We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced/Overrated/Poor customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hershey (Harrisburg Area)
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hummelstown
Reviewed July 29, 2010

Several reasons why we won't stay here again. My main complaint is that after I checked in I discovered the televisions in the entire hotel were not working. We were not told about this at check in. I had 2 rooms with children in both. I wanted to change hotels but they said they would charge me $189.00 ( the price of one of the rooms) to do so. We stayed and the TVs never worked. What happened to customer service?? This hotel is given 3 AAA red diamonds. This is not deserved and I will be contacting AAA about this. The room was also way over priced. This is a 1.5 star hotel at best-even if the TVs would have been working.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DarrylPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEHersheyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hershey (Harrisburg Area), responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2010

Hello and Thank You for your review!

I am concerned about your experience at my hotel. I apologize on behalf of my entire team.
I am aware of the TV issue we had during your stay. Our equipment was out for two days due to Lightning and Hail damage to our system. I am sorry we were unable to provide quality service to you and your family. I certainly understand how this would be an issue and for that, I am sorry.
Also, my team should have allowed you to check out without a fee given the circumstances. I will share your experience with my team so that they understand the total guest experience.

Again, thank you for sharing your experience and Travel Safe!

Warm Regards,

Wayne Ambrose
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (284)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

247 - 253 of 284 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2010

I liked the hotel. Room was ok. Pool and hottub good. Breakfast was a zoo. Guests were rude at breakfast line. Lots of people pushing and taking multiples of things and then throwing them away. Front desk personnel were nice (the men) I did notice that one girl was constantly talking on phone and knows its wasnt business. Business center was hardly available because of people doing emails. Didnt have problems with the room except the refrigerator kept banging and the bed springs. The location was excellent if you were going to Hershey Park. Lots and lots of kids. I love kids but not when the parents dont control them.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stripp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEHersheyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hershey (Harrisburg Area), responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2010

Hello and Thank You for your Review!

Thanks for sharing your experience at our hotel. It is true, we do host many families throughout the year and we do get busy in the breakfast area and business center. I am sorry that you were unable to enjoy all the amenities we provide during your stay.

Also, please know that I will address the cell phone issue with my team at our next service meeting. Thank you for bringing it to my attention.

Again, thank you for sharing your experience and Travel Safe!

Warm Regards,

Wayne Ambrose
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

Everything was amazing...staff excellent...breakfast superb...room fantastic...only complaint suzanne seemed more interested in her cell phone and laptop than helping coworker...everything was perfect though! Thanks wayne andd staff

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotelfan6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2010

Stayed here one night with wife and 3 adult children for visit with relatives in Hershey. We did not go to Hershey Park, but this hotel is very conveniently located for park visitors. The price was very high for this level of lodging, but low compared to other options in the area. The hotel was clean and well maintained, with a typical breakfast buffet. Air conditioner blower ran continuously, which provided "white noise" to obscure any noises during the night.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charleston_WVMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEHersheyManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hershey (Harrisburg Area), responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2010

Greetings from Hershey and Thank You for your review!
We value the total guest experience and appreciate your comments. I will be sure to share this with my team!
Warm Regards,
Wayne Ambrose
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2010

Staff were very accommodating when I had to bring my father along to attend a conference. They made arrangements to let him in the room early and stay until I finished the conference at the end of the day. Due to his medical needs I needed to be able to monitor him throughout the day. I was very impressed by how the staff worked with me to provide in these unusal circumstances. They took all of my dad's needs and mine into account. I felt like they were family. Thank you!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asherthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEHersheyManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hershey (Harrisburg Area), responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2010

Hello and Thank You for your review! We rely on the guest perspective in order to understand the total guest experience. I will be sure to share your review with my team.

Warm Regards,
Wayne Ambrose
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2010

Wonderful stay! We got a great deal on a room through room saver, the staff was great, the room was clean, spacious, and comfortable. This was a great value!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drjulieann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights while I was attending a business conference nearby. The rooms were well cared for and very clean. The hot tub was just perfect. The breakfast was tasty and there was a nice variety of food- much better than the conference food. Best of all was the front desk staff. They were very friendly and helpful. All in all this was a very good value. Don't hesitate to stay here when you visit Hersheypark.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beachgirl3601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEHersheyManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hershey (Harrisburg Area), responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2010

Thank You for your review! We truely appreciate your comments and we will be sure to share them with our team!

Travel Safe,

Wayne Ambrose, CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hummelstown
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn at the Park
Comfort Inn at the Park
#10 of 25 in Hershey
522 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hershey
Hilton Garden Inn Hershey
#2 of 4 in Hummelstown
810 reviews
3.2 mi away
Courtyard Hershey Chocolate Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hershey Chocolate Avenue
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey Near The Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hershey (Harrisburg Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hershey (Harrisburg Area)

Address: 610 Walton Ave, Hummelstown, PA 17036-1852
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Hummelstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hummelstown
Price Range: $113 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hershey (Harrisburg Area) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hershey. We have affordable, convenient and comfortable surroundings located right in the heart of the Sweetest Place on Earth, Hershey, PA. Not only do we have a great location, right in the middle of Central Pennsylvania, but we offer our guest's the extra attention and comfort that is the hallmark of Hersha Hospitality Mgmt. Discover all that Hershey has to offer such as Hershey Park, The Hershey Story, and Chocolate World all just one mile away from us. Other great attractions which are minutes from Hershey include: Indian Echo Caverns, State Capitol in Harrisburg, PA Dutch Country, Hollywood Casino, Historical Gettysburg Battlefields and great outlet shopping. For business travelers, the hotel is just a few minutes from many area companies including The Hershey Company, Verizon Communications, Norfolk Southern Railway, Penn State Hershey Medical Center, Milton Hershey School and many others. Enjoy hours of relaxation in our heated indoor Jacuzzi or swim a few laps in our heated indoor pool. Then in the morning join us for our hot Smart Start Breakfast. You can choose from two hot menu items such as eggs, bacon and cheese omelets, delicious morning starters; decaf and regular coffee, tea, juices, fresh fruit, hot/cold cereals, muffins, bagels, pastries and waffles. For real value, convenience and outstanding accommodations, the Holiday Inn Express of Hershey is the right choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hershey (Harrisburg Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hershey (Harrisburg Area) Hotel Hummelstown
Holiday Inn Hummelstown
Hummelstown Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing