We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location For Hershey Park and Hershey/Gettysburg sites”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Hershey
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hummelstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2010

Stayed 3 nights commencing on 7-15-2010. Hotel was very clean and room with 2 queens was comfortable. Mattresses are on the firmer side but comfortable. Room came only with 2 adult breakfasts (cooked to order and bufet selections) - we used Hilton points for the 3 nights. Breakfast charge for our teenage girls was about $11.50 with tax. Breakfast items were all fresh and great coffee. Hershey Park is about 10 minutes away and Gettysburg is 1 hour.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NedHickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (796)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Hershey
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

758 - 764 of 796 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2010

Loved the fact that it was off the main road. Possibly my only complaint would be that others hotels (the bigger ones) have a restaurant on premises to go to after a long day. It's a smaller place but it definitely works. Most places I've been to open their pool and gym at 9:00 or 10:00 in the morning, they open at 5:00 a.m.. The business center is great so you can catch up on your email. The honor bar is great (and open till 11:00 p.m.) Thought the room was very nice and very clean. And the staff was friendly and cordial from the moment we walked in till the moment we walked out (Shout out to Berlin for being nice to me, an insomniac, whom she could have ignored!) Great time there, and my family and I would DEFINITELY go back there!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isles2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for two nights in May as the 2nd stop of a two week road trip. We were in Hershey to visit the park and the Hollywood Casino in Grantville. Location of the hotel is great. It's just off of Hershey Park Drive and 5 minutes away from the park. There are lots of restaurants in the area immediately surrounding the hotel (Bob Evans, Wendy's, Pizza Hut, Taco Bell, McDonald's, and some diners), but despite being near highways and restaurants the hotel is set back on a little hill surrounded by foliage and was very quiet.

The lobby area was spacious with one side devoted to a sitting area with couches and a fireplace, and the other side featuring the breakfast dining area, which extended to a patio outside. There was a small room to purchase drinks, snacks, microwavable meals, and ice cream, as well as a variety of toiletries. Staff at check-in was efficient but not overly friendly. There are no bellmen so you need to grab a cart from the lobby and haul in luggage yourself. My friend wanted a smoking room but there wasn't one ready at the time we arrived (between 1-2). We waited for about 10 minutes for them to finish cleaning one. We were assigned to room #301 which turned out to be a handicap accessible room. Because of that the room was a bit larger, as was the bathroom.

The room looked a bit worn around the edges, as did the hallways. The bed was pretty comfortable. There was a dial on each side of the mattress that was supposed to control firmness but I couldn't detect any difference. There was a refrigerator and microwave in the room. As mentioned before, the bathroom was large. There was only a shower because it was an accessible room, and this turned out to be the biggest negative. There was no barrier between the main bathroom floor and the shower floor; there was just a shower curtain. Even though the shower floor was sloped to the drain in the center, water from the shower would run out and flood the main bathroom floor which was annoying.

There was an indoor pool which was mid-sized, as well as a jacuzzi. Adjacent to that was a small fitness room with a few pieces of equipment. Breakfast was available in the lobby for an additional charge (around $10-11pp). There were hot items (bacon, sausage, potatoes, and eggs/pancakes to order) as well as a variety or breads, pastries, yogurts, etc. Unlike some other hotels, nothing was free at breakfast. Even if you wanted just juice or toast you had to pay the full breakfast price. Quality was also pretty poor; the omelettes were flavorless and the pancakes were miniscule. Service was very friendly though. The woman managing the breakfast (Marilyn?) made you feel very welcome. Overall though I'd recommend taking breakfast outside the hotel. There is a great diner just down the road from the hotel in Hummelstown called the Soda Jerk diner which had huge, great tasting breakfasts for a low price. Bob Evans was also around the corner which is always a reliable place for breakfast. There was also room service available for lunch-dinner; the food was not in-house though but rather delivered from a bar-diner in the strip mall around the corner from the hotel.

Overall the location was great, and the hotel was comfortable. Our rate was a bit on the high side ($131) though and I didn't feel like it was the best value compared to other hotels we stayed at on our trip.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WonderMan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2010

We stayed just one day, but loved the place! The lobby was warm and inviting, the room was clean and comfortable, and the people were very helpful. Thank you to Berlin at the front desk for helping at check-in!

It is located a few minutes from Hershey park and I would recommend the location to anyone traveling to the Hershey area.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trey703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2010

Very good hotel. The staff was very nice and helpful. The rooms have been recently renovated with comfortable beds, flat screen LCD TV and nice bathroom. Hotel was quiet and relaxing. Located just outside of Hummelstown in an area with shopping and food.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoovinOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2010

The hotel is located in the heart of town right next to a shopping center. There are plenty of restaurants nearby with pizza hut, wendys and some local diners. Within a two minute drive is a supermarket , applebees, and kmart which could be accessible by foot too. We had a car so transportation was easy. We drove to Fuddruckers burgers and recommend it if anyone has a car too. Hershey park and attractions are about 5 minutes away. I recommend everybody to visit Hotel Hershey and the Harvest restaurant. We were there on New Years Day and the service was quite abnormal. The food took 1 hour to arrive, yes 60 whole minutes for our entrees to arrive, but at the end the manager apologized and did not charge us for the meal saying it was their fault and asked us not to judge them on that night due to a huge party. I applaud their world class attitude at the end.

The hotel (HGI, not hotel hershey) is no frills, rooms are large with microwave , fridge, sofa, and lcd tv. Parking is plentiful all around the perimeter of the hotel and free. We didnt use the gym or pool but the pool is nice sized and gym is just a room with a few cardio machines i believe. Hotel is well kept and clean.

The only complaint i have is that toothpaste and toothbrushes and similar items are not free. I requested them and they sell those items in the front desk instead. It seems odd as this is the only hotel i've been to that charges for these items. I have been to a Springhill Suites by Marriot and even tho they have a mini shop by the front desk, they still offered me those items for free. I was not too happy about that but otherwise good hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ziggyziggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2009

The staff was very helpful and courteous, but the hotel room itself was old and dingy especially the bathrooms. I am very into cleanliness, but if that doesn't bother you then you'd be okay. The shuttle service to and from the airport and to and from where I had a meeting was very helpful (seeing as this small town doesn't have public transportation or taxis). But make sure you call ahead, before you need them at the airport. Overall a very average experience, but not like my usually excellent experience with Hilton hotels. But it probably is the nicest in that area though.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashley00000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hummelstown
3.3 mi away
Courtyard Hershey Chocolate Avenue
1.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hershey Chocolate Avenue
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn at the Park
Comfort Inn at the Park
#10 of 25 in Hershey
520 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey Near The Park
1.7 mi away
Super 8 Hershey
Super 8 Hershey
#3 of 25 in Hershey
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Hershey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Hershey

Address: 550 E Main St, Hummelstown, PA 17036-1812
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Hummelstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hummelstown
Price Range: $145 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Hershey 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Hershey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Hershey Hotel Hummelstown
Hilton Garden Inn Hummelstown
Hilton Hummelstown
Hummelstown Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing