We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (482)
Filter reviews
482 results
Traveler rating
227
146
63
26
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
227
146
63
26
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskagga kammagravel roadgame drivesrock formationscape townbushman paintingscave roomget awayhiking trailslong driveself cateringquad bikingunique experiencenature reservesunset driveour honeymoonair conditioner
Filter
Updating list...
336 - 341 of 482 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon and it was just what we needed - so relaxing! The guides are very knowledgeable and it's a unique safari experience. The food is FANTASTIC. Shocking considering how remote the location is - some of the best meals we had anywhere we stayed in South Africa, which does help to justify the price. We stayed in one of the caves, and while we had a few spiders (and one scorpion...), it was still really cool. Just maybe check your bed before you hop in!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Betsy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We spend a wonderful day at Kagga Kamma Private Game Resort. It was an exceptional experience in a very unique place. We enjoyed the isolation and peacefulness away from the busy city. The staff are exceptional friendly and helpful. We liked the clean unique modern cave accommodation that is equipped with air conditioner and all other facilities like in a hotel. We did the bushman tour and the sun downer trip. The history and bushman drawings were very interesting. We also saw some antelope and other animals on the game drive. We hiked on one of the many hiking trails and found the formation of rocks very interesting. The gravel road to Kamma Kagga is mostly good but there are parts that can be improved. All in all we had a pleasant time and were glad we visited this unique place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Floris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

What a wonderful experience. Food, accommodation and location were just out of this world. While driving to the resort along the 35km of dirt road I was concerned about what we would do all day out here but there were so many things laid on by the gamewardens that there was no time to get bored. From sunset tours to stargazing. Game drives to seeing the cave drawings. All accompanied by very knowledgeable and wonderful game wardens. Saw lots of animals. Went on a trek through the rocks and had fabulous BBQs in the outdoor eating area. Would recommend this place to anyone

Room Tip: Not a bad room in the resort. We stayed in the cave rooms which only sleep two. Family groups stay in the larger huts but they looked fab as well.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JCD380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Yes, it is a unique experience, but really, at the rates that they charge for a night in a hut or cave, and the facilities, to our family.....definitely worth it. This would have been a nice weekend if prices are competitive to Camping, or to other Nature, bush, similar resorts. Definitely not at the 5 star price they charge. Restaurant also extremely expensive, i.e. for a 300 g steak anything between
R150 to R195, burger R90, entrees up to R 90, cakes R 75 per slice! We are a family of 4, kids 11 and 12 who shared a very uncomfortable sleeping couch, in our room, which made the room very small.
We arrived late Friday, and checked out sunday morning. Had our own wine( paid corkage), 1 lunch, 2 dinners and 2 breakfasts, 2 massages NO extras like game drives or bushmen walk...( we did our own walking and driving around)
and our bill came to just under R13 0000!!!!!! Shocking!
S
It was disapointing

Room Tip: Huts have more space than caves
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DeirdreLoxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

My partner and I spent a Saturday night there - mountain bike retreat special. It was a very cold weekend - it snowed on the drive from Ceres. We managed to do a bit of mountain biking on their trail which was officially opened on the Sunday. Trail was a bit sandy at first but overall very satisfactory. Quite a drive on the gravel to get to the resort. We used a 4x4 but it could be done with a car. The cave was very clean and comfortable. Food was excellent and service very courteous.

Very remote and isolated location - great if you want to get away from it all. Overall very good value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank desiganCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews