We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor customer realtions.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hershey (Harrisburg Area)
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hummelstown
Reviewed April 18, 2014

I do not like giving bad reviews but this stay earned it. The mgmt was not very diligent on following up what was a bad exp upon check in. When the situation was brought up to the next level they did not follow up either after referring the situation back to the property level. I have stayed here before but was disappointed in the service level this time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank i-sell-weather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hershey (Harrisburg Area), responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Dear i-sell-weather,

Thank you for your review. As hospitality professionals, it is our goal to consistently provide superior service at our hotel and we are truly sorry we did not manage this during your stay. We have taken note of your comments regarding the service you received. Rest assured, your thoughts will be shared with our management team for the purpose of bringing improvements needed.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (290)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

156 - 162 of 290 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2014

This hotel features:
A great location next to Hershey attractions and Hershey hospital
Clean rooms and public areas
Caring staff that go out of their way to help
Nice and warm swimming pool

We had 2 rooms and the staff was able to honor all our requests including to have connecting rooms and a late checkout for one of the rooms. As other reviews noted, the hotel is near a train track but the trains did not bother us. Plenty of parking in front and on the sides of the building. A game room for teens.

Would not hesitate to stay here in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RentalCarGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We stayed 2 nights in room 122 bottom for with 1 person in wheelchair,1 that uses walker, and 2 small dogs and we Loved our visit and enjoyed the hot tub as well....thank you..P.S. The breakfast was the best and absolutely Delicious!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoriAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Hotel was away from busy part of town. Front desk clerk was very nice and explained all services provided. Room was nice and CLEAN. We made our reservation by phone and got a great rate using all available discounts. Was close to Giant Center and Hollywood casino. We would stay here on our next visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Our stay was for one night and quite comfortable and clean. The clerk was on the ball and called our room alerting us that one of our lights were on in the vehicle. We are very grateful for that.
The bathroom was a bit cramped but had a lot of linen and soap.Breakfast was ok,nothing out of the ordinary which one would expect. The food area was clean and well stocked.

We needed a few items to continue our trip and the stores and restaurants were in close proximity. The nice feature is this hotel is off the beaten path but only by a few minutes.
I thought it a bit pricey but worth the money .

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eileen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hershey (Harrisburg Area), responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Dear Eileen W,

Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review and for staying with us. We strive to provide our guests with an extraordinary experience and we are pleased to have the opportunity to do that for you during your visit with us. Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have the opportunity of hosting you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Recently our family chose to stay at the Holiday Inn Express for a short getaway vacation. We know the Hershey area rather well and did not feel the need to spend a lot of money on a hotel room when we only really planned on sleeping there. The hotel is set back from a major intersection from shopping and dining. The location is right next to railroad tracks, but we only heard slight rumblings from the occasional freight trains passing by thanks to the awesome sound proofing.

The breakfast was the typical Holiday Inn fare. I would rate it as very good. Coffee was excellent! We used the pool. While it was 20 degrees outside the pool was super warm and relaxing inside. Plenty of seating and towels. There was a small game room and business office near the pool as well in good order. The workout room on the other hand was located in the depths of the basement level, not well marked and I felt as though I didn't belong there as I left the stairway and made my way through the unmarked hallway.

Our double queen room was pretty tight for the three of us, but was ok for just two days. The bathroom was not configured well. Water constantly flowed from the shower onto the floor. They need to add some fans in there to assist in ventilation. After a short shower, we could hardly breathe with the heat on in the room.

This hotel needs to spend some time making some updates - not really for aesthetic reasons, but more for health reasons. There seems to be some sort of mold issue. I did address this with management on my way out who compensated me for my comments.

The location is PERFECT! Close to everything. The parking lot needs a little more light, but I felt safe in the area. The staff was overwhelmingly welcome. The VALUE is definitely there.

Room Tip: Third floor - lower numbers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Groovina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hershey (Harrisburg Area), responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear Groovina B,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. It is great to know your concerns were addressed by our staff and that you were satisfied with the service you received as well as our location and the breakfast. Please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience and negative impression you may have had with the condition of our facilities. Please remain assured that we have recorded your comments and will forward it to the appropriate departments for future considerations. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Thank you again for your feedback and have a wonderful day!

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

The hotel is near lots of restaurants and all the attractions of Hershey. The staff were friendly and helpful. Got to the hotel early but they got us in way before normal checkin time. After staying a few days here and seeing other hotels this one was a good pick.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seaslider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hummelstown
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey Near The Park
3.2 mi away
Courtyard Hershey Chocolate Avenue
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hershey
Hilton Garden Inn Hershey
#2 of 4 in Hummelstown
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn at the Park
Comfort Inn at the Park
#10 of 25 in Hershey
527 reviews
2.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Hummelstown-Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hershey (Harrisburg Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hershey (Harrisburg Area)

Address: 610 Walton Ave, Hummelstown, PA 17036-1852
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Hummelstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hummelstown
Price Range: $104 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hershey (Harrisburg Area) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hershey. We have affordable, convenient and comfortable surroundings located right in the heart of the Sweetest Place on Earth, Hershey, PA. Not only do we have a great location, right in the middle of Central Pennsylvania, but we offer our guest's the extra attention and comfort that is the hallmark of Hersha Hospitality Mgmt. Discover all that Hershey has to offer such as Hershey Park, The Hershey Story, and Chocolate World all just one mile away from us. Other great attractions which are minutes from Hershey include: Indian Echo Caverns, State Capitol in Harrisburg, PA Dutch Country, Hollywood Casino, Historical Gettysburg Battlefields and great outlet shopping. For business travelers, the hotel is just a few minutes from many area companies including The Hershey Company, Verizon Communications, Norfolk Southern Railway, Penn State Hershey Medical Center, Milton Hershey School and many others. Enjoy hours of relaxation in our heated indoor Jacuzzi or swim a few laps in our heated indoor pool. Then in the morning join us for our hot Smart Start Breakfast. You can choose from two hot menu items such as eggs, bacon and cheese omelets, delicious morning starters; decaf and regular coffee, tea, juices, fresh fruit, hot/cold cereals, muffins, bagels, pastries and waffles. For real value, convenience and outstanding accommodations, the Holiday Inn Express of Hershey is the right choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hershey (Harrisburg Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hershey (Harrisburg Area) Hotel Hummelstown
Holiday Inn Hummelstown
Hummelstown Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing