We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice building, people need training. Slow and surley”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Huntingdon Route 22/Raystown Lake
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Huntingdon
Certificate of Excellence
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Nice building, people need training. Slow and surley”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Marriott platinum premier, so stay at a lot of Marriotts. Checked in early evening. Three people in line. Elderly man behind counter who liked to chat. And chat....

It took him 35 min to check in the three in front of me. Chatted about an amusement park to one gentleman with his college son (moving into Penn State) - Finally he told him to just give him the key. We got there and someone came down for towels and he said he was going take 5 minutes to get them towels. We had had 10 hour drive and said since we were waiting to get us our room. His reply "oh you are one of those"

Would never stay here again. Lots of other hotels in the area

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ffisshaner, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Huntingdon Route 22/Raystown Lake, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
I am sorry that you had a long time of a check in at this property. We take pride in making sure that all assoiciates at the hotel give guest a special welcome to our property and maintaining the standards for all customers satisfaction. I hope that you will give us another chance to show to our Spirt to Serve our Customers. Please feel free to contact me at 814-643-3672 if you would like to speak to me further details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    48
    11
    1
    3
See reviews for
71
31
7
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Chester
Level Contributor
313 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

This is a nice hotel in a nice location. Front desk and lobby area is upscale, as is the AM breakfast. Rooms are small, but very comfortable. Bathroom is clean with modern amenities. It would only take a few changes to make this hotel excellent.

The AC unit turned on & off; when it was off the noise from the road, elevator and ice machine invaded the room. A constant-speed fan would make the room seem very quiet because the hotel is in a quiet area. Coffee condiments are all powdered, and the packet does not offer a stirrer; had to use the pen in the room for that. The desk does not offer enough space and does not have enough electric outlets. Had to unplug something to plug-in the coffee maker. Also had to move the phone from the desk to make room.

If the Fairfield could deal with these items, it would be an excellent place. But, the other hotels in Huntingdon have dealt with these and are much quieter as a result.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevator and ice machine; these are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAMan804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ffisshaner, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Huntingdon Route 22/Raystown Lake, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
We want to thank you for staying at our hotel during August 2012. We love to hear all the items that guests love about our hotel and items that we can improve on. We have looked into all aspects of the review that you have posted and made sure that other guests do not have these problems as well. We hope when you come back into the area, you stay with us to see these improvements. If you would like to speak more about the stay in August 2012, you can reach me at 814-643-3672 during normal business hours. Again, thank you for letting us know these areas we need to improve on and have a great summer.

Melissa Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown PA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Just got back from a weekend stay at this hotel and it was very nice and a super clean hotel. It is only a little over a year old and it was great. We had a king suite and it had a nice little sitting area with a sofa, chair, desk, and a nice flat screen tv. There was also a mini refrigerator and a coffee maker and micro wave. The bed was in a seperate room from the sitting area also with a flat screen tv which made it very nice. The bathroom was very big and very clean. They also had free breakfast every morning with cereals, eggs, ect. almost everything you could think of they had it(was very good). It was only about a 25-30min. drive to seven points lake and Raystown Resort which we did both and had a good time. One last thing I have to mention the staff at the front desk were very friendly and made sure you had everything you needed to enjoy your stay there, and the nice lady in the breakfast area was great! We will stay here again and would recommend this great hotel to everyone!

Room Tip: The suites seem to be a little bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeDeeDowningtownPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ffisshaner, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Huntingdon Route 22/Raystown Lake, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
We love to read reviews like this and are glad to hear that you are very happy with the stay with the Fairfield Inn and Suites Huntingdon, PA. I love to see that the staff is taking our "spirt to serve" to heart and making the stay a memorable one.

Melissa Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at the Fairfield Inn on the drive back to Pittsburgh from Middleburg. We were looking for a Marriott property in State College but there was nothing available so we decided to drive through Huntingdon. Although it was somewhat difficult to locate on a Garmin, it was an attractive and clean property with a friendly staff. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chasg123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ffisshaner, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Huntingdon Route 22/Raystown Lake, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for all the kind words you placed on trip advisor about our property here in Huntingdon, PA. We are working to get the address update as soon as possible so that future guests are not having the difficulty to locate our hotel.

Melissa Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Your hotel has some of the friendliest curtiest staff. We were greeted each time upon entering the inn with a hello and to see if we were enjoying our stay. Our first night (7/30) employee Carol was so helpful with suggestions and coupons. The inn was impeccably clean. The honesty of your staff should be commended as well. Our 2nd day we left the room for breakfast leaving a substantial amount of money on the dresser. When we returned our beds were made and towels replaced and all the money untouched. How refreshing to know we could trust your employees. Head housekeeper, Virginia, said our maid was Tam. She should be commended for her honesty. The general manager was also very kind and helpful. Again, it was a pleasure staying at Fairfield Inn.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoobette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ffisshaner, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Huntingdon Route 22/Raystown Lake, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
When reading this review, I am very happy to hear that you feel so comfortable that you place that much trust in my staff to know that the money in the room was untouched but the room was still clean. Please remember next time you visit our hotel that we do have safety deposit boxes for free of charge at the desk if you should need them. We take great pride in this hotel to make sure that all guest feel the way that you do, safe, comfortable and trusting to be able to leave items in the rooms. We are glad you had such a great stay and stop by the desk anytime to say hi to our staff or our housekeepers when you stay with us again.

Melissa Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
129 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

Around a year old, like new. Friendly staff, Kelli was very friendly and helpful. Gave us good suggestions for dining. For boating enthusiasts, it is the nearest hotel to two launch ares.

Also within about 30 minutes of State College.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bille3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ffisshaner, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Huntingdon Route 22/Raystown Lake, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for the kind words on Front Desk Staff member Kelli. She enjoys seeing her name on tripadvisor and what a great job she did for all suggestions within Huntingdon/Raystown Lake area. We appricate that you stayed in our hotel and hope if you are in the area again, you stop by to say hi and stay a while.

Melissa Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

We attended a family reunion at Raystown Lake and were very happy to have this choice for our weekend. A brand new hotel with a great breakfast. The king suite was perfect. The staff was helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntingdon
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Huntingdon
Comfort Inn Huntingdon
#2 of 4 in Huntingdon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.5 mi away
Huntingdon Motor Inn
Huntingdon Motor Inn
#3 of 4 in Huntingdon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
18.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Altoona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#18 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
16.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Altoona
Comfort Suites Altoona
#2 of 15 in Altoona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
24.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Huntingdon Route 22/Raystown Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Huntingdon Route 22/Raystown Lake

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Huntingdon Route 22/Raystown Lake
Address: 9970 Shaner Blvd, Huntingdon, PA 16652-6955 (Formerly Fairfield Inn & Suites Huntingdon Raystown Lake)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Huntingdon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Huntingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Huntingdon Route 22/Raystown Lake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield Inn & Suites in Huntingdon, PA is just minutes from all the exciting and fun-filled outdoor attractions that Raystown Lake has to offer. This Raystown Lake hotel includes complimentary breakfast, fitness center, indoor pool, business center, and free high-speed internet access. We offer rooms with one king bed, two double beds, studio and suites with sofa beds, microwave, and mini-fridge. All of our rooms come standard with two phones and 32-inch LCD TV’s to provide you with all the comforts of home. Your comfort and satisfaction are top priorities of the staff at the Raystown Lake Huntingdon Fairfield Inn & Suites, so it is no surprise that the hotel has many features and amenities to ensure that your stay exceeds all your expectations. Small samples of the local attractions enjoyed by our guests are Juniata College, Lincoln Caverns and the Huntingdon County Fairgrounds. Other daytrips include Lakemont Park in Altoona, PA or a visit to Penn State University in State College, PA; both less than 45 minutes from the Fairfield Inn & Suites in Huntingdon. So what are you waiting for? Book your room today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Huntingdon Route 22/Raystown Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing