We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil setting in mountains on lake”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Nature Inn at Bald Eagle
Ranked #1 of 1 Howard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tranquil setting in mountains on lake”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The inn has wooden floors and staircases and uses many "green" eco-friendly practices. The setting on the lake with the mountain view is beautiful. The rooms are comfortable, clean and spacious. I gave it a 4 instead of 5 because the breakfast was just average and not as spectacular as advertised. Would definitely stay here again for the location and setting.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room with lake view - well worth the small extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dort1gold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    26
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
144
195
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ephrata, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

My wife and I travelled to Nature Inn @ Bald Eagle SP for our wedding anniversary. It was a short 2.5 hour drive from our home and we planned three days/nights total. The inn was very easy to find and we were checked in to our "basic suite" very quickly. The rooms were not the typical rustic, lodge-type decor but instead a bit more modern (metro).

Every guest who books overnight stay receives a full "complimentary" breakfast the next morning. This meal is the only dining experience at Nature Inn...no lunch nor dinner, fend-for-yourself! The morning meal (served between 0700 & 1000) is a sit-down affair and served by the host. The choices are a full range of any/all breakfast foods imaginable.

Activities abound: hiking, birdwatching, fishing, boating, photography or just relaxation & quiet contemplation. No swimming pool, no exercise facility

The closest "urban" commercial experience is sixteen miles northeast in Lock Haven, PA.

My wife and I had no complaints and the whole experience was worth the cost, but I would not pay the "seasonally-adjusted" rates after Memorial Day and I would steer clear of this Nature Inn whenever Penn State has a home game between Sept & November>

Finally, WE DID SEE BALD EAGLES!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We only stayed one night, but really enjoyed it. The rooms are in perfect condition, and I liked that all the materials were natural. Very comfy bed! They do have refrigerator and microwave. I especially liked getting a room with a balcony overlooking the lake. They provide binoculars, and there is a fancy telescope that you can use to watch birds across the lake. The very helpful staff pointed the telescope at a bald eagle nest across the lake. Breakfast the next morning (included) was hot and tasty. We did do some hiking...the trails were nice but nothing to write home about. Packed lunches are available for a fee. We liked it!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with a view of the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We just got back from a 2 nights stay here with a group of friends and we all had a wonderful time. The Inn is right in Bald Eagle State Park with beautiful views of the grounds and lake. The rooms are very comfortable. We had a suite which had a separate bedroom and a living room with a kitchenette.It was plenty of room for us plus room for all of us to gather.
The Inn has lots of other places to sit and gather as well. Breakfast is included and was very good. It was a perfect way to start the day. Each night they have campfires. I love all the nature surrounding the Inn.
There are a lot of extra touches, binoculars, maps, and bird books in each room. Free WiFi
We enjoyed our time so much we booked a stay for the fall as we checked out. Can't wait.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fun2bblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stopped at this wonderful State Park Inn on our way to Pittsburgh for an overnight. Our room was a "small suite" which included a bedroom, living room, kitchen, and a balcony overlooking the river. The kitchen has a sink, microwave, toaster oven, and dorm sized fridge. My advice to you is to bring your own food and beverages since there are no nearby grocery stores or nice restaurants. You can also cook on their nice large patio with grills and tables set up. The bed was comfortable though very small for a "queen". My only suggestion for the Inn is that they add heavy curtains for the bedroom. The wooden blinds did not keep out the lights from the patio or the full moon. We plan on going back for a longer visit with some friends, food and wine.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river but far from the lights of the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marykatec1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We come here every March for our anniversary getaway. I have to tell you that these accommodations are the nicest we have ever stayed at. Extremely clean. Comfy. Awesome surroundings. Environmentally friendly. Staff is awesome. There are so many great things to say about The Nature Inn. I encourage you to go and see for yourself!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChaCha2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Marys, PA
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This place is amazing! From the friendly staff, to the excellent meals, to the views from inside and outside, it is truly first class. There is even a Children's Discovery Zone that is stocked with books and things. We hope to make a return trip.

Room Tip: The rooms with a lake view are a bit more expensive, but they would be worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Howard
5.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lamar
20.8 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#4 of 26 in State College
784 reviews
18.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Best Western Lock Haven
Best Western Lock Haven
#1 of 2 in Lock Haven
216 reviews
11.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lock Haven
16.3 mi away
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nature Inn at Bald Eagle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nature Inn at Bald Eagle

Property: Nature Inn at Bald Eagle
Address: 201 Warbler Way, Bald Eagle State Park, Howard, PA 16841-2901
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Howard
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Howard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nature Inn at Bald Eagle 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the natural beauty of Bald Eagle State Park at the newest addition to the Pennsylvania State Park system. The Nature Inn at Bald Eagle is a 16-room inn providing full-service accommodations in a bucolic setting overlooking the park's 1,730 acre lake. This modern inn, unique to the Pennsylvania's park system, focuses on outdoor recreation and stewardship, makes maximum use of green building technologies, serves as a premier interpretive facility for bird watching and is a gateway property serving the Pennsylvania Wilds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Nature Inn at Bald Eagle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nature Inn At Bald Eagle Hotel Howard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing