We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central location, good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mekong River International Youth Hostel

Mekong River International Youth Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mekong River International Youth Hostel
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Central location, good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and were pretty pleased. our room was on the fifth floor (no elevator), we had a small balcony facing the main street but it was high enough to not be bothered by the noise. The shower was decent with hot water all the time. Also we had AC, TV and great WiFi. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the location is excellent. Overall great value for120 per night.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Shiran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    3
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Clean, helpful, very good location, and since we are in China: having a balcony instead of the stained carpet and smoked room was heaven.
Western breakfasts just opposite, a good Thai one step further and other good restaurants and coffee shops on the same side of the road.
Just behind the hotel here are rows of beautiful tea shops.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bee049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in May 2013. We paid 138 Yuan per night for a double room with bathroom. The first room we got had a lot of ants so we asked for another room and that wasn't a problem. Unfortunately at night we found out that this room had a problem with the airconditioning. It was leaking and making a lot of noise. Also both rooms smelled of cigarettes because it's allowed to smoke in the rooms. Wifi was available in the room and there was also a kettle and a tv. The bathroom was a bit smelly and not very clean. The staff was friendly enough. Overall it was an average experience. There must be better places in Jinghong.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

I didn't actually stay here but I did consult the front desk person who was quite helpful in helping me with my inquiries. This is a Youth Hostel group but for some reason it is not listed on the YHA website. I would have stayed here if I had known earlier. This hostel is at the center of town and close a coffee shops full of other fellow travelers.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank wmchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

Our recent stay at this hostel was very short lived. We were on town for 3 days and had trouble getting around and finding information. Our previous hotel was real nice and only 60yuan per night, yet English was nonexistent. We needed help getting buses and finding our way to treks and out of town so figured it would be worth it to pay extra. Long story short, we found this hostel a night and the girls at desk were very nice, although not too knowledgable. So we figured we would give it a shot. Nice area. Anyway, when we checked in the man at the counter was not friendly at all. When we aske if we could put down our big bags in the room first to find our passports, he said "okay I you must, but it's harder on me that way". In the room, which was 128yuan there is no dresser or closet, barely a "balcony" and a shower with a toilet that is actually behind glass, so your partner can see you using the toilet. Anyway. We go down to look at the map and get Info on the garden, which is trip advisers #1 thing to do in the city. He said there is no such thing! When I repeated myself, he gave me a very dirty look and then looked backdown without saying anything. I then asked him about getting to Yiwu, he said it as if he had never heard of it. After another 2-3 minutes of this, I finally had to say something. I asked him how he expects foreigners to get around. He said to use the wifi. Then I said what about a bus to the garden or to Yiwu. He said, "if you have any questions about getting around you can go ask at the bus station". Ihad it with him. I asked for a map, he gave me one in Chinese. I asked for English and he shook his head.

We were very kind and easy from the beginning. He had a terrible attitude, spoke good English but it was entirely useless truly. Do not stay here. Even if it's cheap. The local hotels are nicer and u won't have to deal with some guy. No wifi in the rooms anyway. I say get your info before or go to one of the cafes. We ended up asking for a Refund and left.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sacranicko1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jinghong hotels
0.9 mi away
Dengba Inn Xishuangbanna
Dengba Inn Xishuangbanna
#2 of 21 in Jinghong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sanheyishu International Youth Hostel
2.3 mi away
InterContinental Xishuangbanna Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
61.1 mi away
Doubletree Resort by Hilton Xishuangbanna
0.5 mi away
Xishuangbanna Caffy and Ken Backpackers' Youth Hostel
1.2 mi away
Xishuangbanna Elephanthome Boutique Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mekong River International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mekong River International Youth Hostel

Property: Mekong River International Youth Hostel
Address: Jinglan international No. G building Menglong Rd(facing to Caiqingchun restaurant), Jinghong 666100, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Jinghong
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Jinghong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Mekong River International Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing