We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place with great people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Bergamo, Italy
Level Contributor
106 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great place with great people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2011

We just had a wonderfull time at Kagga Kamma not only because of the unique location, the cave room design but also for some of the nicest staff we met during a stay in a hotel (and we travel a lot). It started with a champagne cocktail, followed by helpfull staff considering we had a small baby and we were given a great room with such a nice view, finally diner was served below the stars around a boma (fire). From the reservation lady to the reception staff, restaurant waiters and barman, the manager an everybody was so nice. We can only recommend that you go to Kagga Kamma lodge if you are in the Cederberg area.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Axeletsharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    110
    58
    21
    19
See reviews for
60
201
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2011

Overall, we enjoyed the stay at KK. There really is a sense of isolation which is rather special - the only thing is, it also presents a challenge for this kind of facility, one which the management have not been entirely able to meet!

The drive from Cape Town passes through some very beautiful countryside. The last section on the dirt track was OK in our little hired Nissan, though a few more signs along the way would have helped to reassure us that we were on the right track.

We found the rangers knowledgable and helpful - enjoyed seeing the wall paintings and the astrology. The pool was fine for a quick splash. Its certainly true that in such an area, the density of animals is not great, but you appreciate them when you see them and if you keep your eyes open, you can see some great birds, geckos, insects etc too. I did a wonderful early morning hike down to a local gorge - beautiful light, real isolation.

Only downside was that staff seem a bit demotivated and the food was very "school dinner" style. Pity that there was not a bit more of an effort to do something for Christmas Day.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregory9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2011

Spent 5 nights here in the chalets and it was so peaceful, couple of drives - where we saw Zebra, Eland, spring boks, did a walk a day - several trails, lovely pool, beautiful rock formations. Ate outside by the fire twice in the evening - food was great . We cooked ourselves in the chalet the other days.
Chalets are spacious, but maybe could do with a tidy up (ie. better shower, kitchen cupboards, linen) (as in other reviews) - but we were fine with them.

Staff were fantastic especially Marissa at reception and the evening staff. The drive up there is through wonderful scenery and c. 40km off main road (35km + 4km once inside the reserve). Then the peace and quiet begins - wonderful relaxing break for myself and my parents.

There is a small spa on site as well.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SNCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2011

Before our departure, I popped in here to read some reviews. The most recent one was of course super negative and I was really worried that driving all the way down from Gauteng (more than 1 000kms) might all be for nothing!

I am happy to report that it was worth every minute!! We stayed in the time-share chalets and was lucky enough to get a unit right at the end, with a great view. With it being out of season, we really felt extra secluded. About the time share units: yes they are dated and in dire need of a total revamp (modernization), but if you overlook the superficial appearances, everything was in complete working order, the place is spacious and we were very comfortable. They even supplied us with an huge basket of free wood for the fireplace and a gas heater (also free of charge). We were in one of the big 3 bedroom units with 2 bathrooms but because we were 4 people we didn’t get in each other’s way. Beds were uncomfortable. The stoep does lack a cover but perhaps the time of year meant that it was never really open to the blazing sun, the house itself always cast a big enough shadow. The hot water was super boiling hot. Fireplace didn’t smoke more than any other fireplace and was set up in such a way that you could have an indoor, out of the wind braai! Which we indulged in a few times.

As for the “four pages of rules” - one was just the inventory, one was a list of what things cost if you break it, one was probably what you would call rules and regulations and the last was about the dishes (house cleaning does not include your dishes, you have to pay extra). This was totally standard for any self-catering spots I’ve been to in SA.

I would def recommend that you take your own 4x4 vehicle. The freedom to drive around in your own time and leisure is a plus. There really are many many bushmen paintings, and only some of the spots are actually marked with signs. There are so many others that you can “discover” for yourself! Of course no touching allowed and we also took care not to damage the fynbos. What a privilege to see these bushmen paintings all over, without fences spanned around them! I hope all guests will have respect and that it will remain fence-free.

I don’t imagine being there in the height of summer is that much fun, I’m sure it becomes unbearably hot which means spending less times outdoors, and that’s what we loved the most - going on walks, amongst amazing rock formations, finding tracks of jackal in the sand, discovering minute succulents in flower, rushing out at dawn to capture some amazing pictures. The pool looked inviting but was of course too cold for this time of year. We had a super chilly wind blowing most of the time but we just ignored it, the sky was such a super crisp clean clear blue it was impossible to just sit inside.

We saw a lot of game (animals). Gemsbok (oryx), Eland, bontebok, white tailed Gnu (swartwildebeest), hares, tortoise, duiker, zebra, springbuck, rooi hartebeest, colourful lizards, dassies and numerous birdlife. The large game is generally very shy except for the bontebok. We swept the sand at night around our house to see the new tracks in the morning. This place is teeming with life, but dont expect to see it around midday. Late afternoon drives will be the most rewarding.

We took with so much reading material and hardly touched it. We were always busy exploring and missioning around and looking to discover plants or animals.

I cant comment on the rooms or rondavels, or eating at the restaurant. the location is super remote so providing fresh produce must be a challenge. We enjoyed the bar, and we had some nice sunset drinks on the hill behind the bar (nice stairs leading to the top). the staff were mostly friendly and professional. Free wi-fi in the lounge was a bonus. Booked some star-gazing (on the hill behind the lounge) and saw jupiter and two of its moons.

I would not recommend this place to people that are not true nature lovers - if you like walking and exploring on foot, or self-drive 4x4, this is for you. the scenery was spectacular, the rock formations quite something and of course more fun if you get up close and personal. It is not your typical african bush experience considering that its in the koue bokkeveld and not limpopo. But what makes it so much better than lets say the kruger park is complete freedom - you are not limited to your house/camp/vehicle and if you dont like guided tours you can explore on your own.

Beauty treatments were reasonably priced, so was the star-gazing. Quad bikes felt too expensive. No idea about restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeanine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2011

Way way overpriced. Beautiful setting, but stingy managers. For a game drive we were not able to have a gin and tonic. Food terrible and also of cheap quality. Service swak - very very slow. All round a bit clueless, which is fine if you bill yourself as and charge at 2 or 3 star rates, but not if you are claiming and charging for luxury. Definitely not suitable for kids.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank holidayharry3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2010

A peaceful place where mankind was born still feels like a kind and beautiful motherland. the huts are top, the staff is excellent and provides interesting tours. the presents of all kinds of animals and the rich history of the San make a stay at Kagga Kamma a joy for ever.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marlies37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2010

Myself, my husband and youngest daughter were there 13 years ago and I think things were still pretty new then, this time the challet looked a little grubby and in need of a face lift - eg: the shower curtain was a little black with mildew and the grouting in the kitchen was cracked and broken, drawers opened and closed with difficulty, cuttlery tray grubby, knives blunt. We also experienced a gas leak in the kitchen which left us all feeling quite stuffy nosed. But having said this - we still had a wonderful weekend and the state of the accommodation is not high on our priority list - but it may be for other visitors

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jallison_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve

Property: Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve
Address: Off R303 | Southern Cederberg Mountains, Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve 6836, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kagga Kamma is an absolute treat for travellers seeking a unique and inspiring experience. On your visit you will see a part of Africa that is unlike any other. The Cederberg Mountain’s otherworldly rock formations, a crisp sky stretching endlessly overhead and beautiful rock art from an ancient culture, is the backdrop to a wonderful adventure. Kagga Kamma’s accommodation options are as unique as the landscape it is set in. The Bushman Lodge offers spacious en-suite thatched rondavels/huts. The famous 'cave suites' built against the sandstone rock formations will take you back to a prehistoric time without taking away any modern-day luxuries. Kagga Kamma also offers a one of a kind Outcrop open-air “room” where guests can sleep under the stars in sheer luxury - definitely a not-to-be-missed experience.Speaking of the stars...Take a tour into the milky way when you visit our mini-observatory. It promises to be an inspirational experience when you view the Karoo night skies through our 10-inch telescope. While the sun is out you can opt for a journey back in time with our popular rock art tours. Our expert ranger will interpret the 6000 year old Bushmen paintings and living sites scattered all across the nature reserve.Other activities to be enjoyed at Kagga Kamma include relaxing nature drives with our knowledgeable guides, hiking trails, quad bike safaris, mountain bike trails, a 4x4 route and our Kagga Kamma Relax Spa. Even eating out at Kagga Kamma will be a matchless experience when you visit the restaurant for breakfast and lunch, and an outdoor lapa surrounded by beautiful rock formations for dinner under the starlit night skies in summer time. There is also a pub and lounge area with Wi-Fi internet, as well as satellite television for watching sports events. GPS co-ordinates:Latitude: S 32 44 45Longitude: E 19 33 46 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve Hotel Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing