We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must go”

Indian Echo Caverns
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Hummelstown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Natural Splendor along the Swatara.Like many caverns in the Mid-Atlantic states, Indian Echo Caverns is a limestone cave. Cut through Beekmantown limestone, which is over 440 million years old, they were formed through the erosive properties of water. As time progressed, geological forces led to an "uplift" of the surrounding limestone, eventually allowing more and more water to flow through the formation. As the water flowed over the limestone, it began to create small crevices, these small crevices led to larger ones, and eventually, over a series of millions of years, it created the caverns as they are today.The temperature inside the caverns is 52 degrees year around.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Went there on vacation and it was a great trip. Brian our tour guide was full of fun facts and made the trip fun! Educational and just romantic. Fun for family's and couples. A bit over priced but a must go

Thank Lexistar16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndianEchoCavernsPA, Guest Relations Manager at Indian Echo Caverns, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thank you for your review and for stopping in to visit us at Indian Echo Caverns. We are glad you enjoyed your trip and that we could be a part of your vacation plans! We will be sure to share your kind words with Brian as well! Thanks again, Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (696)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

481 - 485 of 696 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

I had family up from Florida, who had never been to any caverns. I usually go to the the one in Virginia, but due to the 95+ heat I want some place closer. We passed this place when going to Hershey's Chocolate World, so after printing the discount coupon off the web site we went here. The 45 Minute tour was very nice, at a leisurely pace. The guide had some interesting stories about the caverns and they have some old artifacts on display at the gift shop, There are goats and chickens you can feed along with a Playground and picnic area. It is close enough to Hummelstown you can stop there for lunch, before or after.

1  Thank anglrnbw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndianEchoCavernsPA, Guest Relations Manager at Indian Echo Caverns, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thank you for your review and for stopping in to visit us at Indian Echo Caverns. We are glad you enjoyed your trip and that we could be a part of your vacation plans!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

It was no Howe's Cavern but it was very cute. Our first stop was to the gift shop (where we purchased the tickets). The staff was friendly and helpful. When our tour was called (had to wait about 15 minutes only) we descended down the stairs to the cave entrance. The stairs weren't really a big deal but I got the impression the guide was very used to the complaints about them so he thoroughly explained what we were in for (and made lots of jokes about the walk back up). Honestly i'm not in shape and I had no problem with the stairs (I believe it was 44?). Was a cute trip, but a rather short tour.

Thank Solandria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndianEchoCavernsPA, Guest Relations Manager at Indian Echo Caverns, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thank you for your review and for stopping in to visit us at Indian Echo Caverns. We are glad you enjoyed your trip and that we could be a part of your vacation plans! Thanks again, Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

My mom, my daughter and I decided to check out the caverns while the rest of the family went to the car museum. Location was easy to find, the signage led us right to the parking lot. We had to wait about 25 minutes for the tour, during which time we wandered around the gift shop. I was disappointed to find out the shop was out of decorative pins to purchase (my daughter and I buy pins every place we visit on vacation).

Our tour guide was a younger woman who was knowledgable, however may have been a newer guide as her presentation was not quite as fluid as guides we've had at other caves. She definitely seemed to know what she was talking about though. Loved hearing about how the caverns were discovered and what changes had been made to make them accessible to the public. When we returned home that evening we looked up the story about the hermit in the cave and read all about it (the tour guide declined to go into much detail as there were young children in our group)

The caverns themselves were beautiful. The size of some of the areas was amazing. We go through caves on just about every vacation we take (my daughter loves them) and we agreed that this one was one of the most interesting we've been to.

About the only negative thing I'd have to say would be the size of the tour group. There were so many in our group that it was difficult to hear the guide sometimes and a challenge to see things because you were trying to maneuver around all the people.

I would definitely recommend this to family and friends. Just be prepared for the long hike back up from the caverns! It's quite a walk!

Thank Lmeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndianEchoCavernsPA, Guest Relations Manager at Indian Echo Caverns, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thank you for your review and for stopping in to visit us at Indian Echo Caverns. We are glad you enjoyed your trip and that we could be a part of your vacation plans! We appreciate that you took the time to give an in depth review of your experience for others to read. Thanks Again, Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Went to caverns for the first time in July with family, We had a nice guide, the caverns were real sharp. We didnt need jackets, because it was in 90s outside, felt good in caves, There were alot of steps, but we managed fine, They have a nice gift shop. Everyone very friendly.

Thank SueAndy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndianEchoCavernsPA, Guest Relations Manager at Indian Echo Caverns, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thank you for your review and for stopping in to visit us at Indian Echo Caverns. We are glad you enjoyed your trip and that we could be a part of your vacation plans!

Thanks Again!

-Chris
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian Echo Caverns also viewed

 

Been to Indian Echo Caverns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing