complain for the price, particularly during the Easter holiday. It was walking distance from the beach and also close to the sort of touristic centre. I would go back for sure. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank labrecquee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Hotel Colonial is located in the heart of San Juan del Sur. From the hotel it is only a short walk to the beach or to the most popular restaurants in town.
The staff was very friendly and helpful.The rooms are small but perfect for the traveler who doesn't want to spend lots of money and is only using the hotel room as sleeping/bathing quarters. Our room had A/C, fan and hot water, and was very adequate for our needs. The free breakfast was a somewhat small offering of scrambled eggs, gallo pinto, toast and coffee. Even though the hotel is very nice (especially for the price), if you plan on spending a lot of time in your room and would like plush, roomy accommodations you would be better off booking elsewhere. But if you're looking to be in the middle of it all for a decent price you can't go wrong with Hotel Colonial.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orlandomanagua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Our room was small. The flimsy curtains do not block outside light. This is no problem at night because ambient light is low. Noise was no problem for us. We slept until around 8 am each day. The room was clean and cleaned daily. The hot water was produced by a contraption on the shower head. Your choice of water was extremely hot, lukewarm or cold. The WiFi is free but works only in the lobby area. The breakfast is included and adequate but gets boring. Each morning from 6-10 am you get an egg prepared the way you like, gallo pinto, toast, butter, jam, orange juice and coffee. The outdoor garden area is attractive with tropical flowers, fruits, and birds. There are places to sit in the garden. The location is excellent. It is about a two minute walk from the beach, restaurants, and ATMs. The manager seems to be the only one who speaks English. This is maybe a one star hotel. If fancy and luxury is your cup of tea, you need to go somewhere else. All in all this place kind of grows on you. We spent four nights. If we return to SJDS, this is where we will stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Huaschalocro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernie, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Stayed here our last two nights after dealing w rain every day of our trip and wanted to "treat" ourselves to hot showers. Staff was very friendly when we got there. Maids were extremely nice and did everything to make us comfortable. Clean rooms, great hot shower, safe, quiet, fair value for what you pay.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jughead1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

The location of this hotel in fantastic, you are literally a few skips from the beach. That said, you end up paying for the location. The room itself was pretty stuffy and not the best value for that price. I stayed there two nights and bothe mornings at around 6 am it beccomes incredibly noisy- sound travels heavily here, so if you want to sleep in, its not the best.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dtrain2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Juan del Sur hotels

Tamarindo, Costa Rica
1 review
Reviewed March 21, 2011

Went to San Juan de sur for 3 nights and stayed at this hotel. We went with our 3 year old, 10 and 13 year old boys. They upgraded us to a triple room with three beds which was great. Cozy room with AC, ceiling fan and TV. Staff were very friendly and made us feel welcome. The cleaning staff did housekeeping everyday. Free breakfast from 7-10am. Toast with jam/butter, orange juice, coffee or tea. The staff were so friendly and hospitable. We went to the market to buy some tropical fruit and when we came back in, the ladies washed, peeled and cut the fruit for us! The garden area is very beautiful, and tranquil. There are rocking chairs and is nicely lit at night...to just sit and relax. Central location to the market, beach, all the shops and right across the street is a nice place to eat Rotisserie chicken which is really good and priced right.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank precious3604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.0 mi away
Barrio Cafe Hotel
Barrio Cafe Hotel
#5 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
225 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#11 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
170 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Estacion
La Estacion
#26 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nuestra Casa B&B
Nuestra Casa B&B
#15 of 67 in San Juan del Sur
24 reviews
0.6 mi away
HC Liri Hotel
HC Liri Hotel
#1 of 52 in San Juan del Sur
426 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Please Hotel
Beach Please Hotel
#27 of 52 in San Juan del Sur
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonial

Property: Hotel Colonial
Address: San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hotel Colonial 1.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Colonial is an Oasis in the heart of San Juan, one block from the seashore with its lively restaurants and bars, and close to ideal beaches for surfing.Hotel Colonial combines the nostalgia of past centuries with the new millenium, a traditional latino interior garden converts the hotel into an oasis of tranquility in a lively fishing village.Nostalgia combines with modern commodities - air ccnditionning, television, wireless internet, private baths, complete breakfasts, secure parking.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Colonial Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing