We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (482)
Filter reviews
482 results
Traveler rating
227
146
63
26
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
227
146
63
26
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskagga kammagravel roadgame drivesrock formationscape townbushman paintingscave roomget awayhiking trailslong driveself cateringquad bikingwonderful experiencenature reservesunset driveour honeymoonair conditioner
Filter
Updating list...
348 - 353 of 482 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I booked a cave for a night for my husband's birthday. The whole experience was awesome, from the moment we checked in until when we checked out the following morning. I can not fault in any way the service that was provided by the staff - the food at the restaurant was delicious and very prompt in delivery.
Our cave, while smallish, was cosy and very inviting. The lights had been installed in the roof to make it look, from a distance, like natural light coming through the ceiling - a nice touch. The tiles were cold to walk on, but in saying that, there was a rug on the floor beside the bed. There was ample bedding to keep us warm at night, along with an A/C - heater unit. We were quite happy to amuse ourselves, wandering around the grounds, admiring the pool, and doing the 3km loop trail (which took us through great rock formations and along the edge of a small stream to some rock art). Breakfast the following morning was a great affair, with a selection of cereals, fruit, and juices to chose from, along with hot items of your choosing.
There was no tv in the room, but this actually added to the atmosphere, rather than detracting from it. If you're in need of your daily fix, a tv is located in the bar area. Due to my desire to sleep in the outside area (which we were unable to do due to the cold front coming through), I corresponded with management several times over the course of making the booking and arriving, and they were awesome in their correspondence with me. All up, we really rated this place, the location, the food, and the service, and hope to return here when the in-laws come to visit!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TracyO07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The road is long and hard but that is what 4x4's are for , a wonderful get away you can’t beat the scenery both during the day and the stars at night, I have been all over this wonderful and beautiful country of ours, and am yet to find the peace I find each time I go to Kagga Kamma, put it on your bucket list, a must.

Room Tip: Chalet 10 what a view and close to the pool
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We unfortunately only had one night to stay at this wonderful camp, our biggest disappointment. Our stay was pretty much perfect in every way and can’t really make any complaints. From check-in the check-out we were very well looked after by the great staff.

The natural setting of the resort is fantastic, nestled in amongst weird and wild rock formations of the southern Cederberg mountains. The drive into the resort from Ceres, about 1 hour, is very scenic and increases in beauty as you approach the resort. The place is very much in tune with the natural surroundings, with many of the rooms (cave rooms) actually built into the rock formations and made to look like part of the landscape. The reception/restaurant/bar area comprises one building and is very tastefully decorated. The ambience inside is very cozy, especially with the open fireplaces in action (in winter). The pool area was really interesting – a small pool nestled amongst some cool sandstone pillars – very attractive. Too bad the water wasn’t hot, as it would’ve been a nice place to soak on a cool winter day.

We had a “cave” room which, as described above, was built to resemble a cave. From the outside it looks just like the surrounding sandstone cliffs and pillars. The inside is decorated to look like the inside of a cave, with lots of well-placed lighting giving it a nice ambience. A large plate glass sliding door lets in the afternoon sunlight and provides outstanding views of the sun setting over the Cederberg. The room is nicely decorated with high-quality fittings and with all the normal luxuries you’d expect in a resort room – really nice and comfortable, with a good AC/heater mounted on the wall. The shower was hot and felt extremely luxurious in this remote desert camp. The room was spotlessly clean and well-maintained. Needless to say, we had a wonderfully refreshing and undisturbed sleep as the full moon shone through the glass doors. The cave rooms are located only a short walk from the main facilities, maybe 100m at the most, so not far at all.

As for things to do, there is definitely no shortage. There are several nice hiking trails of differing lengths, tons of 4WD tracks, mountains biking trails, game viewing trails, etc. The resort rents out quad bikes as well if you want to get out and do some riding. Great trails for running or walking. The resort also offers opportunities for game drives – morning and evening. There are no predators around so it is safe to go out walking.

We were very impressed with the quality of the food at the restaurant. I ordered the chicken while my wife ordered the beef fillet. Both were excellent, as were all the starters and desserts. Likewise the breakfast, with eggs made to order, was mouthwatering delicious. The service was very attentive, prompt, friendly, and professional. After dinner we went into the bar and there were a few locals playing guitar and singing – quite a good evening, very enjoyable.

Overall we had a great stay at this resort. We would definitely recommend it to other travelers and we definitely plan to stay here again. Great stay and reasonably good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DanO68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The staff were really very attentive and friendly. It was the best part of the trip. The property is very interesting and beautiful but lacks décor. The cave rooms in winter are cold - and when you turn the air con onto heat you are left with humidity as opposed to warmth - i think a rug on the tiled floor would help. The quad biking was excellent and the star gazing tour is well worth the R80 p/p charged. The food was good but portions small and over priced for the standard. The special touches like the sparkling wine in the room, flower petals on the table were very special on my birthday. I would go back in the spring or autumn.

Room Tip: The cave room at the top is best for a view and pricacy
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fromCapetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The isolation and rugged beauty of the landscape is breathtaking. However the reserve is let down by the low quality of the accommodation facilities combined with enthusiastic but poorly trained staff. The cave rooms are interesting but lack the necessary finishing touches to make them truly special. The stunning scenery and rock formations make up for the low numbers of game in this arid region, meaning game drives are a must, however the standard of the guides seems below par. All in all, I wouldn't rush back to Kagga Kamma other than for the remote location and amazing scenery.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MatthewVass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews