We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Kwa Madwala Private Game Reserve
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveler rating
78
31
18
8
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
78
31
18
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews our honeymoon rock camp elephant interaction south africa morning game drive stayed here for nights kruger park my sister buffet dinner worth a visit room was spacious outdoor shower bush walk blown away panorama tour i'm sure malelane gate
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 138 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2019

The access road is bumpy and rough. The first surprise was the toilet at reception which had a glass wall over looking the bushveld. The service and meals were good. The rooms however are something different to the normal standard rooms in construction, feels like a moles warren and each toilet has a private view over the expansive bushveld. Also the shower is also in the open, but don't worry your neighbours can't see you. The game drive was less than revealing although we saw a porcupine before sunset, elsewise only impala. What was annoying is the drivers who took us to Kruger National Park's attitude when the received their tips.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klaus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2019 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights on our south Africa tour. Short drive to our Kruger park day. Though there was an elephant we saw roaming around from our balcony . I was blown away by the location, the room and our views. Balcony , outside private shower and unbelievably cosy and unique rooms.
Welcoming staff . food was ok except for the braai which was very disappointing as sausages were uncooked and very bland choices for food. Apart from that it was excellent .

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Sueronluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2019

What a stunning place. Really something different. Something on the downside...I booked and specifically asked if it is wheelchair friendly. Well its not in spite of what the lady said.

The rooms are very small and difficult to manage in a wheelchair. Pathways are narrow and the one to the Dining area is with a downhill slope and has little speed bumps to ensure people dont slip but this makes it very difficult for someone in a wheelchair. Its a pity.

We booked in, realized it wont work for us due to these restraints and we booked out again.

I strongly recommend that they make it easier for disabled people

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madeleine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2018 via mobile

Our first visit to Kruger and a great stay at Manyatta Rock Camp.
An easy drive from Joburg's OR Tambo Airport and just 20 mins to Malelane gate the Rock Camp is located high up amongst huge boulders and with great views over Kwa Madwala reserve.
Friendly staff organised safari into Kruger where we spotted so much game, even 3 leopard with a kill, thanks to Lucky Lux our guide.
Must do is elephant interaction.
Room was spacious with great deck to view sunsets.
Fun boma dinner with staff performing, good quality meals, nothing was too much trouble.
Special thanks to Nati for always looking after us in the dining room. Recommended by our travel agent. We will be back.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank virginiacrofts123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2018

We visited Manyatta as a family and enjoyed so much all what Manyatta has to offer! We did the bush walk, we visited the elephants (not to be missed! you will never forget such an encounter!). We also went horseback riding, visited the Kruger with Luxon with the eagle eye. Thanks to him we got to see all the big 5 and so much more!

The food was plentiful and delicious. The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel is clean and the views are simply breathtaking.

We hope to come back!

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Emilia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews