We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple food, great taste, even better price!”

The Soda Jerk Diner & Dairy Bar
Ranked #1 of 5 Dessert in Hummelstown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Victorville
2 reviews
“Simple food, great taste, even better price!”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

My family stopped in here during a trip to Lancaster. The portions they give are HUGE and totally worth the price. I ordered a Chicken Soulvaki and got an over stuffed pita, ample Greek side salad, and French fries for $11. 4 in our party left with enough food for a second meal. The service was quick and helpful, and made sure I got a whole cup of feta cheese and yogurt sauce to take to go. Didn't have a single complaint about this place!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    170
    55
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hummelstown, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Diner feel and good food.”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

The Soda Jerk has great food. I eat there at least one a week for lunch. The food will not disappoint. The paninis are great and so are the salads. I've not had a bad dish here. Its our local go to restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Minnesota, United States
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good diner food and lots of it!”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

The pricing is a bit misleading - maybe it is $5-10 for lunch, but Dinner is in the 10-20 range... Good Greek and Italian specialities - Gyro is worth it.

Each entree also comes with ice cream for dessert - Ice Cream is good - not spectacular.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Made a return visit”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We made it a point to eat here again. We all thought our meals were great and portions were generous. Liked the fact that our meals came with a cup of ice cream.

The waitress let us try an item that we had questions about -- turned out we did not like it so we were glad we asked.

The diner is becoming one of our favorite dining spots in the Hershey area.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sybernet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyer, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great place for families or a home style meal”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Great restaurant for families and excellent food. We went with our 3 children 10 & Under and they asked to go back the second night. The kids ordered roast beef & mashed potatoes both nights and cleared their plates! The manager was kind enough to make the meals half orders since this wasn't a kids menu item. The crab cakes were delicious, with large lumps of crab over a bed of fresh veg. Ice cream was great too, another favorite of the kids. Staff was really friendly. Decor is of 50's diner, clean, large selection menu. You can also order breakfast at all hours. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Team3D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Soda Jerk Diner & Dairy Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Soda Jerk Diner & Dairy Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing