We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Xiahe County
Post
Inbox
Search
Open today: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Labrang Monastery (Labuleng Si)
from $1,389.00
More Info
Reviews (218)
Filter reviews
218 results
Traveler rating
132
72
10
4
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
132
72
10
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews labrang monastery tibetan buddhism prayer wheels english tour yak butter the main reason young monks no photography interesting place small group english speaking monk prayer hall hidden gem deeper understanding worth spending time several days nirvana hotel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 218 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The Labrang Monastery is impressive in size and doing the circuit is a must. But spring for the guided tour and it will add a new dimension to your understanding.

Date of experience: May 2013
Thank dhannum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This is definitely worth the long drive from Lanzhou (as there is not much to do in Lanzhou). We arrived late afternoon which gave us enough time to visit the outside of the temple and the occasional opportunity to go inside when a monk would let us in. I gave us an opportunity to take great photos.
We went back the next day at 10am for the guided tour with a monk. We were happy we took most of our photos the next day as it was raining and snowing. Very few people on this tour. The monk's english was so-so but he is apparently the only one speaking english. It is a good thing that my girlfriend is Chinese as we could ask some clarification in mandarin then translate the information in english then in french as everybody on this visit spoke french except for my girlfriend.
The city is great to see also. Monks everywhere and Tibetans in traditional costumes. Understand that these people do not like to have their photos taken. We were asked several times by monks not to take photos. They are a bit paranoid that we are agents of the Chinese government.
Some good restaurant if you speak Chinese otherwise to are stuck to go to the uninteresting westenr restaurants. Small town.

Date of experience: May 2013
Thank JPDM788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

an impressing guided tour by a monk for 40 CYN was ok. His English was not so good, but we understood him . take the chance and visit it !

Date of experience: March 2013
Thank globalcycling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

the monastery and xiahe itself is the most facinating place we were ever been at. don't just visit, but stay for at least full two days to feel the atmosphere and the unique magic of this amazing town and people. it was an unforgettable experience! (and you must eat at tara guesthouse, just in the cornenr of the main junction of town, near the monastery - see my review there)

Date of experience: March 2013
Thank tip_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I would suggest checking this temple out. Another name for it is La Bu Leng Buddhist Temple. It took over 2 hours to walk around the entire temple. There are many places to cleanse your sins and to prey to your god. The architecture is also amazing. Many things are hand crafted/carved and there are many colours to look at. In the mountains to the side of the temple you can see little houses where the Buddhists train for 5-7 years and they never leave. Near the parking lot over the river there is a hill where you can climb up and get a great vantage point of the entire temple. There is also stone stairs a little more to the side if you'd prefer that. Hope this helps.

Date of experience: October 2012
Thank slayer4ya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews