We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kwa Madwala Private Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kwa Madwala Private Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed October 4, 2010

We were absolutely stunned by this place when we went for our honeymoon. We stayed 4 nights and absolutely loved the view from the room and the terrace. The staff was so friendly and helpful in arranging all the activities and the rangers so knowledgable! We could not believe the food considering that this place in the middle of nowhere and everything has to be transported here a long way.
Don't miss out on the bush walk and have a massage as well!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBMagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    47
    22
    7
    6
See reviews for
45
75
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2010

We were booked on a 3 hour Big 5 night drive. Coming from a 3rd party camp, we were quite excited as our host boasted about Kwa Madwala etc. Getting there, we were amazed with the views of the camp. At 4pm, we were asked to go to the vehicle for the drive.

This is where I started to semi NOT enjoy the experience.

We were kept for about 15 minutes while the driver got another vehicle that actually does have diesel in the same. Going on the drive, it was great. When it started to get dark, the driver was doing an average of about 40km/h and only scanning the trees...

Now as an avid explorer of Africa, I've been on my quota of night drives. Not once has the driver done these speeds. My wife and I was holding on more than what we could enjoy the drive. How can any person fully scan the environment for animals at these speeds. Then also, on more than one occasion, the driver/guide was driving, on his phone with SMS's as-well-as holding the night light. Once again, hoe do you actually give your customers their money worth....

The guides knowledge of the animals and plants were good, but personally I think he lacks the "feeling" for the bush. The only animals that we saw was Rhino, Blue Wildebeest and a number of Impala. I've seen more animals driving to the gate in Marloth Park that what I saw there.

Also, we got to the camp at about 6:50pm. Thus the 3 hour night drive that cost me R900.00 for the 2 of us, was actually only 2:35 long with record breaking bush speeds set up.

I have advised our host about this, and will not recommend your establishment to friends and family. My feeling is that the staff should be trained in what the value of a customer is. Whether they directly or indirectly are customer facing.

I only write this as I send a mail to the lodge complaining about the service that I received. Up to today (about a month later) I have had NO feedback from them. Is this the type of service they deliver?

I for one will NEVER advise anybody to even consider going to Kwa Madwala.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay_Vee_37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2010

Had 3 nights here just before Xmas.
First night had an impressive and massive storm which knocked out the electricity and led to a sticky night without any a/c.
Did the microlight flight which is a must, the ellie safari which was pretty good, a bush walk which was informative and 2 bush drives which were pretty up-front and personal - especially with the elephant!
Downside was the state of the pool.
Not 5 star but a lot of charm and authenticity make this as good as Kruger itself.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank japesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2009

Easy run to main southern Kruger gates and good for Deer and Giraffes, but not in luxury catergory.

Game runs in 3 abreast 4x4s (one of three covered). Just one pride of lions on reserve but many deer, zebras and giraffes and some elephant. Two runs should be suffiient and then move on to Kruger proper - they employ some good Kruger Guides for the runs there.

Rooms isollated and adequate. Outside shower, inside bath, double sinks, aircon which works. However it is showing its age. Furthest rooms a good hike up-hill to Reception/Bar/Restaurant..

Food solid and plentiful and just what you need after a chilly trip out but timed to co-incide with end of trips, so little choice in when to eat. Good cellar at reasonable prices.

All in all reasonable value, but do no expect too much.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2009

The staff, service and facilities at Kwa Madwala were outstanding. I can't imagine how our trip could have been made easier or more comfortable.

We saw a lot of animals on our twice daily game drives.

The dining lodge and guest rooms are unique and beautiful.

The food was excellent.

The management and staff were outstanding.

We had done a self guided tour of Kruger Park ten years previous. I really believe now that staying at a place like Kwa Madwala and touring Kruger with one of Kwa Madwala's guides is a much better way to have a safari experience.

Our children will never forget the experience!

The ultralights are a must!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthVan5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2009

Our trip started in Ontario, Canada, to Heathrow, London (8hours) where we met up with my sister, her husband and 3 girls (10,10, & 7) and then on to Joburg, SA(12hours) Our transfer to Kwa Madwala was approx. 5 hours - and even though we were all quite tired from our long trips - the countryside scenery was quite something to see. We made a brief stop along the way to stretch our legs and buy some snacks. Upon arriving at the reserve we were instantly greeted by some giraffes and many, many impala.
The property is something to behold, it looks like something out of The Lion King - many beautiful hugh rocks just springing out of the ground, The accomodations blend into the landscape beautifully(see photos) and are very comfortable and very clean. Because we a large group - 9 in total - we had reserved 2 family suites - which consists of 2 twin beds that can be made into a double plus a lounge are with a double pullout sofa bed. As the lodge was not fully booked - we were given 2 extra rooms - so that they adults could have their own space. This was done complimentary - and our big, big thanks to Conrad - the owner.
Our days started every morning at 4:30am with our wake up call - heading to the dining lodge for a quick coffee, tea, juice, hot chocolate, rusks and cookies before jumping into our open safari vehicle with our 2 great guides - DeBeer & Retos - these 2 gentlemen went out of their way each and every drive to ensure that we all had a great experience - answering all the childrens questions and inquires. Each morning for breakfast - there was always quite a variety. On the buffett - there was muffins, toast, breads, fruits, juice - hot items and sometimes, the staff would ask you what you would like - eggs, bacon, omelletts etc. The food and service was friendly and exceptional.
On the property the have a few extra activities that we took part in. The interactive elephant experience was amazing - up close and personal - and a 15min ride. As well - the ultra-lites plane rides was a thrill for all - even for the children. This is a definite must.
The rooms as mentioned were spacious and well maintained - all had large very private balcony which overlooks the reserve. The choices for lunch and dinner was also very good - food quality and quantity where great. There is a mid size pool - which the children quite enjoyed after a hot afternoon drive. On our last evening there - we where the only guests that night - but the staff still went ahead and prepared a beautiful boma - the food was out of this world.
We did 2 outside excursions - 1 to a Swaziland Cultural Center and one to Kruger Park which was well worth it.
All in all - our experience is one that we will not forget - all the staff, guides and especially Conrad - who was always on site to ensure that our stay was a most memorable one. Thanks again

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magnificient7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2008

What an amazing place. My husband and I together with friends arrived after a long flight from London and an internal one to the Game Reserve. We were taken to our accommodation which was cool, spacious and fab. It had the most amazing views over the plains. It was weird at first showering outside but no-one can see you and it was an experience.

The staff were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The Trackers certainly know their stuff and made the game drives so interesting. It was well worth getting up at 4.30am every morning to go out. We saw all the big 5 except the leopard on Kwa Madwala. For a first time experience I would totally recommend this reserve. For a few extra pounds we spent the day in Kruger which is worth visiting too.

I would also totally recommend the bush walk with one of the trackers. It was so interesting and unreal to be walking around learning all this bush stuff when the giraffes and other wildlife walk on by taking no notice whatsoever!

The food was wholesome and I thought tasty. Soups (on not so hot days) with bread, lots of meat, potatoes and veg. All home cooked and plenty of it. I didn't see too much for vegetarians though but i'm sure they are catered for.

I'm so glad that we did the Game Reserve at the start of our holiday and not at the end. The getting up early every morning and going out again in the evening, you sure do need your sleep. Well worth the visit and I can't wait to go back.

  • Liked — spacious and location
  • Disliked — insects
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kwa Madwala Private Game Reserve
9.2 mi away
Pestana Kruger Lodge
Pestana Kruger Lodge
#1 of 1 in Malelane
371 reviews
4.4 mi away
Manyatta Rock Camp
Manyatta Rock Camp
#2 of 3 in Kwa Madwala Private Game Reserve
109 reviews
3.3 mi away
Buhala Lodge
Buhala Lodge
#1 of 10 in Malelane
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Kambaku River Lodge
Kambaku River Lodge
#2 of 10 in Malelane
101 reviews
12.0 mi away
River House Lodge
River House Lodge
#4 of 11 in Malelane
93 reviews
11.7 mi away
Rio Vista Lodge
Rio Vista Lodge
#2 of 11 in Malelane
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kwa Madwala Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kwa Madwala Private Game Reserve

Property: Kwa Madwala Private Game Reserve
Address: Strydomblok Road | Hectorspruit, Kwa Madwala Private Game Reserve 1330, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Kwa Madwala Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Kwa Madwala Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manyatta Rock Camp’s accommodation is very unique and combines extremely creative architecture with its simplistic elevated rock environment. Looking like giant rocks our unique dome shaped bedrooms are scattered across the rocky outcrop with fabulous views out across the bush from the private wooden deck of each unit. Manyatta has been skillfully designed to blend in with the surrounding natural environment and to ensure that all rooms offer a private wooden deck for bright mornings and lazy afternoons overlooking the African bush. An outside shower and chairs on the deck make the decks very popular with guests. Manyatta Rock camp accommodation is sold including dinner, bed and breakfast. Subtle lighting around the camp and footpaths connect all rooms to the swimming pool, boma, dining deck, bar, day Spa and viewing lounge deck. All 27 rooms are comfortable yet tastefully furnished and infused with elegant African touches. Simplicity in the bush! The bedrooms are air-conditioned with two twin beds which can be made up as a queen size bed. Included is a mini fridge (which can be stocked as a bar upon request). The en-suite bathroom has dual his and hers basins and bath.Six of the accommodation units also feature a separate living room complete with sofa bed. These units are well suited to families with children. Maximum room occupancy in these units is 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children 12 years and under.The beautifully appointed Honeymoon Suite features a large four poster bed, private deck and shower and is ideally located for maximum privacy.Comfortable and elegant without being fussy, Manyatta is praised for its relaxed charm, unique bedroom design and stunning hilltop location.Guests should not walk around unattended at night for their own safety. A ranger is always on standby to assist guests to their rooms with his torch at night. Should a ranger for some reason not be available please ask at reception to be assisted. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing