We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite what we expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We had a Groupon half pice deal, which is good value for money. If we had paid the full price I would've been bitterly dissapointed. Located in the Cederberg, the setting is truly perfect. The views are magnificent and the stillness of the environment is absolutely wonderful! The lodge however looks very tired and old. I can't imagine anything has been done to the interior decorating for the past 10 years. The upholstery, curtains, bedcovers, all old. The bathroom floor flooded with every shower. Attention to detail lacks, almost all the pictures on the diningroom wall are hanging skew. The food was very good, although not really 4 star and the staff is very friendly.

Room Tip: We stayed in a thatched room, according to other guests who stayed in the caves, it was unbearably c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Salomine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 408 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2012

I've never taken the opportunity of staying away from the city and completely in mother nature. I decided to book myself and my partner at Kagga Kamma as a birthday treat for him. We were blown away by the establishment. The room and various facilities are truly amazing and top-notch. Its truly value for money. We stayed at the no 1 hut and on sun morning had no running water as we found out our water pipes are above the ground which caused the water to freeze. Even that did not deter our feelings towards the establishment. Being completely away from civilisation, being in the middle of nowhere is an experience everyone should do and Kagga Kamma is definitely the place to do it!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mueez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Great experience away from the hussle and bussle of city life. Surrounded by nature. Beautiful views. Good food. Friendly staff.

Very hot in January.

Be prepared for a long drive from Cape Town. Also dirt road, in some areas, which obviously slows you down.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank explorer786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We had the Groupon half price deal so maybe the fact that we paid half price & had an all inclusive deal, we were able to enjoy our stay without 'watching our pennies'.

From the time we arrived at Reception, all the staff we encountered at the Lodge were all very friendly & very helpful. Our guide, Ari was very friendly & accommodating & even went so far as to show our children his private pet snakes.
We found all the meals really lovely & can't complain about the food at all.

I do agree with some of the reviews in that the facilities do maybe need a bit of a facelift as the lodge is starting to look a little tired. The beds were very comfortable but the facilities are a little outdated. Both our bathrooms flooded while having a shower.

The surroundings are beautiful & the setting is really lovely but would agree that maybe adding TVs to the rooms would be a good idea. Or, a few more activities for families (a games rooms with pool table, etc)

Overall though, we had a really good stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charmtony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

What a terrible shame! Such amazing surroundings but oh dear NOT a 4 star lodge by ANY standard. It is really not worth the terrible gravel road trip. Its expensive considering the lodge is very old and tired. Some units have been upgraded but even that is not 4 star. The food is absolute terrible and because of location you are obliged to have all meals at lodge. The lounge is simply disgusting. Cold tiled floors, VERY old uncomfortable shabby furniture and only 1 TV for enitre lodge to share. I was very upset that on top of the already high price we had to pay 50% of the roomrate for my 7 yr old son that shared the room with us. This is not industry standard and not acceptale. We visited in the middle of winter and because of power issues were told halfway through our weekend that we are not allowed to use the room heating! In fact all remotes were removed from the rooms!!! Just not ok. There is NO way I will be back and I cannot stress it strongly enough that is place is not up to standard. Mediocre to terrible expensive game drives where you get to see 1 maybe 2 buck. There are beautiful other lodges/ game fams in the area I can much rather recommend.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank JolizeSheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We got a half price Groupon deal and would have not been too happy to pay the full price. Accommodation is comfortable but outdated- we were in the cave rooms. Electricity is out at 11pm which is not ideal but understandable given the fact they need to run generators. It is rated as a 4 star but in my experience comparable to 3 star accommodation offered throughout South Africa. Beautiful location. The drive the to 2nd biggest canyon is amazing. We would consider going back if the accommodation is upgraded and they add additional facilities in the rooms (wifi, satellite tv for example, to unwind). They seemed a bit rigid 'you must book for breakfast / supper' but friendly and accommodating. I would say a fair to good experience but not overwhelmingly excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldlyAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

We should have been forewarned by the concessionary rates offered by this resort; clearly, the owners are not able to fill the resort at full rates, the reasons for which became apparent during our visit. The location is amazing and is reached by dirt roads, which we found to be in very good condition. We were put in one of the resorts “cave” rooms; these are not “caves” at all, but man made structures. Once we had got over our delight over the location, unfortunately most other things were downhill ; specifically :-

• The room was very small and was in dire need of refurbishment
• The whole of the front wall of the room comprised a sliding glass door; however, this door had to be kept closed and the curtains drawn in order to maintain any degree of privacy
• The bathroom was very dated and flooded each time one took a shower
• The “caves” were quite distant from the dining facility, which one had to use for all food and drink
• Food and drink not priced; you only find out the price when you are presented with a bill on leaving
• The “braai” around the “Boma” was very poor. Poorly lit, very smokey and the meat was inedible due to being excessively fatty, tough and over cooked
• Would not tell us the location of Bushman paintings as they want to take us there themselves, in their own transport, and charge us for the service
• Marked walking trails are not at all well marked and I got lost on both of them
• The waiting staff were most obliging but the receptionist, barman and rangers were offhand
• The “souvenir” shop was next to useless

Finally, management, as one of their selling points, offer all sorts of massages and pampering for the ladies. However, needless to say, these were not available during our 2 day visit.

All in all we were most disappointed with our stay. With a refurbishment, and a lot better management, this venue could provide the visitor with a memorable experience

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve

Address: Off R303 | Southern Cederberg Mountains, Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve 6836, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve
Price Range: $249 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kagga Kamma is an absolute treat for travellers seeking a unique and inspiring experience. On your visit you will see a part of Africa that is unlike any other. The Cederberg Mountain’s otherworldly rock formations, a crisp sky stretching endlessly overhead and beautiful rock art from an ancient culture, is the backdrop to a wonderful adventure. Kagga Kamma’s accommodation options are as unique as the landscape it is set in. The Bushman Lodge offers spacious en-suite thatched rondavels/huts. The famous 'cave suites' built against the sandstone rock formations will take you back to a prehistoric time without taking away any modern-day luxuries. Kagga Kamma also offers a one of a kind Outcrop open-air “room” where guests can sleep under the stars in sheer luxury - definitely a not-to-be-missed experience.Speaking of the stars...Take a tour into the milky way when you visit our mini-observatory. It promises to be an inspirational experience when you view the Karoo night skies through our 10-inch telescope. While the sun is out you can opt for a journey back in time with our popular rock art tours. Our expert ranger will interpret the 6000 year old Bushmen paintings and living sites scattered all across the nature reserve.Other activities to be enjoyed at Kagga Kamma include relaxing nature drives with our knowledgeable guides, hiking trails, quad bike safaris, mountain bike trails, a 4x4 route and our Kagga Kamma Relax Spa. Even eating out at Kagga Kamma will be a matchless experience when you visit the restaurant for breakfast and lunch, and an outdoor lapa surrounded by beautiful rock formations for dinner under the starlit night skies in summer time. There is also a pub and lounge area with Wi-Fi internet, as well as satellite television for watching sports events. GPS co-ordinates:Latitude: S 32 44 45Longitude: E 19 33 46 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve Hotel Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing