We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Xiahe County
Post
Inbox
Search
Open today: 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Save
Review Highlights
relaxing and enjoyable

if you need tranquility and fill your life with optimism rush in to these magnificent meadows and... read more

Reviewed December 17, 2018
NATHAN1909
,
Zichron Yaakov, Israel
Relaxing drive with great views

We had a nice relaxing drive soaking in the beautiful grassland. We did not stop to roll ourselves... read more

Reviewed June 5, 2018
VeronAng
,
Singapore, Singapore
Read all 24 reviews
  
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveler rating
9
8
6
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
9
8
6
1
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 24 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2014

We went for a Ganjia grassland excursion, it was organized by the hotel reception at the Overseas Tibetan Hotel. The ride was a bit rough coz of the current repairs on the roads but once we were over it, we really got to enjoy the open grasslands with the noamds grazing their yak and sheep. We visited a nomad family and had some yak butter tea with them. Later we also visited the Ancient Bajiao village and the Black hat bon monastery. It was a wonderful day trip, highly recommend it

Date of experience: July 2014
1  Thank Maggie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

it's nice but only if you have been enough time at xiahe itself, it's not a "must" and if you have only a day or two - it is much advised to stay at xiahe

Date of experience: March 2013
Thank tip_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We enjoyed an afternoon out at the Ganjia grasslands, it was not green like it is supposed to be during the summer, but we still enjoyed the countryside and the tibetan nomads and the yak and sheep. At the same time, you can also visit the black hat monastery and the ancient Bajiao village. I liked the Black hat monastery with the small village by it

Date of experience: December 2012
1  Thank tsegamama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Another grazing area lies further up the highway towards Xining and a little town with a picturesque temple complex. You can ride out on a bike or if you just want to pass by, do it on the 6:10 a.m. bus to Xining.

Date of experience: May 2012
Thank mexdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

our trip to the ganjia grasslands made the trip to xiahe worth the effort. Hire a minivan taxi driver at the bus stop to take you there. It should only cost around 200 yuan. The driver should take you to a tibetan cave (which was unfortunately closed for the winter), an ancient walled city and a tibetan monestary. Make sure you take cash because the villagers will want you to pay an "entry tax". Amazing scenary makes the trip a welcome relief from staying in xiahe. Highly recommended.

2  Thank cwrigh13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews