We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Only Place to Stay in Tashkorgan”
Review of Crown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crown Inn
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“The Only Place to Stay in Tashkorgan”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

My wife and I stumbled on this little gem completely by accident shortly after it opened and what a welcome sight it was.
We were travelling around Western China, had crossed the Gobi and Taklamakan deserts and were retracing part of the ancient Silk Route along the Karakorum Highway. We had no choice other than to stay in Tashkorgan as it's the last border town where exit formalities have to be completed before making a dash across into the remote and inhospitable landscape towards the northern frontier region of Pakistan and the infamous Khunjerab Pass.
Originally we were told by a travel agent in Kashgar that there were no ‘western style’ hotels in Tashkorgan and a result we had made a reservation at a state run ‘tourist class’ hotel which can only be described as a hovel!
Imagine our surprise when we were told about the Crown Inn (by an employee of the hovel). We made the short trip to the Crown Inn on the outskirts of town and were pleasantly surprised by what we found and decided to spend the night there.
The hotel had only just opened when we stayed but during our short stay we found everything to be clean, well maintained and whilst simple some thought had clearly been given to those creature comforts like constant hot water and a fully functional Western style loo.
We enjoyed a pleasant meal that evening and were even given menu in English. Breakfast was good and set us up for the day. The staff were friendly, courteous and extremely helpful which is not always the case in China. It was only when I checked out that I realised that the hotel was being managed by ‘foreigners’ (I believe they were from Singapore) and all I can say is I wish them well.
One day I hope to return to Tashkorgan and when I do I’ll certainly be staying at The Crown Inn again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toonwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    20
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
12
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Nice hotel with Western standards. Nice indoor little garden. Rooms are tidy and functional. Internet works great but it's a little to hard to activate on your laptop. Running hot water available (which is hard to find in that area!). We had dinner in their restaurant because Tashkurgan doesn't offer much in terms of eating facilities. Their offer is more than adequate and we really enjoyed the yak meat soup with turnips. Breakfast is more than acceptable. Staff speaks a little English but the manager is fluent. Souvenir t-shirts available.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flavia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

After traveling around Xinjiang for 2 weeks and having mostly bad experiences at hotels from 2-stars to "5-stars", Crown Inn felt like a sanctuary for us. The hotel itself and facilities are basic, considering where we are but the management and quality of things are good.

The management team really pay attention to little details that made such a difference such as high quality toilet paper ("5 star hotels" at other cities had really rough ones) and towels that actually absorbed water. The breakfast selection wasn't big but the food was tasty. We stayed at other hotels that had huge buffets but almost everything did not taste good. So we were excited to have delicious baked tomatoes, hash browns, fried rice noodles (meehoon), toast with New Zealand butter (not margarine), and decent coffee, which is a luxury in this part of China! Best thing for a Malaysian? There was kaya for the toast! We ate dinner at the restaurant too and really enjoyed our meal.

It was even more comforting to have staff and managers who were very friendly and helpful. The first night we were there, it was Mooncake Festival. After teasing the manager for not having mooncakes, she called someone and ten minutes later had free mooncakes for every table. On our second day, my husband fell sick so we had to extend our stay. Originally, we had to change rooms because someone else already booked our room but the manager took care of the situation after finding out about my husband's condition and we were able to stay in the same room. Also, the other manager gave us great advice on helping my husband feel better. The tip on making our own electrolyte water was definitely useful.

Other little things: At first I was concerned about being cold since the floors had tiles instead of carpet but the heating unit worked well. Our shower ran out of hot water rather quickly but there was a sign that warned us about it so we just took quick showers and were fine.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geeps28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Ok night here - perhaps tempered by the fact that our room did not have any hot water. They came and fiddled with it then said wait 30 minutes for it to heat. 30 minutes later still no hot water! Eventually changed rooms. Short walk to town where we found a great restaurant (next to the Traffic Hotel). Did not eat at the hotel as they needed us to order off the menu 3 hours beforehand! Breakfast was ok.

Room Tip: Check your hot water system works before you unpack!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xingming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Given its location (last town before Pakistan), the terrain itself is harsh and it's not easy to run a hotel of this standard given the remoteness, so it's definitely worth the cost. Kudos to the management, I know its not easy.

So small comforts like quick access to a hot drink or having a coca cola or even KAYA TOAST (a nice Singaporean touch, being Singaporean myself this makes it extra special) make a world of difference and the hotel does it well.

There is also wifi but it's sporadic and only available in the lobby despite the router in the rooms.

The rooms are clean but does get cold, the hotel floor is comprised mainly of tiles. I was there in the 1st week of October and the temp difference between day and night was vast.

Tashkurgan itself is not a big town so the hotel is within reasonable walking distance to town center,(about 5 - 10 minutes) .

I'd recommend going out to town and having dinner in one of the restaurants outsdie - try the kebabs and zhuafan and laghman - they're all delicious and cheap.

Also don't be afraid to venture into the small alleyways where the tajiks live - they're very warm and friendly and don't mind having their picture taken if you are polite about it.

My rucksack strap broke and I sent it for repair at one of the shops where an old lady would sit outside with a sewing machine. Left the bag with her, headed for dinner and returned with a reinforced bag strap that cost all of 3 yuan. (60 cents sgd).

Make sure you book your accommodation in advance and get acknowledgement cos all lodging options fill up completely during peak travel times and you don't want to get caught out because the next town is farrr farrr away.. I saw well dressed tourists caught out and looking horrified at the prospect of having to spend the cold night in their car....

Room Tip: Get a room closer to the lobby so that you can mooch off the lobby wifi signal without having to lea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheryltan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikanae, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed in the crown Inn in very late October, weather bitter cold but clear. Our room was ground floor 109'clean, large , unclutteredmwithngoodmclean toilet and showe that, although amlittlemwonky on the base was perfectly adequate. The hotel is smallish with maybe twenty rooms, but it is light and airy and the views from the plonby and the cafe are super... For as,long as no buildings are put up alongside. I believe the hotel is owned and operated by a Singapore family.. the hote is a litte out of the centre of town, but less than a kilometer . The street is ful of colorfully dressed Tajiki women in red jackets and skirts and carry a handbag even when sweeping the streets, veil and all.
There is good Internet connection free for laptops in each room, and free wifi at the lobby . The cafe doesn't open until seven pm(Beijing time) which is really five,pm local, unauthorized time. The food is Muslim and excellent. Muslim food and mostly Tajiki, there was high altitude fish which we declined being as far inland from the sea asmismpossible on earth. Had a bottle of wine which went to our heads in the 3,600 meter air. Comfortable,plenty of hot water and a nice bed, soft by Chinese standards. A welcome haven in the wilderness.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Clean, friendly, comfortable. Reliable hot showers in spotless rooms. Unbelievably good for a small town in rural northwestern China. Yummy breakfast buffet and free wifi in lobby too. Well worth paying the few extra RMB.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank underock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Inn

Property: Crown Inn
Address: No.23 Pamir Road, Tashkurgan County 845250, China
Location: China > Xinjiang Uygur > Tashkurgan County
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tashkurgan County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Crown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Tashkurgan County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing