We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and harmony with nature”
Review of Las Mananitas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Juan del Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Las Mananitas
willowz3
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peace and harmony with nature”
Reviewed January 26, 2010

If you're craving off the beaten path, quietness of nature, wildlife, eco-minded hosts and good proximity to beautiful beaches then Las Mananitas is the small-scale B&B style hotel for you. Alain and Elizabeth are wonderful hosts, excellent cooks and run an off-the-grid open air paradise that has all one needs to relax and enjoy the Nicaraguan environment. One can hear the howler monkeys, tropical birds and crowing roosters at all times amidst beautiful flora graced by lots of butterflies with a pool that's just big enough to provide cooling relief during the dry (and warm) season. San Juan Del Sur has several pristine beaches, great surfing waves and plenty of local culture nearby.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willowz3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
25
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
MI
1 review
Reviewed January 25, 2010

If you are looking for a natural setting that is off the beaten path this is the place for you! Great place to relax and become one with nature! Alain and Elisabeth were wonderful hosts and excellent cooks.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gidget151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2009

The incredible view, the peacefulness of the place, and the outstanding hospitality of Alain and Elisabeth make this hidden gem "a must" for anyone traveling in the area. The homemade food was some of the best we had.
We're so glad that we stopped there for a few nights and we look forward to visiting Alain and Elisabeth again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faboh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2009

Las Mananitas is a lovely little eco-lodge a few miles away from San Juan Del Sur, near the beautiful beaches up the coast.

The very first reason to stay here is because of the lovely warm hospitality of Alain and Elizabeth, the two French Canadian proprietors of the lodge. They have put their love of the country into building from the ground up this remote two-bungalow lodge. You will truly feel at home with them and their 3 dogs. They are both terrific cooks, and breakfast (if you chose to have them prepare it) is served up on the deck of their house. Each of the two stand-alone bungalows has a complete kitchen as well, so you can do all of your own meal preparation if you choose, but you will be missing out on Alain's excellent crepes and french toast. They also provide excellent recommendations on where to eat in town, and what beaches to go to. For instance, ff you go to Playa Maderas (the closest beach), they will recommend the best Nica food shack right on the beach, a place where the food is excellent and service is friendly, though we would likely not have tried it without the excellent recommendation.

Las Mananitas is about 6-7 KM or so down a very difficult road from San Juan Del Sur, about a 20 minute drive away. You can NOT do this trip without a good 4 wheel drive vehicle, as the road is not paved, is extremely rocky, and takes some getting accustomed to. It is totally fine and easy once you get the hang of it, but you will feel lost the first time you drive there. The reality is that most all roads in Nicaragua are like this, but if you have traveled only on the Pan American Highway to San Juan Del Sur, this may be the first time you will have experienced an unpaved road.

The benefit of this is the peace and quiet you will get on a hilltop in the forest of Las Mananitas. There is a small pool, perfect for cooling off. Each of the large bungalows has hammocks and rocking chairs. There is no TV or radio, no phone, and you have to go down the road to get cell phone reception, so you can truly escape from it all. Grocery stores and restaurants are nearby in San Juan Del Sur and in Las Rivas.

In keeping with the environment, electricity is generated in the daytime and runs off of batteries at night, so it is extremely peaceful up in the mountain. Water is pumped directly from the well to the tap. Don't be surprised if you are woken up in the morning by the howler monkeys, who live in trees on the property. Las Maderas Beach is just a 5 minute ride away, where you will find a perfect deserted beach with a few surfers enjoying the warm pacific water.

If you are seeking a few days of solitude and getting in touch with nature in a lovely hilltop setting with wonderful hosts, this is a terrific place to be. We look forward to returning there soon.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasonnyny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan del Sur
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2009

We´re so happy that we came to stay at the cabinas. The cabina is so pretty, it´s got everything. All the details make sense and we love to go in the pool each morning and evening after the nice walk to the beach. The privacy is great and you will have dinner out and watch te great views. Alain took us to the Mombach volcano, and we had a really nice day. We also love his bread. And not to forget about the lobsters, what a luxury...

We will come back for sure!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NinaNona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElasticMind
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2009

It sounded like our kind of place the moment we read the description. Quietness, Nature, Private, Jungle, Beach, Monkeys. Las Mananitas is everything that it says it iis and much more.

We were delighted to stay in such a beautiful and loved cottage and to meet such interesting and kind people because of it. Las Mananitas has a great vibe.The identical cottages are filled with everything you need and every smart detail is presented with taste and beauty. The private deck is a dream with an ocean and jungle view and hammocks to lie in.

The Owners, Elisabeth and Alain showed us such wonderful hospitality. Because of them, we had wonderful lobster, baguette, the beach on a full moon night and animals - monkeys, birds, ducks, chickens and dogs. And puppies, I'm a sucker for them. Luke.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElasticMind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
Reviewed November 28, 2008

As soon as I set foot in this traveler’s haven, I immediately fell in love with the place…and the wonderful tenants!

The setting – everything from the wildlife, nature, sun and beautiful beaches to the cute and inviting casitas, breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean, charming Nicas and the very lovable dogs Nouchka, Maya and Chico - made my stay in Nicaragua an unforgettable one!

I recommend Las Mananitas to anyone seeking tranquility and a good time far away from the hectic pace of our everyday lives back at home. Hoping you will leave this place feeling as replenished and appeased as I did…and definitively wanting to come back!

Catherine
xxx

  • Liked — Feeling relaxed.
  • Disliked — Absolutely nothing!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cathycatMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
3.1 mi away
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
#7 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
738 reviews
2.5 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
10.7 mi away
Parque Maritimo el Coco
Parque Maritimo el Coco
#1 of 1 in Playa El Coco
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#3 of 4 in Playa Marsella
148 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa Maderas
Casa Maderas
#1 of 6 in Playa Maderas
297 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel & Resort Palermo
Hotel & Resort Palermo
#10 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Mananitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Mananitas

Property: Las Mananitas
Address: Camino a Majagual, San Juan del Sur J4H 3X9, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 67 Specialty Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched atop a country hill, near the village of San Juan del Sur, Las Mananitas must surely be the tiniest resort in all of Nicaragua! Two cozy cottages, a nicely designed and relaxing pool, and the owners’ house. Set alongside a dead-end country road that opens up on two magnificent beaches, Las Mananitas offers unequalled tranquility. Nestled among trees, each cabin is equipped with a deck that provides a magnificent view of the Pacific Ocean and the valley. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Las Mananitas Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing