We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Visa Run location”
Review of Grand Andaman

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Andaman
Reviewed February 1, 2013

This is the fifth time using the hotel to do a visa run from Phuket - about a 5 hour drive to the Andaman pier. Over the five years I have done this route I have noticed gradual cost cutting measures but the basic comfort and food quality has been maintained. The cost of a room and breakfast has also gone up significantly in the last year. The 18 hole golf course is effectively 9 holes as maintenance is done alternately on the front and back nine.

It is good to see credit cards being accepted again after a few years break. (Visa, Mastercard and Amex). One tip picked up this time is that booking direct with the hotel rather than use the internet eg booking.com etc is 300 baht cheaper. Odd.

The monkeys now get very close to the hotel and I saw them getting onto some balconies in the evenings. Signs are up in each room warning occupants to keep the patio doors closed. It needs to be heeded but fascinating to see them so close up in the wild.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank liamoliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
There are newer reviews for Grand Andaman
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 56 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed here one night only for a more comfortable visa run from Thailand. In the first place their web site lacks information on how to find their Pier. We ended up in central Ranong where the long tail boats cross. It's actually approx 20 km north of Ranong. Look for signs to the Governers grave.
The immigration process is easy & without stress.
The hotel itself is high on the hill in the middle of the island. Stunning views. Decorated in an old colonial style & very unusual & interesting. Yes the furniture is somewhat tired, but very clean beds & bathroom.
The ' surrealness' comes from the fact we saw no more than half a dozen other guests & the place is huge! Such a pity it isn't being used to its full potential. 5 staff to serve you lunch & watch you eat ! We had a
very good Chinese meal in the evening in a completely empty restaurant .
A previous reviewer complained the casino was rubbish & only slot machines. He clearly didn't find the mega casino on the first floor. Full on & ready for action.
Didn't have the opportunity to try the beach so can't comment. There is nothing to do there so this place wouldn't suit us, but if you want a relaxing get away, doing nothing, where you are unlikely to bump into anyone who knows you, this may be the place for you.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anneyakka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

if you wanna spent some times in the middle of no where and be able to enjoy luxury and also get relaxed, this is a good choice. you can also lose some money in casino if it's make your trip complete. staff are good, hotel is large enough to get lost for hours and YES it is a monkey island. food can be better how ever and you better go to dinner very soon if you don't want to miss the buffet. and NO BUFFET BREAKFAST!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poosad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

I've been to this hotel for 3-4 times for visa run with my boyfriend. the location is very nice. most of the rooms are seaview. nothing special about this place but it's nice enough. The room is nice need a bit of work look a bit old. found a big spider behind toilet door. the maid and bellboy came and took it out. no problem for me as it's right on the island among the jungle. the hotel main restaurant serve a very nice tasty thai food. cocktails at lobby bar is nice too. after dinner we enjoyed so much playing roulette. recommend to go for visa run. for travel visiting is just nothing there.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lolitadeasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

This resort located on a whole island right on the border of Thailand and Myanmar, the resort it self is superb but their main revenue source is the small Casino for Thai and city tour to Kawthaung. The casino is nothing special really, and the city tour is not worth it at all, although this is the easiest way to access Kawthaung for the Andaman club has their own pier and boat from Ranong Thailand complete with immigration office all the way to Myanmar, if you really want to explore and experience Kawthaung I suggest you go thru the local pier and take a long tail boat which will take you right to the immigration office as well.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Winra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

During my family vacation we stayed one night at the Andaman Club. The resort itself is a bit tired but on a very beautiful tropical island at the Thai border. We stayed in a superior room and you could see the age of the resort but the bathroom was already renovated. The room rate and the food prices were very moderate and eventhough I didn't like the rooms but the resort was impressive. Especially the view from the restaurant was just great. One reason why the resort is so famous is the casino in it. There you can see plenty of day tourists from Thailand which come here for gambling. In general a beautiful tropical resort.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SAT33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

writing this on behalf of the black jack players, just a head up,the game is rigged I play a fair amount of black jack, enough to know they have rigged the game ,by pulling out the face cards and adding aces and low cards 2-9. Trust me you will not win.. I don't no about the other games, go with what you know . "No gaming board on that part of the world" That I know of. However the service was first class .best Chinese restaurant ever, good golf course.The pool was nice enough to do laps in , nice spa afterwards ..Great staff.Single beds only!! no hanky panky.

Room Tip: Go high for the view!!
  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank offislands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thahtay Kyun Island
4.0 mi away
Victoria Cliff Hotel & Resort
5.7 mi away
Tinidee Hotel Ranong
Tinidee Hotel Ranong
#2 of 7 in Ranong
182 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Galla Hotel
The Galla Hotel
#3 of 7 in Ranong
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
The Blue Sky Resort Koh Payam
16.6 mi away
PP Land Beach
PP Land Beach
#1 of 3 in Ko Phayam
85 reviews
16.5 mi away
Chomjan Beach Resort
Chomjan Beach Resort
#5 of 42 in Ko Phayam
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Andaman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Andaman

Address: | off Kawthoung, Thahtay Kyun Island, Myanmar (Formerly Andaman Club)
Location: Myanmar > Tanintharyi Region > Thahtay Kyun Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thahtay Kyun Island
Price Range: $60 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Andaman 4.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Andaman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaman Club Hotel Thahtay Kyun Island
Grand Andaman Myanmar/Thahtay Kyun Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing