We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible Dinner over The Mekong”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Yourantai B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yourantai B&B
Ranked #3 of 305 Hotels in Jinghong
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Incredible Dinner over The Mekong”
Reviewed October 10, 2011

I had the good fortune of being invited to Yourantai for dinner while in Jinghong on vacation. My only regret is not reserving one of the elegant yet homely guesthouses. The food was impeccable - fusion cuisine using local ingredients (including many veggies grown on site). The service was even better, topped off by the owner Gerard's wonderful company, wonderful stories, as well as his fascinating insight into the area. Just an incredible, peaceful dinner over the Mekong, that brought my group back to a time long gone.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oharamorganbeijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    3
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
12
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cairns
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

I've stayed at Yourantai twice now and will be back as it offers the finest accommodation plus excellent food, peerless service from the hard working staff and absolute peace, quiet
and tranquility amidst the forest and with the mighty Mekong flowing gently below you.
The perfect place to unwind and absolutely no complaints in any form. Totally recommended to all Yunnan travellers, an oasis of comfort and taste.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ulysses10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengdu, China
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2011

You will feel at HOME at Yourantai ! The design of each villa is unique from the terrasse, the living room, the bathroom and the bed. We stayed there with our 2-year old baby girl and very good friends from Sweden with 3 children. Yourantai is a baby friendly place. The food is authentically excellent from the breakfast to dinner (local, Chinese and Western). Excellent view of the Mekong River.

Vincent Huynh

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vincenthuynh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettalong Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2011

We had a wonderful stay in this B & B. It suits expats who really need to have a change from China. Blue skies and starry nights can be found in China, at Yourantai. A true, tropical oasis away from the general mayhem that is most of China. 
A great host who can't do enough to keep his guests happy. Lots of day trips to interesting areas.

Gerard assisted us in making plans for our time there and also arranged a driver when needed. He can also assist with an English speaking guide when needed. He has great knowledge of the surrounding area and can speak English, French, Chinese, Spanish and I believe Italian. He also went out of his way to assist me when I was a bit ill, including a organizing and taking me to visit a Doctor in the local hospital. They do organize evening meals that are quite delicious. The bread is the best you will find in China! We had a wonderful buffet one night with a mixture of Dai local food and Chinese food. Two guests commented that it was the best meal they had ever had! I had to watch them eat it as I was not feeling well, but it looked amazing!

The location is wonderful with the main dining area overlooking the Mekong River. We had wonderful views of all the fireworks on Chinese New Years eve.

If you're looking for a break that you will never forget, stay at Yourantai.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keithsutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2010

From the moment you enter the grounds and slowly descend the path through the luxurious native ecosystem that Gerard has created from the monoculture rubber plantation that was there when he and his wife Lynn bought the property, you experience a sense of peace and calm. Upon arrival, I relaxed into the porch hammock overlooking the Mekong River, and then enjoyed pu'er cha (choice green tea from the region) as a fitting cultural introduction to Yunnan. Yourantai was built by the owners in the Dai architecture style, and the individual and private guest houses offer unique features like a shower open to the sky. Everything is airy and open to the "outside", including the professional kitchen, which does not go lost on Lynn's cooking skills. Yourantai is a perfect place for a romantic getaway, a culture-/nature-themed vacation with family or friends and, especially, as a rest stop for overworked professionals (yes, there is wireless internet and mobile phone reception, despite the fact that you feel you are in the middle of a jungle). If you like to explore, come before Xishuangbanna also becomes a major tourist destination...

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandarinanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmette, Illinois
Level Contributor
127 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2010

We spent three wonderful days/nights there with sons, daughter in law and four year old granddaughter. Beautiful grounds and Dai style houses (built with recycled material). Good breakfasts and delicious dinners (Swiss and Chinese). Gerard gave us good suggestions for day trips and found guide and transportation for us.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mflyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2010

Although I rarely splurge on hotels, Yourantai was absolutely worth it. The Dai style houses along the hillside are charming and spread out giving plenty of tranquility and privacy. The rooms are sparkling clean and furnished with a variety of new and old style Chinese furniture. The beds are very comfortable. I loved the natural feel of the place amongst the many plants and flowers, both inside and out. Gerard and his staff go out of their way to be helpful and can arrange day trips and drivers if you wish for that kind of help. Although it is possible to walk to town, you will probably opt to use taxis if you stay here and want to eat in the downtown area. The food is terrific; the best bread in China for breakfast, fresh fruit, homemade jams and local honey as well as other choices. There's nothing like relaxing in the hammocks or around the fire after a fulfilling meal.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJVBeijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jinghong hotels
62.8 mi away
Doubletree Resort by Hilton Xishuangbanna
4.1 mi away
InterContinental Xishuangbanna Resort
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#49 of 305 in Jinghong
27 reviews
1.1 mi away
Xishuangbanna Elephanthome Boutique Guest House
2.2 mi away
Xishuangbanna Caffy and Ken Backpackers' Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yourantai B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yourantai B&B

Property: Yourantai B&B
Address: No.18 Galan North Road, Jinghong 666100, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Yunnan > Jinghong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 305 Hotels in Jinghong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the majestic and mystic Mekong river, this mini eco-resort covers about 17000 sqm of hilly land in Jinghong, Xishuangbanna, the tropical corner of Yunnan. The lodge is built in typical Dai style, decorated with Chinese antique furniture and surrounded by a luxuriant tropical garden and forest. Owned and managed by a Swiss couple, Yourantai offers a serene atmosphere that keeps the heart of all who visit here. Welcome to Yourantai ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA so you can book your Yourantai B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing