We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value”
Review of Crown Hotel

Crown Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crown Hotel
Ranked #49 of 307 Hotels in Jinghong
Kunming, Yunnan, China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed in Crown Hotel quite a few times. A recent week-long visit confirmed that the hotel is a good value for price. It is away from the road and quiet, service is good, it's clean, there's a swimming pool and breakfast is adequate. The rooms are standard but quite spacious. They do a good job at getting the smoke out. It's centrally located with a convenient parking space.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    10
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
1
4
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
125 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We had booked with Agoda and pre paid for the April songran festival. When we saw our room we asked to be moved, with no joy, and as we are here 3 nights we have continued to ask but again nothing. Our room is cleaned well by the staff, BUT the curtains are hanging off, the net curtains are grey from dirt, the air conditioning does not work, on complaining they said they would fix it, but merely provided a fan to distribute the warm air. The walls have many dirty scuff marks,the furniture is knocked, threadbare and shabby, and this is an expensive hotel. TRULY AWFUL.

Room Tip: Don't stay in a business room if you must stay at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AntoniaRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England/China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Great place- a relaxed resort feeling in well kept gardens with a decent swimming pool for the price of an ordinary hotel, and breakfast isn't too bad. I have read other reviews criticising the service but we found the fuwuyuans to be very helpful indeed. All these things are quite rare in China so I am giving this a high rating!

NOTE: we looked at several rooms and they vary massively within the same price range so make sure you ask to see the different rooms available on arrival. Also, the handle to the door to our bathroom was a bit of a hazard as it slid too far and could easily crush/chop off your finger if you weren't careful...so be careful!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ChinaBathMat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We were told by our guide that we were coming to a "four-star section" of a three-star hotel. In practice, the rooms are standard issue for a business hotel in a second- or third-tier Chinese city. The bedroom size is on the large size. Most, perhaps all rooms have been smoked in. The only WiFi is in the reception area.
On the plus side: The hot water is hot. The send-out cleaning is quick, cheap, and reliable. And the breakfasts are great -- including decent coffee, omelets to taste, the makings of various types of noodle soup with fried eggs, and all sorts of buns and garnishes.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank le_valet_de_pique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
442 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We were going to stay at this place, but found it boarded up and under renovation, to be converted into a higher quality establishment. Seems to have a swimming pool, shared with new Tai Garden hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happysheepChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2009

The service was very poor with a very bad english spoken (or no english spoken). We had a complain because there was no internet in the room as they said on CTRIP, and needed to speak until 1.30 am at the lobby to change our room.... What they didn't wanted to do without paying a big supplement .

The room was big. The pool also even if the water isn' t exactly clear...
Very good situation to have a walk in the city.

The breakfast is mainly chinese.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mademoisellegrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2009

My husband and I are Americans living in Beijing. We stayed at the Crown Hotel during the last week of March 2009 for a week. The price is reasonable and we thought the hotel and the staff were wonderful. It's a three star but it should be higher. The room was large and the bed was comfortable. Air conditioning and shower were great and fresh fruit was provided every day. The hotel arranged to pick us up at the airport and drop us off too. The breakfast was Chinese style but fresh eggs and toast, juice, and good coffee were all we needed. The breakfast was provided with the room. We give this place a high recommendation.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chinawithMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jinghong hotels
0.2 mi away
Yunnan Aviation Sightseeing Hotel of Xishuangbanna
61.1 mi away
Doubletree Resort by Hilton Xishuangbanna
2.1 mi away
InterContinental Xishuangbanna Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Xishuangbanna Caffy and Ken Backpackers' Youth Hostel
0.0 mi away
Sheraton Grand Xishuangbanna Hotel
0.0 mi away
Wanda Vista Resort Xishuangbanna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Hotel

Property: Crown Hotel
Address: No.70 Mengle Road, Jinghong 666100, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Jinghong
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 307 Hotels in Jinghong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing