We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Isolated splendour”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Kempton Park, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Isolated splendour”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We spent a week in one of the six sleeper timeshare units and loved the isolation, privacy and amazing scenery. The rock formations are awesome! The staff members are very friendly and professional and the ambience of the resort is great. We had an avo and shea butter massage at the spa which we will definitely recommend. The fact that there is no cell phone reception adds to the relaxation. If you need to get in contact with the outside world there is a free WiFi connection that can be used in the bar at the main building. Overall, the self-catering units are comfortable. One must take into account that the four star rating does not apply to the timeshare units, but to the resort's facilities and accomodation (caves and rondawels). The surroundings are so spectacular that this however has no impact on the enjoyment of the whole experience. Due to its isolation this is the ideal place to do stargazing. In addition, the sunrises and sunsets are awesome. We love this game reserve and will definitely return for a third time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laetitia_coetzee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    118
    59
    21
    20
See reviews for
66
219
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

What an awesome drive to Kagga Kamma. Quite a distance from Cape Town and if you are going in an ordinary sedan you will need to go slowly, but the Karoo landscape and rock formations are worth the drive. Stayed in one of the time share thatched roof chalets, which slept 6 people. The rooms and linen were clean and the kitchen was well equipped. An indoor fireplace and barbecue in the large lounge and dining room was a great place to gather and keep warm. At the back of the chalet was another open air barbecue area hidden amongst some large rock formations. Overall the decor and feel of the place was not four star, but then the magic and desolation of the place makes up for this. There are two awesome pool areas and a mini star gazing telescope. Game drives are an option, but we opted to take our 4x4's on one of the many routes available. The 4x4 routes are fairly tame but there are lots of animals to be seen, from zebra, gemsbok to puffadders. There are a variety of San rock paintings in the reserve which a close enough to hike to. No cell phone signal, but a WiFi signal is available in the reception area should you need to keep touch with the outside world. Power is supplied by a generator which operates from about 8 in the morning to 10 at night. If you looking for a Karoo experience with no distraction but the silence spend a weekend here, you won't regret it!,

Room Tip: Stay in one of the cave rooms, really novel and different!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Loved the 2 nights we stayed here, the trip to the reserve was long and bumpy but this only added to the wilderness experience. The trips around the reserve were cold but we were provided with blankets, the Rangers were knowledgeable and proud of their reserve. The lack of animals was more than made up by the magnificent country. The food was good and it was fun being without power when the generator was switched off in the evening and the candles were lit. Certainly worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doidgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, SA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Although there was a generator failure and power supply was erratic at best, we were generally very happy. Everyone was friendly, the guides knowledgeable and the setting could not get better. The facilities are not 5-star, but better than three so I guess the 4-star rating is fair. Note there is no cellphone reception - this was quite an adjustment but added to the quite ambience of the environment. There are free wi-fi though :)

Room Tip: The chalets seem to be better value than the caves or time share units. Ask them to check the gas of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VPK-CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Kagga Kamma in August 2012, the weather was quite windy and rainy but the lodge was superb. The food was of a high standard, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful and made our stay so much more pleasureable. The activities offered were interactive and enjoyable. If you are looking to break away and just have a pure relaxation away from technology and the every buzz this is pure isolation! Not to mention the unique accommodation which is absolutely beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We so enjoyed our half-price Groupon ~ complete with 3 meals and a choice of 2 activities per day ~ and, in spite of all the negative comments, we really loved our 2 night stay. The road was much better than we expected and Megan (reception) and Ari (ranger) were very welcoming and helpful after our 4 hour drive from Cape Town. We were delighted with our thatched hut which had obviously been refurbished. Although it was bitterly cold & rainy (and our air-conditioner registered 22 degrees) it was more like 8 degrees in the room but we were cosy and warm, after hot showers, and slept really well in firm, large beds ~ though we woke up with very cold noses!. However the view was wonderful and even in the rain it wasn't far to walk to the restuarant.

Yes, it was bitterly cold. Yes, it was rainy and windy and we couldn't go on a game drive, eat in the lapa, enjoy a sundowner on the escarpment or gaze at the stars. The last morning the pipes were frozen so we couldn't shower and the food, although filling and plentiful, was bland and not 4* standard. We would have loved to be able to try the Karoo lamb stew but sadly that was only for the weekend so we missed out ~ but I enjoyed an excellent Ostrich fillet.

We didn't expect to be entertained so brought books, music, and playing cards. A complete change, some rest and relaxation was what we were after and we had it all. After ordering some tea we sat in the lounge in front of a toasty, crackling fire, watched a bit of cricket on the TV and chatted to other guests. It was apparent, though, that we had made a good choice in NOT trying one of the cave rooms. Hopefully something will be done about these. Perhaps they really are NOT winter rooms?

We were the only two to brave a 10am drive in the open vehicle to see the Bushman paintings but, in spite of bitterly cold winds and sleet, Ruan kept us entertained and answered ALL of my questions with a cheerful ease. We even saw a lonely young female Blue Wildebeest ~ and I now know the difference between the Blue and the Black!

Johann & Pam (bar) and Claudine and Pedro (restaurant) were very friendly and helpful and the small problem we had with a faulty bath plug was quickly sorted out ~ even though we only discovered the problem after dinner.

Our only suggestions to the management:
* Re-think the menu ~ less choice but a different one each night. Pay more attention to presentation, variety and colour ~ not the same bland boiled potatoes. Some crunchy green beans, roast butternut or a colourful stirfry would be great!?
* Replace the dining room curtains with some cheerful ones ~ the colour of the bed spreads?
* Re-frame and re-hang the pictures ~ or get a few new ones
* If you can do a personal welcoming letter (we loved that) why not an activities list (instead of the photocopied scrap stapled to the Information Pack?

The drive back to Cape Town was amazing as the sun came out and we could appreciate the views, took lots of photos of the snow and even saw some wild flowers! Thanks to everyone at Kagga Kamma.

Room Tip: Choose a thatched hut ~ 1 to 5 ~ very nicely refurbished, closer to the restaurant, fantastic views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MellyT46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We chose to stay in a hut rather than the "cave" accommodation, and it was the correct choice. The huts are cozy, with just enough luxury but not over the top for the beautiful natural surroundings. The food was super and the 4 km walk we did was absolutely beautiful. Our meals were great. The are staff unsophisticated, but warm and friendly. The conservation guide, Wessel, is passionate about the surroundings, and we loved sharing time with him.

Room Tip: We liked the huts - the "caves" are smaller and have tiled floors, which in the extremely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve

Property: Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve
Address: Off R303 | Southern Cederberg Mountains, Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve 6836, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kagga Kamma is an absolute treat for travellers seeking a unique and inspiring experience. On your visit you will see a part of Africa that is unlike any other. The Cederberg Mountain’s otherworldly rock formations, a crisp sky stretching endlessly overhead and beautiful rock art from an ancient culture, is the backdrop to a wonderful adventure. Kagga Kamma’s accommodation options are as unique as the landscape it is set in. The Bushman Lodge offers spacious en-suite thatched rondavels/huts. The famous 'cave suites' built against the sandstone rock formations will take you back to a prehistoric time without taking away any modern-day luxuries. Kagga Kamma also offers a one of a kind Outcrop open-air “room” where guests can sleep under the stars in sheer luxury - definitely a not-to-be-missed experience.Speaking of the stars...Take a tour into the milky way when you visit our mini-observatory. It promises to be an inspirational experience when you view the Karoo night skies through our 10-inch telescope. While the sun is out you can opt for a journey back in time with our popular rock art tours. Our expert ranger will interpret the 6000 year old Bushmen paintings and living sites scattered all across the nature reserve.Other activities to be enjoyed at Kagga Kamma include relaxing nature drives with our knowledgeable guides, hiking trails, quad bike safaris, mountain bike trails, a 4x4 route and our Kagga Kamma Relax Spa. Even eating out at Kagga Kamma will be a matchless experience when you visit the restaurant for breakfast and lunch, and an outdoor lapa surrounded by beautiful rock formations for dinner under the starlit night skies in summer time. There is also a pub and lounge area with Wi-Fi internet, as well as satellite television for watching sports events. GPS co-ordinates:Latitude: S 32 44 45Longitude: E 19 33 46 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve Hotel Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing