We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Supreme Sports Bar”
Review of Arooga's Hershey

Arooga's Hershey
Ranked #31 of 44 Restaurants in Hummelstown
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: There’s never been a place quite like Arooga’s before. How do we know? Spies. That, and because we’re not just some average, run-of-the-mill, sports bar. Nope. We’re a slightly above average grille house and sports bar. That’s right. Our housemade food is prepared by chefs instead of factory workers — it’s better. The housemade bread, wings sauces, salad dressings, the housemade soups. All better. The beer is colder. The TVs, TV-er. You can see every game from every seat. And we mean every game, because we have every sports package available all 365 days of the year on 100's of flat screen tv's between all of our locations. We've got free wi-fi, Golden Tee, Buzztime trivia, and NTN Texas Hold 'em. We've got over 80 menu items under $8.99. And several other items priced over $8.99 for the rich folks. So if you're looking for great food prepared and served by above-average people that prepare and serve great food, you'll find it at Arooga's. If you're looking for fun, you'll find that, too. If you're looking for your boyfriend and/or girlfriend, we haven't seen him and/or her. So there you go, the proof's in the pudding here at Arooga's.
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A Supreme Sports Bar”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

This was the judgment of one of our group during a recent visit here. I agree with him. Food here is typical sports bar -- which is what it should be. The menu is extensive, including appetizers, wings, nachos, burgers, salads, pastas, etc. Should be something for everyone, including gluten-free (which is labeled on the menu). Oodles of beer on tap. Service for our group was totally acceptable. The restaurant was about 2/3 full when we arrived and we were seated immediately. Our waitress appeared just a few minutes later to take our orders. The food arrived in a timely manner. The waitress came back several times during our visit to check on us. This restaurant is basically a large room. However, the seating, a combination of tables and booths, gives a sense of quasi-intimacy. Televisions of all sizes line the walls. The conclusion of our group was that this is a fun "go-to" place for after a Bears game.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hikers2Maryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    27
    18
    12
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hummelstown, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Poor service! ”
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

We placed a to go order over the phone for wings. When we got there to pick them up the hostess sent us to the bar. There we waited another 10 minutes just to be acknowledged. After giving them our last name it was a mad rush to pay for our order. Once home we realized they completely messed up our entire order of 50 wings. While the ticket/receipt clearly said boneless, they were all bone in. We called them up before taking them back and told it would be another 20 minutes until they were ready. Meanwhile we had food getting cold and guests waiting at the house. After going back we again waited at the bar, this time over 15 minutes only to be handed the wrong order again! We received no apology, nothing for all of our time wasted. They even made us return the old, cold wings that were given to us by mistake. Never again!

Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Needs management help”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We walked into Aroogas around 7 on a Friday night and were told by 2 girls right inside at the hostess stand that it was an hour wait. There was no one else waiting in the lobby, and the place was half empty. No wonder this place is ranked so low. Not sure that much money will be made at a place that has empty tables with an hour wait and from what I'm reading here, poor service.(and not one, but TWO people to give you the bad news about the hour wait) We like the Aroogas on Route 22.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Susie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
“Great food, average service”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I have been to other Arooga's locations many of times so I my expectations were that this site would compare. The food did indeed compare. It came out in a reasonable time and it was really good (also a decent price). However, the service was lacking a little. Everyone I encountered was indeed friendly, but my friend and I waited a while to place our order after our appetizer, then we waited even longer to get our check. In fact, I had to ask to get my check. ($8 for a drink WHAT?!) I work in the service industry, so I try to have a lot of patience when dealing with people working because I don't want to cause any waves and I know what it's like to be the worker waiting on the public. I will give this place another chance because it was an ok experience. Hoping the second time is better.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delran, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Decent for the Game”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We chose this place to watch the big SNF game. The place was crowded, and we were asked if we had phoned ahead. I didn't know that we could do that, but we decided to wait. As the place emptied after the late afternoon games, tables became available. We started with drinks and appetizers, eventually had more food and drinks, and a dessert. The service was slow but attentive, and since we were there to watch the game, we were in no hurry. The food was okay, mostly typical bar food. We liked the long list of available beers on tap. Since most of the crowd appeared to be rooting for the same team as us, we had an enjoyable evening.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cherylpd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arooga's Hershey also viewed

 

Been to Arooga's Hershey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing