We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (482)
Filter reviews
482 results
Traveler rating
227
146
63
26
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
227
146
63
26
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskagga kammagravel roadgame drivesrock formationscape townbushman paintingscave roomget awayhiking trailslong driveself cateringquad bikingunique experiencenature reservesunset driveour honeymoonair conditioner
Filter
Updating list...
338 - 343 of 482 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2013

What a wonderful experience. Food, accommodation and location were just out of this world. While driving to the resort along the 35km of dirt road I was concerned about what we would do all day out here but there were so many things laid on by the gamewardens that there was no time to get bored. From sunset tours to stargazing. Game drives to seeing the cave drawings. All accompanied by very knowledgeable and wonderful game wardens. Saw lots of animals. Went on a trek through the rocks and had fabulous BBQs in the outdoor eating area. Would recommend this place to anyone

Room Tip: Not a bad room in the resort. We stayed in the cave rooms which only sleep two. Family groups stay in the larger huts but they looked fab as well.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JCD380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Yes, it is a unique experience, but really, at the rates that they charge for a night in a hut or cave, and the facilities, to our family.....definitely worth it. This would have been a nice weekend if prices are competitive to Camping, or to other Nature, bush, similar resorts. Definitely not at the 5 star price they charge. Restaurant also extremely expensive, i.e. for a 300 g steak anything between
R150 to R195, burger R90, entrees up to R 90, cakes R 75 per slice! We are a family of 4, kids 11 and 12 who shared a very uncomfortable sleeping couch, in our room, which made the room very small.
We arrived late Friday, and checked out sunday morning. Had our own wine( paid corkage), 1 lunch, 2 dinners and 2 breakfasts, 2 massages NO extras like game drives or bushmen walk...( we did our own walking and driving around)
and our bill came to just under R13 0000!!!!!! Shocking!
S
It was disapointing

Room Tip: Huts have more space than caves
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DeirdreLoxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

My partner and I spent a Saturday night there - mountain bike retreat special. It was a very cold weekend - it snowed on the drive from Ceres. We managed to do a bit of mountain biking on their trail which was officially opened on the Sunday. Trail was a bit sandy at first but overall very satisfactory. Quite a drive on the gravel to get to the resort. We used a 4x4 but it could be done with a car. The cave was very clean and comfortable. Food was excellent and service very courteous.

Very remote and isolated location - great if you want to get away from it all. Overall very good value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank desiganCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

After a long drive from Springbok - road works and rain, we eventually arrived at Kagga Kamma. Luckily just as the sun was setting, quite a distance to travel on a gravel road - must say not too bad. Upon arriving we were greeted by a very friendly receptionist and were given all the details of our stay. A guide then took us to our "caves". Wow, what a pleasant surprise - well equipped and all was there that was needed for a good nights rest. We went back to the main reception area. A welcoming, warm bar with a log wood fire greeted us, it was cold (the cold snap from the Cape has hit the Cederberg)During the day in the bright sun it was warm, but once that sun went down it was cold.
We had some good viewing trips the next day - 3 in all. The guides on these trips were very knowledgeable and we enjoyed there sense of humor. The food was perfect, the atmosphere cosy and the views were awesome. Had a great stay - thank you!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HentieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I have just returned from a weekend away with my 8 year -old son to Kagga Kamma, we went there because where else do you get to sleep in a 4 star CAVE? I thought t would be a cool adventure for us. Well we were spoilt, not only is the accommodation very comfortable, but the food is MAGNIFICENT a real highlight of the weekend, and we needed it after exploring the rocks, going for long walks and the sunset drives were fantastic, with very knowledgeable rangers, who are excellent with children! encouraging questions and happy to follow the kids around looking under rocks!

I would recommend Kagga Kamma to anyone and they opened their mountain biking routes while we were there!

Room Tip: book the caves early they are very popular
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve312659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews