We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (482)
Filter reviews
482 results
Traveler rating
227
146
63
26
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
227
146
63
26
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskagga kammagravel roadgame drivesrock formationscape townbushman paintingscave roomget awayhiking trailslong driveself cateringquad bikingunique experiencenature reservesunset driveour honeymoonair conditioner
Filter
Updating list...
382 - 387 of 482 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We so enjoyed our half-price Groupon ~ complete with 3 meals and a choice of 2 activities per day ~ and, in spite of all the negative comments, we really loved our 2 night stay. The road was much better than we expected and Megan (reception) and Ari (ranger) were very welcoming and helpful after our 4 hour drive from Cape Town. We were delighted with our thatched hut which had obviously been refurbished. Although it was bitterly cold & rainy (and our air-conditioner registered 22 degrees) it was more like 8 degrees in the room but we were cosy and warm, after hot showers, and slept really well in firm, large beds ~ though we woke up with very cold noses!. However the view was wonderful and even in the rain it wasn't far to walk to the restuarant.

Yes, it was bitterly cold. Yes, it was rainy and windy and we couldn't go on a game drive, eat in the lapa, enjoy a sundowner on the escarpment or gaze at the stars. The last morning the pipes were frozen so we couldn't shower and the food, although filling and plentiful, was bland and not 4* standard. We would have loved to be able to try the Karoo lamb stew but sadly that was only for the weekend so we missed out ~ but I enjoyed an excellent Ostrich fillet.

We didn't expect to be entertained so brought books, music, and playing cards. A complete change, some rest and relaxation was what we were after and we had it all. After ordering some tea we sat in the lounge in front of a toasty, crackling fire, watched a bit of cricket on the TV and chatted to other guests. It was apparent, though, that we had made a good choice in NOT trying one of the cave rooms. Hopefully something will be done about these. Perhaps they really are NOT winter rooms?

We were the only two to brave a 10am drive in the open vehicle to see the Bushman paintings but, in spite of bitterly cold winds and sleet, Ruan kept us entertained and answered ALL of my questions with a cheerful ease. We even saw a lonely young female Blue Wildebeest ~ and I now know the difference between the Blue and the Black!

Johann & Pam (bar) and Claudine and Pedro (restaurant) were very friendly and helpful and the small problem we had with a faulty bath plug was quickly sorted out ~ even though we only discovered the problem after dinner.

Our only suggestions to the management:
* Re-think the menu ~ less choice but a different one each night. Pay more attention to presentation, variety and colour ~ not the same bland boiled potatoes. Some crunchy green beans, roast butternut or a colourful stirfry would be great!?
* Replace the dining room curtains with some cheerful ones ~ the colour of the bed spreads?
* Re-frame and re-hang the pictures ~ or get a few new ones
* If you can do a personal welcoming letter (we loved that) why not an activities list (instead of the photocopied scrap stapled to the Information Pack?

The drive back to Cape Town was amazing as the sun came out and we could appreciate the views, took lots of photos of the snow and even saw some wild flowers! Thanks to everyone at Kagga Kamma.

Room Tip: Choose a thatched hut ~ 1 to 5 ~ very nicely refurbished, closer to the restaurant, fantastic views and very private
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MellyT46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We chose to stay in a hut rather than the "cave" accommodation, and it was the correct choice. The huts are cozy, with just enough luxury but not over the top for the beautiful natural surroundings. The food was super and the 4 km walk we did was absolutely beautiful. Our meals were great. The are staff unsophisticated, but warm and friendly. The conservation guide, Wessel, is passionate about the surroundings, and we loved sharing time with him.

Room Tip: We liked the huts - the "caves" are smaller and have tiled floors, which in the extremely cold night time temperatures, would have been less comfortable, for sure.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I recently stayed at the Time-share chalets at Kagga Kamma, it was definitely the worst chalets ever. The chalets are undergoing an "upgrade" but it certainly did not seem that way.
When we arrived, half the lights were not working (blubs broken) so it seems that no-one bothered to check the chalet before our arrival. It was a very cold weekend, and the poor workmanship of the window and door fitting was evident: rain and wind was pouring through the gaps on several windows & doors. The roof was leaking in 3 places (bedroom & lounge), causing huge puddles of water on the floor. The sink in the bathroom wouldnt drain, we had to brush our teeth in the kitchen. The gas water heater for shower is either a poor quality or not properly installed, because the water becomes scolding hot and when its turned down to a bearable temperature, it switches off. The upholstery is old and tired, the bedding dusty and certainly not warm enough.

We escaped to the reception, where there is no proper lounge, only a small restaurant and a bar. Neither of which offered enough seating for the 4 families hiding from the bad weather. The staff made no extra effort to accommodate the guests seeing as no-one could enjoy the outside: no tea or coffee was offered, only 2 board games were available and there were several bored kids, no additional therapists at the spa (which was booked out within minutes).
I didn't see the other accommodation options, but the reception and chalets definitely do not deserve 4 stars! There is no attention to detail whatsoever. And if you are caught by bad weather, there is nothing else to do.

Room Tip: Do not stay at the chalets during winter, the doors and windows let rain & wind in and it will be freezing!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lady134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We had a Groupon half pice deal, which is good value for money. If we had paid the full price I would've been bitterly dissapointed. Located in the Cederberg, the setting is truly perfect. The views are magnificent and the stillness of the environment is absolutely wonderful! The lodge however looks very tired and old. I can't imagine anything has been done to the interior decorating for the past 10 years. The upholstery, curtains, bedcovers, all old. The bathroom floor flooded with every shower. Attention to detail lacks, almost all the pictures on the diningroom wall are hanging skew. The food was very good, although not really 4 star and the staff is very friendly.

Room Tip: We stayed in a thatched room, according to other guests who stayed in the caves, it was unbearably cold!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Salomine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I've never taken the opportunity of staying away from the city and completely in mother nature. I decided to book myself and my partner at Kagga Kamma as a birthday treat for him. We were blown away by the establishment. The room and various facilities are truly amazing and top-notch. Its truly value for money. We stayed at the no 1 hut and on sun morning had no running water as we found out our water pipes are above the ground which caused the water to freeze. Even that did not deter our feelings towards the establishment. Being completely away from civilisation, being in the middle of nowhere is an experience everyone should do and Kagga Kamma is definitely the place to do it!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mueez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews