We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (487)
Filter reviews
487 results
Traveler rating
229
149
63
26
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
229
149
63
26
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kagga kamma gravel road game drives rock formations cape town bushman paintings cave room get away hiking trails long drive self catering quad biking wonderful experience nature reserve sunset drive our honeymoon air conditioner
Filter
Updating list...
406 - 411 of 487 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We knew that we wanted this exact holiday. No telephones, no TVs, and we were not disappointed!. The time share units were also as we understood them to be - in need of renovation, but this is planned for March 2012. The lodge part seemed very pricey but we were not impacted by that at all. Pool was very clean and this was important to us. There is NOTHING much to do for children except swim, but we were geared for that. We found the road OK for our sedan - but again we researched this and we had been up to Katbakkies pass before so we knew what to expect.

Room Tip: Units near to the pool would be good if you have older children who you did not need to accompany them.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arumlillies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Traveled via Citrusdal and the beautiful Middelberg Pass. Gravel roads are part of our heritage and we will have lost something when they are all replaced by ugly tar! Service was good and Cave 7 was cleaned every day. Some one complained about the time to fill a bath. The bath rooms (at the caves anyway) do need upgrading. Replace the baths with a good shower and tick that complaint. The air conditioner was noisey. Thank goodness it was turned off during the night. If you don't like the heat of summer, and it gets very hot here, rather visit in between autumn to spring. Food was excellent! All of the staff were very pleasant and eager to deliver good service. The waitresses Claudine and Lize spring to mind, but all were great! The setting is absolutely magical. A lot of thought must have gone into making the buildings blend into the landscape. Well done! The rock formations out of this world! We were lucky to have a thunder storm that created wonderful lighting effects at sunset. The game drive was excellent! As well as seeing animals the veld was very interesting, as were the views of the Kouebokkeveld and Cederberg mountains. Our guide, Wessel was excellent and patiently gave us explanations to our questions. His interpretation and knowledge was much appreciated. All in all, costly, but a great experience.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

We recently took our grandchild to Kagga Kamma for a 2 day getaway. First mistake was to take to heart the introduction of "a good gravel road" and attempt it in a saloon car, the road is not good at all and the gravel bit took 1 hour to complete.
The air condition units were very poor and acted more as fans which made life rather uncomfortable.
The activities are somewhat limited to short and uninspiring gamedrives, a pool to relieve the heat and a pub.
At the price we really expected more.

The 1 thing which stood out was the service we got from the manager gentleman.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher3640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Get there by 4x4 and the journey wont be considered a bit of a nightmare. If you decide to stop over in Cape Town and want to escape the city Kagga Kamma presents a remote, desolate space to reflect. Dark Karoo skies and twinkly stars will force you to realise that there is much more to life than daily routine. There are numerous hiking trails a must. Try and find some ancient bushmen art - a bit of a struggle and just take in all the surrounds has to offer. You you not a bush person this maybe a bit of a shock to the system as you will be rationed with electricity as they have lights out after 11 and the showers aren't the greatest. But if peace and quiet is what you want then Kagga Kamma deserve a definite consideratio. The pool pretty cold and the karoo get cold at night depending on the time of the year.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elton B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

Getting to Kagga Kamma was surprisingly difficult. The first section of our journey, which began in Cape Town, was on an immaculately maintained tarred surface. We passed through some fairly pretty areas, though by South African standards, nothing remarkable. Much of the area between Cape Town and Kagga Kamma is under commercial cultivation. The final portion of the trip featured a number of small, local gravel roads. The quality of these roads varied tremendously. Towards the end of our journey, we wondered whether we would ever arrive. When we arrived, we were disappointed with the welcome we received. It felt like we were checking into a caravan park, rather than a 4 star luxury lodge. Having said that, we were very impressed with the beauty of the lodge's surroundings. On the other hand, we were very disappointed indeed by the poor quality of the accommodation. Our 'cave' was, by South African standards, very small and poorly decorated. After checking in we discovered that we would be sharing our room with some of the local rodents. My business partner assured me that these are very tiny and cute and more interested in consuming our chocolate supplies than crawling into my bed. Nonetheless, I wish I had been forewarned by the lodge's management. Our bath took forever to fill. The complimentary shower/bath supplies were fantastic! The evening of our stay was very chilly and there was no heating in the room. Our dinner was very simple and pleasant enough, without being memorable.

The biggest problem with Kagga Kamma is that that the facilities on offer simply do not come anywhere near justifying the prices being levied. The lodge reminded me of the many, many family oriented holiday spots which are dotted around the Eastern half of South Africa, except these people are charging 300% more for their rooms. We were fortunate indeed to be paying the reduced Winter rates. No doubt, by European standards, this establishment offers fairly good value. The difficulty is, when traveling in a country like South Africa, which offers as much as it does, for as little a it does, it is wise to apply considerably higher standards when choosing where to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews