We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We've been here 3 times and going back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Nature Inn at Bald Eagle
Ranked #1 of 1 Howard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 11, 2012

My only suggestion would be to NOT book a room during Penn State football games. The prices are way too high; particularly if you are not going to the game.
The Inn is beautiful and very clean; beds are comfortable; showers/baths are roomy. The breakfasts are excellent. Good restaurants are a bit of a drive (loved Grist Mill in particular), but the inn does provide a propane grill and utensils for cooking out and plenty of outside tables. They also have a firepit for relaxation.
There is a library upstairs with reference guides for wildlife for loan.
We have always seen some sort of wildlife here. Great view of the lake; I would suggestion a lake view room.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leetl319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nature_Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at Nature Inn at Bald Eagle, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

We're so happy you touched on so many of the special feature we offer--our comforable accomodations, tasty breakfasts, lake views, library, grill area, firepit and close proximity to nature. The proximity to nature is a benefit that also means we are a little further from 'civilization,' though we feel it's worth it to be out in the peace of wide open spaces. And the Grist Mill is a great spot for a good meal! We're hoping to see you back soon for visit number 4!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (446)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

405 - 411 of 446 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2012

I found Bald Eagle online during a PA State Parks search. We were finally able to get a long weekend away, and Bald Eagle was truly wonderful. We know it's been open a couple of years now, but everything looks brand new. The number of accommodations are limited, but that's perfect for such a beautiful inn located in a secluded area of the park. the entire staff was more than helpful and always courteous. The view of the lake from the inn is perfect, and the park is a great place to hike and explore.

We'll be back.

Room Tip: This is listed nowhere on the website: even-numbered rooms face the lake, odd numbers face a walking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sewcrazeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We spent four days at The Woodpecker family suite at The Nature Inn and enjoyed every minute of it. The quiet location of this – very new and quite small – hotel makes for a peaceful and relaxed atmosphere as well as a view over the lake that is simply stunning. Several trailheads originate from the hotel's premises, and you won't have to do much more than stick your head out the window in order to see numerous species of birds, but there's also plenty of wild rabbits, groundhogs and deer in the near surroundings. We were even fortunate enough to see a young bald eagle pass our balcony, only 20-30 yards away.

The staff were clearly dedicated, helpful and simply extremely nice people to be around. Great breakfast, spacious rooms.

The eco-minded visitor will enjoy the fact that the entire construction of the hotel is designed to minimize it's usage of impact on non-renewable ressources as well as the impact on the surrounding nature.

Basically, I can't recommend this place enough. Remember, though, to book well in advance.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We recently had a great stay at the Nature Inn. Inn is only 2 years old and everything is in great condition. The room is good sized, with comfortable bed and large dressing and bathroom areas. The breakfast (included) was terrific. The area was beautiful (after all it's a park and the Inn overlooks a lake). The staff was helpful and friendly. And the price for all this - just a bit more than the charge for a tourist level hotel in Lock Haven. While it's about a 15 min drive from Mill Hall and 20 min from Lock Haven, the drive is easy and it's well worth it to be at the Nature Inn! Only caution: just make sure to make your reservations early!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LALawyer51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nature_Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at Nature Inn at Bald Eagle, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

We are so pleased to know your stay was so enjoyable and surpassed your expectations. We do our best to stay as beautiful and lively as the park we are nestled in--from our breakfast service and houskeeping to customer service and accomodations. We agree--the drive is worth it to be in such a secluded, peaceful location and we really aren't far from Loch Haven, Mill Hall and State College but are still in located in the "PA Wilds" where you'll find the state's most unspoiled scenery and wildlife for you to enjoy. We hope to see you back sometime soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

What a find. We were originally seeking a cabin at Bald Eagle State Park when I ran across the "Lodge" tab. Curious, I clicked and found the very new (2 years open) Nature Inn at Bald Eagle. What an experience. Driving up, the Inn sits atop a hillside with a wide view of the lake. The interior has expansive windows to take advantage of the view and plenty of covered and uncovered patio and deck/porch areas.

We went down to our "family suite" and my 3 boys promptly announced that they wanted to live here. We had a 2 bedroom suite where the bedrooms were split by a good sized family room with pull out couch and kitchenette. The kitchenette contains a sink, very small refrigerator, coffee maker, microwave and toaster oven. The bathroom is huge with the sink separate from the toilet and shower/bath tub area. Our room was 101 while our friends had 107 down the hall. That room is next to the Inn Keeper's room so if your kids a little loud, you might want to avoid that room, although the soundproofing at this Inn is incredible. Each room has a patio or balcony. Family suites do not face the water so that's one sacrifice of getting the bigger room.

We cooked out the first night there on one of their impressive Weber built-in gas grills, setting up dinner for 10 at the patio tables under umbrellas. We then made smore's at the fire ring with wood provided by the Inn. The next morning we awoke to a wonderful breakfast prepared fresh with lots of options for our 6 kids and 4 adults.

We fished off a dock that was within 1 mile walking and then headed to the sandy beach for a cooling swim and sand play. The kids had a blast.

Before we left, we booked out next trip. Definitely going back during football season and bringing steaks for the grill. Rates are higher then, but traveling with a family of 5 is always more expensive and our accommodations were so comfortable that we will make this a destination.

Room Tip: Family suites do not face the lake. 107 is next to the Inn Keeper's room (109).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DukeNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

So happy you found the Inn so accomodating for your family. Thanks for mentioning the activities you participated in at the Park as well--many other families will surely benefit from your suggestions. We are happy you discovered The Nature Inn and are looking forward to your football season return! We might have to taste test those grilled steaks for you though...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We are locals in the sense that we lived in the area for several years. When we go back, the accommodation choices are very limited. When I saw the Inn as a featured destination in the Baltimore Sun Travel section, I became curious. Our families' 3 day stay in the Hummigbird Suite exceeded all expectations. The staff was more than helpful. The room was immaculate.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hdd102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

My fiance and I were on our way to Eagles Mere, PA and stopped to check out Bald Eagle State Park. We were so pleasantly surprised by this great park and inn we decided to see if there were any vacancies. Fortunately for us, there was one room left. It is a wonderful inn with beautiful surroundings and many amenities. The chef made us a "made to order" box lunch on the day we left because the menu in our room was outdated - but he found the ingredients and made what we had asked for. It was delicious. Binoculars in every room along with birding books. Great accomodations. We had a wonderful time and have made reservations to go back in the Fall.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great..some with balconies and others with patios. The rooms facing the lake g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 29, 2012

It seems like that one open room was waiting for you and we are so glad you decided to take it and enjoy our Inn and the Park. It is always great when walk-ins can get a room here on short notice. Thank you for bearing with us on the boxed lunch situation, it sounds as if it was ultimately a delicious outcome for you and your fiance. We're overjoyed you found the amenities so pleasing and we are looking forward to your return in the Fall!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Howard
5.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lamar
18.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
10.8 mi away
Brush Mountain Lodge
Brush Mountain Lodge
#1 of 4 in Spring Mills
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
The Queen - A Victorian Bed and Breakfast
11.4 mi away
Reynolds Mansion Bed and Breakfast
20.1 mi away
Carnegie Inn & Spa
Carnegie Inn & Spa
#13 of 26 in State College
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nature Inn at Bald Eagle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nature Inn at Bald Eagle

Address: 201 Warbler Way, Bald Eagle State Park, Howard, PA 16841-2901
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Howard
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Howard
Price Range: $106 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nature Inn at Bald Eagle 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the natural beauty of Bald Eagle State Park at the newest addition to the Pennsylvania State Park system. The Nature Inn at Bald Eagle is a 16-room inn providing full-service accommodations in a bucolic setting overlooking the park's 1,730 acre lake. This modern inn, unique to the Pennsylvania's park system, focuses on outdoor recreation and stewardship, makes maximum use of green building technologies, serves as a premier interpretive facility for bird watching and is a gateway property serving the Pennsylvania Wilds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Nature Inn at Bald Eagle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nature Inn At Bald Eagle Hotel Howard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing