We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks can be deceiving......”
Review of Gas Station Kitchen and Bar - CLOSED

Gas Station Kitchen and Bar
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Gastropub
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dover, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Looks can be deceiving......”
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I went here with another couple on a Saturday night at about 6:30. Upon arriving, this place was not busy at all which is odd on a Saturday. Well, the lemme tell you, the food was delicious! I ordered the carne pizza and it was outstanding. My friend got the ribeye, it looked better than any steak you get at a chain steakhouse and came with a big pile of fries. The pulled pork looked great too and everyone in our party said everything was delicious! The service was adequate, but I could see that it might be lacking when the place gets busy. Decent beer selection also.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Will P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    32
    16
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milford, Delaware
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, cool place for adults without kids, but unfortunately the service is horrible!”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

The server was irritated from the beginning of our visit until the end. Had no patience for our party and unfortunately 20% gratuity was included otherwise did not earn it! Would not go back!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hlm10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hummelstown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Local that will not eat here again.”
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

We ordered at the bar and the bartender was pleasant, but service was very slow. We learned 8 mins after placing our takeout order that they were out of the app we ordered. Instead we then ordered the fried okra, which was one of several disappointments. While waiting for the food for about 30 mins (there were 7 ppl in the restaurant on a saturday at 1:30pm) the manager stood by the bar talking to the bartender the entire time, but at one point the phone rang and he exclaimed "oh my God"....apparently he was annoyed that his extensive conversation was interrupted. We also ordered the Cuban with fries and Mac salad and the smoked platter with cornbread and baked beans. The fried okra was oily and mushy and nearly inedible. The Cuban and fries were good, but the Mac salad tasted like macaroni mixed with mayo and no other flavor. The smoked platter consisted of pork shoulder and sausage, which were both fine, but the pork belly was a 3X3 inch piece of fat that was barely cooked. The cornbread was horrible...how do you screw up cornbread? We dine out quite often in the area, but have avoided the gas station because of it's reputation as a bar then restaurant, however now we'll just avoid it because the food is bad.

Helpful?
3 Thank Soontobefather1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cashtown, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Eclectic Comfort Food”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

The menu is varied from pizza to fish and chips. They specialize in BBQ also. The prices are very reasonable and portions are satisfying.

My wife and I dined on quality entrees and an adult beverage and average $30.00 a meal. Great food at great prices.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gerald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Tasty Eggs Benedict”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We love eating out for Sunday breakfast and we've found only a few places that we're interested in revisiting. The Gas Station has sprung to the top of that list. Their eggs benedict was excellent. The eggs were just right - not too runny, not too well cooked. Just perfect! The Mimosa was nice though a little weak. The coffee was strong...and perfect!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WeekendAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gas Station Kitchen and Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing