We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome to Xishuangbana”
Review of Tai Garden Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jinghong
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tai Garden Hotel
Ranked #53 of 356 Hotels in Jinghong
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Rooms are very large. Each room has its own computer with "camera". Carpeting in rooms was very stained. Food was acceptable and staff cared to please. Grounds are pleasant. Westerners need to know that they are not staying at a Western chain hotel. Hotel works as a base for visiting the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 36 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2012

This hotel rates itself as 4 star, although it should be 3 star. The hotel has been superceded by the New Tai Garden Hotel (across the courtyard) which is better.
The restaurant was closed when we wanted an evening meal (7.00pm) and so we had to walk a fair way along the drive out to the street and then down the street (past a number of brothels) to find something to eat. The hotel is NOT very central to the main town area and the cab will cost about 8 yuan. The hotel appears to be used by the local "ladies of the night" as rooms can be rented by the hour, by the 3 hours and by the half day as well as the usual night rate.
The rooms are a good size and the beds as hard as any beds in China. The room had an internet connection and complementary water. The bathroom was very small and not serviced too well. (On check-in we had to ask for towels and toilet paper to be provided). Hot water took ages to eventually come through. There was no room safe, but the hotel does provide safe deposit in the hotel safe.
The only food at breakfast was Chinese. We managed to get a couple of eggs and some watermelon and tea. Not very satisfying.
If we were going to Jinghong again, we would be opting for a hotel in town (of which there are a number of good class hotels).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntarcticBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

We stayed in this fine hotel for two nights in mid-January 2012 while on a tour of Yunnan province. It is located in a nice park area, close to restaurants and a night market (jewellery mostly). While not a four star, it is a good hotel for this part of China where they do not receive many westerners. Our room was adequately large although the bathroom was very small. The shower was fine with nice hot water. The towels were soft and large. The other normal amenities were present.

One bed was very hard while the other was a bit softer. The sheets and the room in general were quite well kept and clean. The pool was not working. The breakfast catered mostly to the Asian community. However they did have an egg station (would recommend boiled eggs since they use an inordinate amount of oil in their fried or scrambled eggs). They did have excellent oatmeal and raisins with hot milk to start the meal. The bread was quite doughy and the marmalade rather poor tasting.

These issues aside, this hotel served its purpose for two nights. The location, cleanliness and room amenities were fine. Also the room did not smell of smoke like most other rooms in China.

We would recommend this hotel in Jinghong.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Canadian079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2011

On a 3 week trip through rural Laos and Southern Yunnan, I stayed in some pretty rudimentary places, so a place with even basic amenities was welcome. Except for the apparently universal (at least in China) shower flooded bathroom, the bed was OK (yes, its hard...ALL beds are hard in Asia) Breakfast was, uh, lets call it a cultural experience...you can find something. Reasonably clean and quiet.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phototype
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2010

I travel for business with the Chamber of Commerce and staying at Tai Garden hotel on 11-13.12.2010. For a 4-star hotel, I would rather disappointed with this. This hotel should be a 3 star hotel.

Room is not spacious as a 4 star hotel should be. Clean bed, but it is very hard. Bathrooms is fine. Mini bar and refrigerator are empty, which I think some 3 stars hotel have this better. The worst part is the refrigerator that did not work.

Breakfast has a very small selected number. Mainly in local food. Food is not international. The only fruit is watermelon. No cold water to drink. Noodles taste a lot worse. Egg fried one by one at a time. A lot of guests stood waiting at the booth of fried egg. Employees fried egg terrible. Yolk broken in every piece.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeeHyoHee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2010

Our tour company picked this hotel for us but I wanted to warn others who might have the freedom to choice their place of stay in Jihong. Our guide books had a warm review of the Tai Garden Hotel but it did not meet the guide book's description.

The rooms were pretty worn out. The carpet was very stained and the bath grout had significant mold. The breakfast buffet was also pretty poor. How does a tropical region not provide fresh tropical fruit for breakfast?!

The region is a popular tourist area. I'm positive you could do better than staying at the Tai Garden aka Dai Garden Hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marymarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2010

This hotel was not our best experience in China, but apparently at the moment in Xishuangbanna, there are no international style hotels and this is as good as it gets.

A standard Chinese four star room, rock hard beds, clean(ish) - the carpet needed replacing, and the mini bar had been removed (usually they are in situ, but empty). TV had two English channels, CCTV 9 and HBO. The hotel also has an outside pool but we were advised, by our guide, not to use it.

We turned up for dinner at 7:00 on our first night to be told that both restaurants were unavailable for guests, as they had been booked for private parties. A number of staff here speak good English and they did pull out the stops to make up a table for us in the lobby bar (located outside the lifts) and find us a menu. The location was not congenial, but the food was good, despite limited choice.

Unbelievably, it was the same the second night. So this time we walked across the road to its five star, sister hotel “New Tai Garden” only to be told, by the same staff we had seen the night before, who obviously work in both establishments, that these restaurants were also booked for private parties and we were escorted back across the road, to the same seats outside the lifts.

If you do stay here then take a short taxi ride to Mantin Road, where you will find a number of western speaking restaurants and café’s (mainly Thai).

Breakfast is served buffet style in one of the restaurants, where food can be cooked to order, but I was surprised that despite being in the tropics and there being a wide variety of fresh fruit available in the market, the only fruit available here was water melon.

The beauty of Xishuangbanna is its weather not its hotels.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chinarog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jinghong hotels
0 mi away
Sheraton Grand Xishuangbanna Hotel
0 mi away
InterContinental Xishuangbanna Resort
0 mi away
Xishuangbanna Caffy and Ken Backpackers' Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Doubletree Resort by Hilton Xishuangbanna
0 mi away
Hello Family Inn
Hello Family Inn
#1 of 172 in Jinghong
4 reviews
0 mi away
Wanda Vista Resort Xishuangbanna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tai Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tai Garden Hotel

Address: No.61 Minhang Road, Jinghong 666100, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Jinghong > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 356 Hotels in Jinghong
Price Range: $70 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tai Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 171

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing